We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid mid-range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A solid mid-range hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Frangipani is the 3rd resort we have tried on Langkawi. We stayed 2 nights in June, 2011. It was the most budget-friendly of the three, which partially compensated for the things we didn't like about the place. It was also the most conveniently located to the many shops and restaurants of Pantai Cenang, within easy walking distance.

Our room was of the standard or deluxe-type, which are set along the back boundary of the resort. So no view, just looking out to a walkway leading past the staff quarters to one of the pools with the backside of the next row of buildings beyond. The room itself was very large and very plain. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was very dated, with the door broken in the corners and rusty hinges. One morning, when other rooms in our block were using water, there was almost no water pressure in the shower or faucet. We could also hear conversations from the adjoining room through a locked connecting door that's located in the closet/desk area between the bedroom and bathroom. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in our room and the weather cooperated, otherwise we may have wanted to upgrade to a villa for better view, amenities and privacy.

The main pool area was fine, the fresh water was a nice touch, with no chlorination. The second salt water pool also looked nice. Most chaise loungers were worn, with many chairs missed one or two plastic strips in the seats. They didn't have cushions.

The breakfast was meager. Only a few hot items, most of which were greasy. Not much fresh fruit or vegetables, and they kept running out of more popular items like watermelon or bananas. Cereal was for kids only, no muesli or more 'adult' options. We also tried a few lunch dishes -- portions were small, but flavors were better than at breakfast.

We appreciated their effort to 'go green'. Recycling bins are scattered throughout the grounds, they grow some of their own produce and herbs, and there wasn't much food wasted at the breakfast buffet. They may also be trying to reduce the waste involved with replacing larger items (like worn chaise lounges and thin towels), but the overall effect is one of neglect.

Next time, we would stay elsewhere for a bit more money per night for a better quality resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    640
    245
    95
    54
See reviews for
479
561
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

we spent 4 nights at the Frangipani Resort and Spa with a group of friends. I briefly mentioned about the musky smell in the room to the receptionist. This was looked into immediately by them immediately. The staffs sprayed room frangrance and also left potpourri made of lemon grass and pandan leaves in our room and toilet. We were very happy with it.
The resort is very clean and has a amazing garden. If you are feeling lazy to go out for food, the restaurant in the resort serves awesome food and they use whatever is grown in the garden.
We totally enjoyed our stay at the Frangipani. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for around 6 days over last new year. Upon arrival we were allocated a very disappointing room next to the air con block behind the restaurant but the front desk staff were most helpful in reallocating us immediately. The rooms are very nice - nothing flashy but big and clean and with an extra bed accomodated us all well. The breakfast is great though gets pretty busy and the setting is simply magical. The beach is not great for swimming because of all the jellyfish but the 2 pools are both lovely and very different in atmosphere from each other.
What really really impressed us here at the Frangipani was the owner who was always around, getting involved and chatting with all the guests. He has set up an amazing system for all the recycling of all the hotel waste - including all the water from a filtration system he has devised. He runs little tours out the back of the hotel to show you all they do there, their chickens, their planting etc - really great for the kids to see. After breakfast every couple of days he also takes all the kids down to the beach with a few fishermen and they put the net out and haul in what they can to show the kids and let them handle the fish and then bury the jellyfish. Really great. A very inpsirational man.
There are lots of great great restaurants a walk away from here and plently of shops and mini marts so you can keep your fridge stocked up. It was kinda pricey but it was Christmas and it is Langkawi so I thought it was fair enough for the facilities and car and attention they lavish on the place. I recommend..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie&thepropchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in this resort for 2 days during the chinese new year. The property is lovely, its got 2 swimming pools and and really nice beach. Also breakfast is served right next to ocean, with beautifu views of the horizon and the neighbouring islands.
On the flipside, the rooms are comfortable but dont boast of any luxuries, and can do with some renovations. Especially the bathrooms somehow reminded me of my college hostel! Since we spent most of our time in and outside the resort, this wasn't much of kill joy for us. Overall, rooms are comfortable and our room had a nice balcony.
The staff was quite helpful and went out of their way to assist us with our retrun journey requirements. The lobby has free Wifi as well.
The location is great as it only a few minutes from the main market area and from dock for various boat trips. There is a bike rental/ tour booking place opposite the resort. Also, highly recommended is a small restaurant called Maya (further down the road from the resort) for some Malay curries.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Diya_Kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed in Frangipani Langkawi during Chinese new year holidays in February 2011.I have been wanting to write,but delayed for some reasons.
Well,We had to book frangipani as our other top prority resorts were fully booked.
The good things staying in this resort is mainly for its location.It is located in Pantai Tengah.You can find a lot of restaurants by taking 5 to 10 mins walk along the road.You also can book for island hooping and mangrove tour and so on from the travel agents you can find at Pantai Tangah.They give reasonable rate.
The beach is clean and they have nice swimming pool and 2 jacuzzi.Its very clean and not really that crowded which gave us more time to relax in there.
The room size and cleanliness are not bad.The buffet breakfast have reasonable spread(they can increase the variety though) and taste alright.

I must appreciate their service,as when we suppose to leave the resort at 6 am for our flight,we could not leave our room as a lot of bees were found outside our door.When we tried to call the reception,the phone was not working.But thankfully,the bellboy came to room on time to take the luggage and help us to get out of our room.

Overall,its an average resort especially for the price we pay.The resort follow green environment policy,so you can find a lot of recycle items in the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairoz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Frangipani is a very pleasant hotel in a wonderful location and convenient to the airport on Langawi.

My wife and I stayed for three nights in June with our daughter and two small grandchildren .. everyone had a great time. The pool and gardens are delightful and unlike Penang the sea is clean with good swimming with rather large breakers but no undertow.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. The restaurant was O.K. for an evening meal but not outstanding

The staff were particularly friendly.

My only complaint was the vast amount of plastic litter on the beach on the afternoon of our arrival....this was very offputting.

In fairness I have to add that the beach was cleaned up the following morning and was kept litter free thereafter.

The amount of plastic flaoating around in the sea off this part of Langkawi is staggering but this is not the hotels fault of course !!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are perfectly O.K..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braithsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waasmunster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was fantastic. The rooms were very nice, very clean and a very good service. Staff was super friendly. The bed was gigantic.
There were 2 pools, 2 jacuzzis and a private beach.
Breakfast was fantastic. I wouldn't eat there for dinner because it's expensive and there are much better restaurants in the neighbourhood. You can book your excursions there. Staff is always ready to help you. You must visit the mangroves on Lankawi, and the cable way. Very nice.
We loved it a lot!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eve052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
11.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,344 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing