We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helang Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

You simply get off the plane and walk for about three minutes and your there. Very spacious rooms....some what very tired rooms and building. Found it very annoying to be swatting flies whilst you eat breakfast...but hey Aust can't talk. Staff are great, and when it came time to get a taxi, we just walked over to the Airport and booked one and set off from there. Your only about $24 RMI from Pantai Cenang Beach...main tourist area....heaps of eateries etc and your only $24 RMI from The Oriental Hotel...starting point for Skywalk etc. The staff made the hotel , very friendly and helpful....breakfast was basic but plentiful. The Hotel certainly does not rate a 4 star, (Going by very old framed Four Star rating above the reception desk) but then what do you measure that by....pleasant surprise was the fridge in the room, so it was a visit to the airport to pick up our wine etc. If your a plane watcher, then make sure you ask for the rooms that have a view of the airport....pool times were a bit disappointing, only from 0900 hrs to 1900 hrs????. Having said that, had a great time with the bar staff by the pool . Prices for this Hotel are very reasonable.....certainly wouldn't want to go any higher.

Room Tip: If your a plane spotter, ask for the rooms that over look the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    154
    90
    26
    16
See reviews for
71
51
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

DON'T COME HERE.
We got the deluxe king, but the reception ended up giving us two single beds. We didn't know until we got to the room. And the room was absolutely filthy. There was mould on the glass and the entire room was dusty. I started getting skin rash. And then we requested to change rooms.
The other room was cleaner, but still really crappy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was at first skeptical about this hotel after reading mix reviews. However due to its location which is just next to the airport and about 5 minutes drive to Port Langkasuka, I booked it anyway. When I reached, the exterior design of the hotel looked posh and clean. Parking spaces are available
At the reception counter, the service given was fast and friendly. Upon reaching 4th floor where I say, the hallway was wide and clean as well.
The room is big with a king size bed and 6 pillows! Bathroom is big and clean. Bath tub and shower is separated. Iron and hair dryer are also available. Rooms also have free Wi-Fi coverage.
The breakfast is buffet style with both local and international dishes available. However the food tasted average. The nearest restaurants are located at Cenang beach, about 15 minutes drive or to Kuah town, about 25 minutes drive from the hotel.
The pool is big but during my stay, it is not that clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

the hotel has all you need for a short holiday in langkawi when u have a car.
the rooms are clean and big, so is the bathroom. breakfast is standard but includes asia and continental ingredients as well as eggstation.
the pool is big as well as the lobby.
tv is not functional with 4 channels only.
details in finishing of room and surrounding might be not 100% but who care if the basic needs
are met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay with my inlaws back in Feb 2012. Friendly staff, clean and quiet hotel.
Buffet breakfast was good quality and lots of choices.
Our room was big with 2 queen size beds and a nice view as well. We'll definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackielee911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was there for 3 nights with my wife and my little son during my vacation in July 2013. I booked the hotel thru Agoda.com with a good price offer. The hotel located next to the airport which just few minutes walk after my landing. The hotel is big with very nice swimming pool which available from 7AM-8PM. My son was very enjoyed with the kid's pool and my wife also happy with taking some nice view picture around the hotel.

The hotel provide many difference services you wanted and the breakfast is great to me as it has many options (Chinese and Western and Local style). It's a bit hard to go to city center (Pantai Chanang beach) which you had to pay RM18 ($6) every trip. It's good to have moto or taxi rent and you will easy to find by talk to the reception or just go to the airport service.

In overall, the hotel looks best for me.

Just a bit disappointed me when i was asking for sea view hotel but the hotel can't provide (i booked 4 months advance)

Room Tip: Ask for the room with sea view on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puthywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

One Helang Hotel is conveniently located next to the airport, it actually shares the same boundary as the langkawi airport. One can easily walk down to check in or walk to airport after check out. The hotel is a nice property with spacious and well appointed rooms. Room Service at between 2300 hrs to 0800 hrs is very difficult to get so one needs to be careful about that and get their drinking water and tea/coffee set up checked before 2300 hrs.

The breakfast buffet is reasonably good. the Hotel is at convenient distance from Night market, cable car and eagle point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashvin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
3.8 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
8.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#5 of 16 in Kuah
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#36 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
7.7 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Property: Hotel Helang Langkawi
Address: Lot 274 Jalan Lima, Mukim Padang Matsirat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ETB, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing