We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helang Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“50/50”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel from 7th of November until the 13th of November 2012. Hotel was pretty average and needs a revamp or needs to be a bit cheaper then what it is.
Good stuff:
Rooms are large
Bathroom is massive
Pool is so beautiful and if you're lucky enough too look over the pool you have a great view
Most staff are friendly

Bad stuff:
SLOW. Service is slow the lifts take about 15 minutes to get you, and on arrival we waited 1 hour for our room to be ready
Nowhere near anything
Roof leaks mould
Strange smell in corridors
Pool bar staff can barely speak basic english
Towel rack left unmanned and can rarely get towels

So yeah, that pretty much sums it up.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara_Marinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    154
    90
    26
    16
See reviews for
71
51
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with 8 family members. Huge property like 5 star hotels but very poorly maintained. Therefore looks run down although fairly new property. Typical local people management.
Only good thing is huge pool and big rooms. Most std rooms come with 2 double bed for one room price. Rooms aren't clean and bathrooms overall are below average.

Location wise it's near no where but 4kms from pantai cenang, the happening beach and street in Langkawi. Location is not that bad.

You definitely need own transport to stay in this hotel otherwise stuck there . Call taxi available on request but expensive.

Food is definitely lousy and suggest eating outside. Breakfast was sickening during our stay.

Will I stay here again??? Yes for the size of room, pool and overall property size.
No for mostly everything from cleanliness , food, service, etc

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaay_Verman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I had 2 nights left on Langkawi and was looking for a bit of luxury before we left. We saw the the Hotel Helang and thought it has everything we would need to have a nice relaxing 2 days.
We arrived and had to find our own trolley and then hump our 7 bags up to the room ourselves even though there were staff there, I'm not one to let people carry my luggage anyway but there wasn't even an offer.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable so I have no complaints here BUT you then leave the room the lobby ALWAYS smells of cigarette smoke and room service dishes were outside the doors all down the corridor (same plates for the whole 2 days). Also there looked to be building dust everywhere!!!!!
Anyway we carried on down to the very spacious pool only to be told that the advertised POOL BAR (loose term) was now shut for renovations but there was absolutely no renovations happening what so ever. So we proceeded to ask in the main restaurant if we could order some alcoholic beverages only to be told that all they had was cans of lager and gin not even fruit juices. We decided to leave the hotel and drive to get some beverages from a local mini mart, we then felt settled sat by the pool. 1 hour later we were asked to leave the pool as it was shutting down for the night, 8am - 8pm was advertised on the internet and at hotel reception it was now 6.45pm. We then went up to our room got changed and came down to the main restaurant for dinner, we waited to be seated for 20 minutes before we realised that it wasn't even open!!!!!!
Next day the pool towel hut was unmanned for the whole 2.5 hours we were there and again we were left dumbfounded by this so called 4 star service.
We felt it necessary to complain to the manager but all he could say was that he would arrange for a lift to the sister hotel down the road. IF I WANTED TO STAY THERE I WOULD OF!!!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! THE PLACE IS A JOKE!!!!! THIS IS MY FIRST REVIEW AND I FEEL OBLIGED TO HELP PEOPLE NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID!!!!!

Room Tip: Try Bayview hotel in Kuah. Amazing hotel and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I first went here back in 2008, back than it looked good and well maintained, but this time around i was quite dissapointed with what i saw, firstly the lobby has undergone some major renovation and i think it is still a bit of work in progress but being a 4 star hotel, they should have done better to upkeep it...... The lobby was looking good but was dusty..... I checked in with 2 of my frens and the process was rather quick.... When we entered the room, we were very dissapointed.... The rooms were very dusty, imagine i was walking around barefooted and my foot became dark.... had to wear my slippers than after..... The beds and pillow were poor.... The matress were worn out and very springy and pillows were very uncomfortable..... The bathroom looked good though.... and the day bed well its better you just stay away from it as the cushions and linen were stained....... Had a bad sleep over night.... Next day went for breakfast and it was one of the worst with such limited choices..... had like some noodles, fried rice, spring roles, potatoes, bread, porridge and cereals..... For a 4 star hotels, the choices for breakfast was more like a budget hotel..... Overall i would just say its an average hotel, unless things can be improved this Hotel will be left behind...... Pro's - Spacious room, swimming pool... Cons - Dusty room, bad pillows and bed, bad breakfast, old furnitures, bad towels, old tv.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is next to airport, it's maybe plus point for some people but for me it was zero point.
No live nearby you was bound to move by car for every small thing so I didn't like it . Overall hotel is quite big and under renovation so you should find so so many unusual sounds which is not comfortable Breakfast was ok not up to mark.
Sorry but i didn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Just move to upper floor and be sure that floor is already renovated otherwise u will suffer from di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFKHANz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only 1 block away from airport, with reasonable swimming pool.
Breakfast could be considered okay.
But parking facility is limited.

Note:
Please double-check with check-in counter whether air-conditioning facilities are functioning, before tranferring luggages to the room.

Room Tip: Please double-check with check-in counter whether air-conditioning facilities are functioning, befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azhar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After 1 night the only words to describe this hotel is IT IS A DUMP DON’T EVEN CONSIDER STAYING HERE! The air con in the 1st room was not working and the room was so stuffy, windows can’t be opened! requested for a change of room, staff says wait for maintenance to check, after 20 minutes no one turn up, call reception told them if they can survive for 10 minutes I will stay in the room or else change my room. The new room slight better since it is late,have to bear with the discomfort, and all the staff can say is we are under renovation, can’t help it.

The following morning came the big shocks! Breakfast was served in makeshift dining area with no air con, just a few stand fans blowing and no comments on the food, the same arrangements for lunch. Conference was held in the ballroom, you guess it right! No air con as well, it became so unbearable half way that a few stand fans were brought in.

No fault of the conference organisers but the amount of complaints to them you can imagine. For those paying by credit card, the hotel charged for the whole duration of the stay upon checking in, so changing hotel was not an option as credit card refunds takes months.

All the staff can say was ‘We Are under Renovation’, if under renovation, then don’t sell the rooms. Never again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chookyan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.5 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#71 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
8.6 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#7 of 16 in Kuah
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#70 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Express Hotel
Bella Vista Express Hotel
#72 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kuala Melaka Inn
Kuala Melaka Inn
#55 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helang Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helang Langkawi

Property: Hotel Helang Langkawi
Address: Lot 274, Hotel Helang Jalan Lima, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Langkawi
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Helang Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Helang Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing