We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black sandy beach”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Black Sand Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tanjung Rhu Beach and Mangrove Forest Boat Tour in Langkawi...
Ranked #48 of 96 things to do in Langkawi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unlike other black-sand beaches, this sand isn't volcanic in nature but rather is streaked black by run-off from a nearby hot spring.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Black sandy beach”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want something different than ordinary beach, visit here. A short visit will do because the black sand is running out. You get to see lots of love messages or graffiti on the sand due to its colour and some informative boards around to understand how the beach got its colour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alyssang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    45
    115
    76
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“not much black sand left”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

what i liked the most was it is a great place for photographs, and what I disliked was that it does not have much black sands left

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Javier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dirty beach. I didn't enjoy”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

It s not a nice beach. feels dirty. there is one cement factory next to beach which also spoils the location. You can give it a miss

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RajeshRajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

its a dirty beach and its empty. nothing special or different abt it. tho u get a good panaromic view of the mountains along the sea, dats it.
u wud not want to wait her efor more than 10 min.
Probably can jus stop over if it falls on ur way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aKa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,661 reviews
536 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,317 helpful votes
“Nothing Special!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our driver wanted to take us to see the black sand beach.Unlike other black-sand beaches. Apparently this sand is streaked black by run-off from a nearby hot spring.

I thought it was nothing special and I certainly would go out of my way to see this place. Luckily it was on the way to our next destination.

To get to this beach there are a few market stalls you walk past where you can buy various food and clothing items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing