We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It appeared kind of small to me. Some rare sea creatures”

Underwater World Langkawi
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.20*
and up
Langkawi Underwater World and Crocodile Farm Tour
More Info
$33.79*
and up
Half-Day Langkawi Island Discovery
Ranked #18 of 92 things to do in Langkawi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An exciting and educational journey awaits you at Underwater World Langkawi ('UWL'). Featuring themed sections such as the fascinating Tropical Rainforest, the spectacular Temperate World, the engaging Sub-Antartic Climate and the abundant Freshwater and Marine Life sections; be amazed by over 4000 animals and aquatics life forms on display. To further enhance your experience, UWL features Eden Cafe and a great duty-free shopping. In recognition of its achievements, UWL was awarded the 'Leading Tourism Product' in Langkawi by LADA and is also listed in the Malaysian Book of Records for being the 'Largest Aquarium in Malaysia' and for being the '1st breeding of Rockhoppers Penguins in Captivity'. So make a visit to UWL - When Adventure Becomes Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It appeared kind of small to me. Some rare sea creatures”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I got to the Underwater World by the end of my 6-hour journey around the island. There was some way too slow women at the ticket place not able to sell a ticket to one person during 10 minutes. The price for an adult was 40 ringgit. I think it's kind of expensive for what you see inside.
I remembered sea apples, oxolot creatures, shark aquarium, one fish' lips looked so cute kind of protruded) I saw some zebra looking eel and nautilus. I walked through the place really fast, took some pictures, and the exit sign was really fast on my way. I expected more from the place. But that was all they had. After visiting Hong Kong Ocean World huge aquarium, I was not impressed by the Langkawi one. I was only excited to see some sea creatures I have never seen before.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deenaothman, Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in d midst of upgrading the exhibition and the facilities provided. Come again soon to experience the new ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    695
    611
    163
    58
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
“Good place to visit”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Gave a very interesting experience when entering the Underwater World Langkawi. Can see a variety of aquatic species that are very interesting. But there should be a change in terms of adding new species because it will attract more visitors... All the best...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aredly_yana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deenaothman, Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and thank you too for the review. Come again soon for better and more exhibits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good collection”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

An extensive collection of undersea life, well displayed. Well worth a visit. It would have been nice to have some larger fish such as rays in the interactive section though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VinayKumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deenaothman, Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for visiting us. Though our current collection is already diverse but we are still working towards better and more exciting exhibits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice to do on a cloudy day in paradise”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

On the rare cloudy day we decided to go to underwater world and it was fun, enjoyable and learning too. At 2:30 feeding of sealions and penguins starts be sure to see that, animals really get playful and we had great laughs. There is plenty to see on fish, crab, squids, as well as other tropical animals. All in all a place worth to go to and spend a couple of hours in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob_de_Vries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deenaothman, Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. Come rain or shine, we will always do our best to ensure good and educational experience to all our valued guests at Underwater World Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

it is v good for only those who have not seen underwater sorld in singapore but who have seen it in singapore, it is just a wastage of time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiragGhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deenaothman, Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you too for visiting us, we not only want to be good, we want to be better for the sake of our valued guests. Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater World Langkawi also viewed

 

Been to Underwater World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing