We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We only intended staying for a couple of nights because of the poor reviews from other travellers. We ended up staying five nights because it was a great place for our family. The pool is the big attraction - it is really worth it because the closest beaches aren't that great. There are lots of loungers, shade and space to swim. My 10 year old daughter basically spent most of our time here swimming. Our first room was a renovated one and was quite nice. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The small balcony overlooking the pool was a nice place to have a predinner drink. When we checked back in for our final three nights we were in an unrenovated suite and it was fantastic. Yes, the room needed renovating, but we were not going to complain because it was three rooms of space! The breakfast was ok and provided a range of options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdeandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear jdeandrew,

Thank you for taking your time to write and post this review. We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, services, food and pool side facilities. It was a great pleasure having you and your family stay at our resort and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel has a bad reputation from other reviewers, so at first we stayed at another hotel, but after a recommendation from a couple we met we changed to this. We had a nice family room with two double beds. The room had recently been refurbished, and the beds where brand new and it had a new tv. The bathroom was big, and the shower had warm water and good pressure, albeit a little small cabinet. It was clean, had good space for clothes, and had a small fridge.

The breakfast was ok, a bit crowded at times, but nothing to complain about. Not the most exciting food, but compared to other hotels on our trip it was good enough for us.

The pool is the big (!) draw of this hotel, it´s fantastic. Three slides, wave pool, and kids pool with different depths. It´s also clean, and it was fun for the kids to see some monkeys as well.

The only drawbacks is that it´s quite far from the elevator to some of the rooms, and if you have a stroller and need to bring it to the rooms you have to carry it up and down the stairs. The wifi isn´t all that either. We would gladly stay here if we come back to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Vegard N,

Thank you very much for sharing your Aseania experience with others and for highlighting the warm and wonderful service provided by our staff here at Aseania Resort & Spa. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities is a motivation for us to provide even better service. On another note, we’ve looked into the less positive issues you’ve mentioned and we sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you’ve encountered. Your comments are deeply appreciated and they will surely assist us in striving towards service excellence. Thank you once again for recommending Aseania as a brand to everyone! We look forward to welcoming you back to Aseania Resort & Spa on your future visits to Langkawi.

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Aseania for a week over Christmas - i was very impressed with the hotel and the great efforts the staff went to in ensuring we all had a great Christmas. The central location and the pool facilities were the highlights for me (loved the wave pool and lazy river!).

I highly recommed this hotel.

Emma

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Emma G,

Thank you so very big for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi Island. We are pleased to know that you’ve enjoyed the atmosphere of our resort and its beautiful tropical views of the water fall and the swimming pool overall. Your positive comment definitely motivates us to perform better! We are really grateful for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future!

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Such an EXCELLENT hotel! I stayed there for 4days 3nights with a booking of 10 room for our family gathering and of course family day event among us. The rooms were clean and the owners were very friendly and gave us a lot of insider tips about where / how / when to go to certain places. WiFi...

Rooms:
Very clean has its own fridge and bathroom. Very nice for the price!. The roomservice shows a remarkable good manners and understand the customers needs. Thank you....

Breakfast:
Excellent with such vireaty food every days so you wont get bored if you're staying for a few days.

Pools:
Excellent 3 swimming pools with additional sliders / build-in wave and bars attached. BBQ! just asked.

Location: EXCELLENT, Facing everything....near to the beach, the clubbing streets, food stalls, supermarkets, laundry etc... not to forget mamak Teh Tarik, 1block away making it real nice when coming home late. Also its less than 15 minutes away from metro which basically gets you everywhere in the area. You may find convienient store that open until 1 a.m. with 5 minutes walk from Aseania.

Shooping: The Aseania Hotels members willing to help you on bookings on transport or you may seek yourself upon arriving at the airports. Lots lots of huge shopping malls.

Room Tip: Facing the pools giving you a cooling enviroment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghimau8510z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ghimau8510z,

Thank you so big for sharing your Aseania experience with others and for highlighting the warm and wonderful service provided by our staff here at Aseania Resort & Spa. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities is a motivation for us to provide even better service. Your comments are deeply appreciated and it will surely assist us in striving towards service excellence. Thank you once again for recommending Aseania as a brand to everyone! We look forward to welcoming you back to Aseania Resort & Spa on your future visits to Langkawi.

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed with my family from the 8th-10th of Jan 2012. In a nutshell : You get what you paid for. However, there were a few glitches during our stay. Upon arriving, when I was checking in, the receptionist couldn't find my room booking (i booked thru airasiago) then she went in and solved it with her manager. When we finally got into our room, the room was messed up. The bellboy said someone 'disturbed' it. He went to the receptionist and took another key for us. When we went into our second room, everything was ok.. but the toilet was dirty. The breakfast was ok, nothing special about it.

Pro : This resort is very very near to Cenang Beach, eateries and Underwater World
Cons : It's currently under renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melati5173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear melati5173,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is much valued and appreciated. We regret to learn that our service rendered was not up to your expectations. We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you’ve encountered. Rest assured that your comments will be seriously looked into and we will strive to improve our service level and product quality. We would like to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort. We hope to welcome you back in a near future to Langkawi.

Be Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Initially after reading the reviews I was hesisitant to stay at the Aseania but once I arrived my mind was put at ease.
A lot has been done to the hotel since some of the photos on here and I'm surprised that people found the staff unhelpful as they were lovely to everyone I saw them interact with.
I would like to give a personal thank you to Baha and Iris who were exceptional.
This is a great hotel for families, couples and groups.

Will definetly go back to the Aseania.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Natalie2036,

Thank you so big for taking your time to write and post this review. We really appreciate your positive comments about our facilities and staff. We had informed your compliments to our respective staff highlighted and overall. It was a great pleasure having you stay at our resort and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in Aseania with my parents and sister (11 years) during the christmas break (21-29 Dec). After reading the reviews, we were very worried about what the hotel will be like, but as most hotels in the area were completely booked already, we decided to stay in Aseania.
Although it can be seen that the hotel is a little old and was not invested in for some time, it is apparent that a lot is changing. During our stay:
- the renovation of one wind was finished
- the pinky colour of the outside walls was repainted into white which changed the impression a lot
- all the bulbs in the halls were changed for working ones
- many walls and ceilings were cleaned and repainted inside the building
- and the most importantly, a lot of new sunbeds, sunshades and beach towels were bought.

The service was very good: beds done and towels changed daily. Problem with aircon solved within few minutes in the late night hours.
Breakfast was ok. Around 50% of food was Asian, which I didn't feel like eating in the morning, so I don't know about the taste.
Swimming pool is EXCEPTIONAL. It is very big, has 3 slides and different depths for different swimming skills. There is also a bar with seats in the pool, so drinks can be enjoyed from the water. This is the best advantage of the hotel.

The drawbacks are that it is still a little dirty in places (although I believe it is going to change very soon) and the WIFI signal is quite soft (like in most of the places in langkawi)

I believe that this hotel is underrated on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azyzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Azyzio,

Thank you very much for sharing your Aseania experience with others and for highlighting the warm and wonderful service provided by our staff here at Aseania Resort & Spa. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities is a motivation for us to provide even better service. On another note, we’ve looked into the less positive issues you’ve mentioned and we sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you’ve encountered. Your comments are deeply appreciated and it will surely assist us in striving towards service excellence. Thank you once again for recommending Aseania as a brand to everyone! We look forward to welcoming you back to Aseania Resort & Spa on your future visits to Langkawi.

Stay Well,
Mark Hisham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.7 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 4 in Pantai Tengah
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
8.8 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#35 of 105 in Langkawi
266 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island

Address: Aseania Resort Langkawi Jalan Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#21 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $60 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located along the Pantai Tengah in Mukim Kedawang, Aseania Resort encompasses 7.519 acres of luxurious facilities and lush greenery. Our 217 rooms are fully furnished to give visitors the comforts of modern living complemented by the unique old-world charm of Langkawi. There's never a dull moment at Aseania's awe-inspiring swimming pool. Listed in the Malaysia Book of Records as the longest swimming pool in the country, it sprawls 154.4 metres and has a mesmerising array of facilities for all - wave pool, mushroom pool, waterfall, Jacuzzi, sundeck, lazy river and adult and children slides. You can take a leisurely float or pamper yourself with a luxurious jacuzzi while the kids have a splashing good time together. Truly fun for all in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aseania Resort Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Aseania Hotel
Aseania Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing