We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst snorkeling experience!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulau Payar Marine Park

Pulau Payar Marine Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.62*
and up
Full-Day Pulau Payar Snorkeling Tour from Langkawi
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Worst snorkeling experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Snorkeling area is very small and cramped with a lot of people and far from the main island. Not worth the money or time at all!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Isam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    209
    142
    73
    71
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Check around for the best rate before committing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Been to this Marine Park 2times. I think the amount of tourists kill the coral.

Checked around for the best price as I think the resort we stayed in published RM245(?) per pax but there are agency outside that arrange at a fraction of the price. We got ours at RM90 and apparently there were some that get even lesser.

We went there cos we want to initiate our nephew into snorkelling and seeing fishes swimming up close and alive. (Hahaha he is an avid fishing fanatic.) Don't expect much since it is really a tourist place. Food carter bad. No fresh water facilities on island.

The traveling from resort to Kuah town, 1 hour of ferry and waiting is really time killer (for us 3 hrs one way - 6 hrs wasted).

Though I have not done much of such activities, imo, unless you have no where to spend your time in Langkawi, then do this. Otherwise it will be a waste of time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hippo645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food quality worst Toilets”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

1. Average place for snorkeling.
2. Crowded
3. Bad food
4. Worst Toilets

Do you want to really visit it? please think twice. Trust me it the worst place to spend your time. You will be heavily charged and you can't expect the quality. They promised that they will provide food, water and fruits.

Few reasons to avoid this place:

Food:
It was chicken fried rice. You will forget the real taste of fried rice after tasting that. Rice was half cooked. And about chicken (fist of all, was that really a chicken) was oily. With that amount of oil you can cook for 5 days in your home. And about vegetables, in that fried rice, was dried in sun atleast for a week i guess. If you try to bite the green peas, for sure you have to consult a doctor after that. They gave water. Only 300ml for the whole day and if you want more you have to spend more. Locker charges 20RM. Since the food was terrible i thought to eat the oranges they gave. It was wonderful to look. Big in size. I was really happy. I ate 1 slice and puked literally. Damn it was a hungry day for us. So food 1/5

2. Snorkeling:
Very small space. Heavily crowded. You know how the snorkeling looks here?? it looks like worms in a decayed food.

3. Toilet
Oh boy. No words to explain the beautiful scene which i saw there. Such a crappy place.

Don't get betrayed by the good comments here. I guess they haven't seen any other good places for snorkeling.

My humble request please avoid this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NaagAlgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Crowded but beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Snorkling near the beach might be even more interesting than diving as waters can be blur. Very crowded, better the arrive in the morning and enjoy the place before tourists arrive at noon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RodThbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“terrilbe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

really not worth as all the coral is dead and its like 3 big ferries will send all the visitors abt 300 to 400 to the same location and . food catered is the worst in langkawi

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wildmakkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulau Payar Marine Park also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pulau Payar Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing