We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture can be deceiving.”
Review of The Villa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Langkawi
Ranked #73 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture can be deceiving.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Situated amidst Malay village. Modern minimalist design. Very friendly staff. Big room but waste of space. Lousy sound proofing of the room. Mosque is just next door, so during prayer time you can hear the prayer echoing the whole place including the room, just as if you are in the mosque itself. Important point for those who wants quiet environment. Very simple Malaysian breakfast, a bit pricey for the price we paid though. Have to walk about 10 mins to the nearest beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxsimkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    62
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

NEW NEW NEW
The hotel looks fresh with its modern design..the room is cozy with big bathroom (choose the deluxe room). Bathroom is clean and the bed is comfortable.
good location and friendly staffs.
the only pro is the loud morning prayer by the next mosque in the early 6:30am

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yan85kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This new hotel looks fresh with its modern minimalist style. Check in was quick and efficient, you can also book for taxi or tours from the frontdesk. I got an upgrade to family room which was spacious enough for four persons. Bathroom was also clean but there are no amenities except for shower gel. Beware of mosquitos and prayers from neighbouring mosque. If you are a light sleeper you will be awaken daily around 5.30 am by this prayer call.

Breakfast was ok but running out fast and the refilling takes awhile. Wifi is available in all areas. Pool is a lap pool type.

Location is not near the Cenang beach. It is about 30 minutes walk and i am a fast walker. Better take a cab for about RM10.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The place was very modern and clean, reception staff were lovely and accommodating, pool was very nice and the breakfast in the morning was pretty good value for the price. However there were some drawbacks, the main one being that there is a mosque situated next door so you do hear the prayers very easily. I wasn't really affected by any but family members I was staying with found that the 5.40am woke them up every morning. They chose to wear ear plugs after the first night whereas I am quite a heavy sleeper and would wake up momentarily and then fall immediately back to sleep.
I didn't find it that disruptive but I definitely think that it is something people should be made aware of.
Also mosquitoes always managed to make there way into the room somehow but that was easily fixed by just spraying the room with natural bug spray once returning to the room in the evening.
There are also some very nice and affordable restaurants (more local than others) which are next door and very close. A convenience and laundry are also a few minutes walk down the road.

Overall I think it is quite a good new hotel that is very comfortable with a few problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgeschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

stayed for 3 nights in family room. yeap the room a bit dark as my room was at the back. the rooms facing the pool are actually for deluxe/standard. breakfast was ok and pretty basic. we dont mind at all about the adzan as we are muslims. easy for us to get up early and start out activities. the pool is not kinda big but adequate in size for 5 6 people at a time i think. i picked this hotel/bb as this was the best which offer 2 queen beds near Chenang area. all in all its quite good for people who arent fussy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duraath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The villa itself would have quite potential to be a cheap, confortable choise in the second (or rather third) row. But the nice rooms and good facilities are put off by the noisy mosque next door which will wake you up early in the morning. Also the breakfast was disappointing and when we got the dining room 20 before 10 there was almost nothing left even though we were not the only late comers. The staff didnt seem to be keen on filling it up again for the remaining 10 guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked this property after a long survey, assuming its a new one & will get good services.

The review is only for services because the staffs are well in nature & try to help you on every aspects.

The disappointing part: as we booked long back for a deluxe room but when we arrived they gave us family room where we found 2 king size beds with hardly spaces; which was not useful for us even though it is high in cost as per them.

Told us no deluxe room are available!!!! this i was not expected.

How ever after interacting with one couple; came to know they got a deluxe room after our booking.

And this part is surprising!!!

No choices in breakfast & hardly a choice for vegetarian.

Rooms are good & the property is tiny & lovely.

Overall Okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayshan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.0 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#5 of 145 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Village Langkawi
Green Village Langkawi
#101 of 145 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Langkawi

Property: The Villa Langkawi
Address: Lot 993 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Villa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing