We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in hotel dining I've experience”
Review of Jala Restaurant

Jala Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 475 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled between an ancient tropical rainforest and the turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, Jala is the latest addition to the dining venues at The Andaman Resort. Jala Restaurant is only available for Dinner and you may make a reservation with us to immerse yourself in a truly unique setting with our signature sand floor and exceptional Malay hospitality. **Special Announcement: Please be informed that Delivery and After-hours service are not available for Jala Restaurant.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I wouldn't usually eat in a hotel and you can eat very good food very cheaply in Malaysia but for the convenience of not having to leave your resort, it's a great setting and very good quality food.

2  Thank sootykingjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear sootykingjr,

Thank you for reviewing Jala Restaurant at Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at The Andaman and Jala Restaurant. The setting we have in Jala is quite unique as our guests have the view over the Datai Bay while being able to bury their feet in the sand floor of Jala.

The focuses in Jala is very much built around the experiences that we can give our guests and the exceptional quality of seafood is one of the things we are very proud of. By working close with the local community we are able to get the best both in terms of quality and sustainability and for us that is a true pleasure!

Once again we thank you for your kind review, and we hope to get the opportunity to give you more gastronomic experiences in the future here at Jala Restaurant.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 302 of 501 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The seafood is fresh but the cooking is a bit hit and miss. My lobster was over cooked and dry. I always feel the chef must lack character when a restaurant offers me fish with my choice of sauces and side dishes from a board - feels a bit like a pub in Queensland - why doesn't he or she come up with the gorgeous ideas about the ideal food combination? It is a pretty spot for a nice middle class meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Flurry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Flurry2011,

First of all thank you for taking your time to review us here at Trip Advisor and give us your valuable feedback, so we can grow as a team and improve our experiences for future guests.

We are sad to learn that you found your lobster over cooked and dry. It's a very delicate piece of seafood to cook, and we usually recommend the lobsters to be steamed to ensure the gentlest way of preparing this delicate flesh, and to deliver a more soft and succulent result for our guests to enjoy.

Our Seafood Display Menu in Jala is the more adventurous way to enjoy your dinner, where you are more in control of designing your meal by choosing your seafood, preparations, sauces and side dishes.

The other way of dining in Jala Restaurant is by letting us guide you and indulge in our creative À La Carte menu, where you can choose from 19 dishes and enjoy our dinner as a three, four or five course set dinner. And with the menus we even have a selection of wines that we will recommend with each dish to enhance your experience and help to ensure a perfect balance between wine and food. So I am of course sad to learn that you did not experience that way of dining, as it seems like that would have been more to your preferred style.

We hope that you will let us give you that experience in the future, so you can try our Malaysian and Scandinavian inspired cuisine here on the 9th best beach of the world, by National Geographic, and discover exceptional and indigenous gastronomically experiences.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Andaman hotel for 11 nights and ended up eating at Jala 3 times. It's beach front, fresh seafood and lovely food. Average meal was around 300ringitts

3  Thank SorayaS325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear SorayaS325,

Thank you for taking your time to review Jala Restaurant here on Trip Advisor. We are always grateful to hear the opinions and feedback from your guests, so we can learn and improve as a team and deliver more personalised experiences.

We love when our guests return to Jala, which gives us the opportunity to show more of all the things that we can deliver. We’ve got both a Seafood Display Menu and an A La’ Carte menu at Jala, so there is plenty of gastronomic options whether you want to enjoy the chef’s creations from the À La Carte and indulge in set menus, or if you want to be more adventurous and discover the Seafood Display Menu where you are more in control and choose from our selection of fresh seafood and the sauces and side dishes that you would like to enjoy with it.

Jala Restaurant is an open restaurant concept with the enchanting view of the 9th best beach in the world, by National Geographic. And having the same sand incorporated into Jala Restaurant you can enjoy your dinner while feeling the sand between your toes, while your shoes are stored with our Shoe Concierge.

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback here on Trip Advisor and hope to back at The Andaman and Jala Restaurant for more memorable moments in the future.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went to Jala Restaurant with my mother and Brother an evening in April 2014. The best thing I ever did... The food was JUST excellent and the atmosphere gave the last mile to perfectionism... Have been to a lot of restaurants around the World, but the location and the moode at this place is undescribable. LOVE IT!!! Try to sit dining in a luxorious restaurant with your feet burried in the warm Datai Bay beach-sand. HEAVEN ON EARTH... :)

My regards to the Chef and the staff at Jala. An unforgetable evening...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Heine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Heine K,

Thank you for reviewing us here on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed the experiences they had in Jala restaurant. We value all the feedback we can get to grow better and stronger, so we can deliver even better experiences in the future.

I am happy to hear that you loved the ambience in Jala Restaurant. We have the luxury of having the 9th best beach in the world, by National Geographic, right at the steps of Jala, which of course makes a great impact. The view of the Andaman Sea as you are enjoying your dinner in Jala with your feet buried in the sand is a delightful experience that we are happy to be able to provide. And having our 10 million-year-old rainforest at the other side of Jala, there are plenty of opportunities for spotting wildlife when you are dining, which enriches your experience of being in a remote paradise with gastronomic treats.

We are likewise happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your culinary experience in Jala Restaurant. We have worked hard to develop a menu which have both Malaysian and Scandinavian influences and utilizes the local community to source produce and even makes use of some of the ingredients that we can find in the historic rainforest that surrounds The Andaman.

I will pass your valuable feedback to our Jala team, which I am sure will motivate them and inspire them to reach even higher in developing our gastronomical expertise, so we can create even more personalised experiences in the future.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you and your family once again here at The Andaman, for more exceptional indigenous experiences.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in Andaman Langkawi and had dinner at Jala Restaurant. Basically, the menu focus on Seafood, and also catch of the day.

The ambience is lovely, warm and best if you are on bare foot to feel the softness and coolness of the sand.

The dishes are simply delicious, very fresh seafood, and the service is great too!

The beautiful sunset on the Andaman Sea provides the lovely setting for dinner, this restaurant is an attractive draw for many.

We love it! Cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank The-SCH-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndamanLangkawi, Manager at Jala Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear The-SCH-World-Travel,

First of all thank you for reviewing Jala Restaurant here on Trip Advisor. It always gives us great pleasure to share this kind of feedback with our dedicated and enthusiastic teamf. It truly motivates them to hear that their gastronomic effort is appreciated and drives their energy to preform even better in the future.

We love that you loved the sand floor in Jala. It was one of our keystones for giving an experience of dining on the 9th best beach in the world. The comfort of digging your feet into the sand while you enjoy the fresh catch of the day was a very important experience for us to provide. And offering a shoe concierge where you can have your footwear stored while you are dining, seemed only natural for us, so our guests can enjoy their gastronomic experience while being barefoot.

The freshness of the seafood is something we take great pride in. We knew from the beginning of Jala Restaurant that we needed a good connection with the local community and the local fishermen to provide the freshest seafood possible. It has been a great cooperation and being able to get the high quality that the fishermen delivers only makes it easier to deliver equally high dining experiences to our guests.

The sunset from Jala Restaurant is truly magical, as you have a perfect view of the setting sun on the horizon of the Andaman Sea during these few months. So by making a reservation at seven or earlier you get an additional experience in Jala.

Hopefully we see you again here at The Andaman and Jala Restaurant, so we can give you some more memorable moments from the wonderful island of Langkawi.

Culinary regards,
Chef Rene
rene.knudsen@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jala Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Jala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing