We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly environment”
Review of Simfoni Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simfoni Resort
Ranked #101 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed September 30, 2013

the rooms we booked were 3 junior rooms but when we requested to change into bigger room the manager was very friendly, also honestly suggested how could we change the rooms without getting any extra charges. While we requesting for the news towels and hairdryer, the room service came efficiently. Facilities were satisfied but the breakfast provided has to improve as not much choices and taste oily, might not suitable for foreigners' flavor; suggest resort to provide some simple but nice food for easy digesting. The environment surround hotel is quite out-of-the-way, hotel should provide some securities outside of hotel. But overall still a recommended hotel for average price and a group of peoples.

Room Tip: If 4-5 peoples suggested for the twins room (2 rooms plus one living room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rihyeong_Soh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Despite other reviews the Resort (what makes it a resort by the way?) is easy to find and its NOT far off the main road, most hotels are tricky to find the first time. Hotel/Resort is impressive looking and we booked into the equally impressive lobby and the staff were very friendly and gave us, to our surprise, a 2 bedroomed apartment complete with dining table and lounge and bathroom. We closed off the twin bed room and that left us with still a huge amount of space, a balcony and 2 a/c rooms. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and we were given vouchers for breakfast. We arrived by boat and it was 10 Ringget (£2) to the hotel by Taxi. After that we gave our legs a stretch and walked to town every day, there is a great shopping centre 500m away from Simfoni by the way.
This is the old `crap sandwich` review where I start good, fade in the middle then chuck a good bit at the end.
Yes, our bed was hard and could be improved by a mattress topper.
Yes, there is a nice LCD TV in the room but with only 5 local channels, and they are not tuned well.
Yes, we had breakfast, but it is poor compared to many and is catering (not that well either) for local tastes and could quite easily be upgraded cheaply to cater for westerners which it will attract in the future should it do so.
Staff training, sure, they ARE freindly and courteous but as usual there seems to be no leader. At breakfast there seems to be an adaquate amount of staff but they seem to not `see` what needs doing and need leadership to guide them.

In conclusion, we actually extended our stay here due to the value for money it still offered but the hotel could be so much more.... take note Manager/Owner. We would gladly come back, if only to point you in the direction that WE feel you need to go to get you well and truly on the map. You have the foundations to make yourselves a name.... use them.

Room Tip: They all seem ok. ours was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnandshirley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This resort is actually quite far from the main road. Like other reviewers' suggestion, you have to search for Continental Hotel first then turn left at the junction after Continental Hotel. When we first arrived this resort, we were very impressed with it. Newly painted, many parking spaces and equipped with 2 elevators (very important for us since we were travelling with large suitcases). The same impression when we entered our apartment. 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The only thing that I dislike about this hotel is its bed. Really hard and you can feel the spring hurting your back and bones.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S0L0_femaletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We checked in to this hotel on 30 May 2013 during our vacation to Langkawi. Hotel lobby looks nice and unique. This hotel suitable for family stay. The reception staff not really friendly. We got a clean room and nice living room. However, TV do not have Astro or cable tv channel. They only offered local channel which sometimes not stable due to weak signal. The bed not comfortable and it is really hard likes you sleep in the rock. You may try it if you do not believe this. Kitchen empty, no refrigerator or any cooking stoves, expected this for apartment hotel. Nothing looks special about the hotel. Breakfast too basic and not many choices.

Room Tip: Make sure to booked non-smoking apartment unit. Take your breakfast early as they will not refill t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmy Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my first time to Simfoni Resort, it's new in langkawi, highly recommend to group friends anf family! get a apartment with 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms, with breakfast for RM480/night.

Room & living room
it's clean and tidy, comfortable bed, and nice wardrobe!
with LCD at the living room and a dining table for 6 persons.

Breakfast
Need to improve for the breakfast quality and choices.
I stayed for 3 nights, everyday maintain the same choice for: fried mee, fried kuey teow, fried rice, porridge and bread only; with limited choice!

I came to breakfast every morning around 9pm-9:30pm, porridge empty, and left only fried mee, luckily it's still warm, taste so so only, and the flies making us disgusting.
The management should improve the food quality.

Facilities
Overall is ok, but no swimmming pool in this resort, if have, will get some additional mark!

Room Tip: 3/4 bedrooms apartment highly recommened
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caren33gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed there for one night on the 27th Dec 2012. Its an apartment concept, comes with two bedroom (queen size bed in each room). The room was well maintained and clean. It has a living room with sofa and a dinner table. A 32 inch LCD Tv. The bathroom come with hot shower, however the the water is more of warm then hot.
The location of the resort is near the town, however you would not be able to locate it at the main road. If you are driving from the Jetty, look out for the signage on the left hand side after Hotel Continental. You have to make a left turn in to find the hotel.
I would definitely go back again as the service for good.

Breakfast is provided however not much of a choice. They had fried noodles, breakfast with kaya, butter and jam, banana cake.

However its worth a stay. Try booking the hotel using Agoda as you may get discounted rate for the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TC5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place sounded right when we were searching because we wanted somewhere to accommodate 3 adults for 4 nights. Reasonable price, well away from the touristy beach area, a brand new serviced apartment. It was what we wanted. We booked and arrived a couple of days before Christmas. Staff, genuinely friendly and polite, quickly showed us to our apartment. It had two bedrooms, a sitting/dining and kitchen area and one bathroom/toilet.
At a first glance all seemed well, the place was new and the furniture and fittings were not flash but modern. However, there was still a damp concrete smell in the building. It was obvious that it was hastily finished and the floors were covered by 'caravan carpet' before actually drying out.
The rooms looked ok but the bathroom, which only consisted of a hand basin, toilet and a stand alone basic shower, was in a shocking state. We called the staff to clean it and two room maids rushed in to do the best they can. Seeing we arrived about 7pm, they could have had enough time to clean between occupants but it looked like it was completely forgotten.
The strange thing about this place; when we asked for something, they were quick and pleasantly obliging, however, until we checked out they never came to clean or service the rooms of their own accord. They never made the beds, changed the towels or emptied the bins. We actually had to ask to have clean towels and toilet paper, and remind them to empty the bins. Although, we saw the service staff in the corridors and expected them to clean the rooms after we left, we came to find them just as we left them.The corridors were oviously never cleaned or vacuumed either because there were hundreds of huge spiders hanging off the ceiling everywhere. The famous Christmas tune "Let it snow" repeatedly played in the lobby and corridors for the last two days we were there. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was so boring and so poorly managed, we just skipped it and went out.
This place could be much better. The staff are all really nice people and mean well but it is baffling that it is so poorly managed.

Room Tip: Two bedroom basic apartments have Asian bathrooms. Shower and toilet in the same area without shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckrungtep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#59 of 106 in Langkawi
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort
7.1 mi away
T Star Cottage
T Star Cottage
#13 of 167 in Langkawi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simfoni Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simfoni Resort

Address: Lot 1-13 Jalan Taman Pelangi | Kelibang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Simfoni Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Simfoni Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing