We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand why must visit”

Atma Alam Batik Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.10*
and up
Half-Day Langkawi Island Discovery
Ranked #36 of 91 things to do in Langkawi
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Don't understand why must visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you are visiting other states within Malaysia, then no need to visit this place. The Malaysia Craft may have better batik display. Not much variety of batik, in my humble opinion. The place is very quiet and the staff outnumbered visitor. A bit pricey for batik I would say. They should review the policy of not allowing any photos. At least tourist should be allowed to take some photos as souvenirs, at certain areas/activities at the premise - just my own opinion.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prashant Vihar, New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
229 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“A Batik Products Shop”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visit this place to see the batik art. They do not allow to photograph the work place and sales area. You can buy many type of products like men, women & kids cloths, batik wall paintings, souvenirs, handicrafts etc. Price are on a bit higher side. But still we purchased some cloths for their uniqueness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VIPIN_GOEL_TP_Impex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Self-painting Batik Experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am surprised to see some photos inside the shops at Tripadvisor, I was told not to take any photos inside the shop. I agreed that the products is averagely expensive as some of the reviewers.

I rating it very good for the self-painting Batik experience for a price at RM30. You can choose the drawing from the shop and there will be some experts around to guide you. Initially we thought that just fill in the color shall be an easy task, but when we started, there are actually some techniques required. When you bring home the batik you painted yourselves, you could proudly showing off to others, this is what I made.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A shop that show you how they make batik”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all this is not a real village. It's a big shop selling high end souvenir and decorative collections, batik fashions.

You can go to the backyard to see how they make batik, they will explain to you and you can see it on the spot but strictly no photography. After explaining to you the process of batik production they will bring you inside for shopping.

Products here is nice, artistic, feel of local culture but all expensive (maybe that is the real value but I'm not a arts collector).

It's good to visit here if you want to see the batik production, it's free. You can leave without buying anything.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank siauhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located not far away from the airport, it's worth a visit.
A woman welcome you on the door and as first thing show you how they paint cloths. It's really interesting.
Inside the big shop provides many art crafts some interesting some less. Everything is pretty expensive but the quality is high so I guess things are worth the price.
If you wanna have a great experience with just 30RM you can buy your own piece of cloth and paint it following the rules of the local "artists". It's a good memory to take home.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RobyTn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atma Alam Batik Village also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Atma Alam Batik Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing