We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and unique”
Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #8 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is one of the most unusual but nicest places I have stayed on my travels. Great owner and staff who were always very helpful. I would recommend the free Eco pirates boat trip it's a brilliant way to spend a relaxing day on a remote island. Try and get a sea view tube if your staying.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank szyslak321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 293 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We live in KL and were looking for a cheap weekend in the sun in Langkawi. We came across this place and I wasn't too sure about sharing the facilities but as it was so much cheaper than anything else around that area and we loved the 'tube' idea, we thought we'd go for it.
It was a fantastic weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendliest of staff and were shown our 'tube'. It was idyllic. I would recommend you to pay the extra for the sea view. The facilities were great; dead clean and we never had to queue for a shower over the weekend. Only downside was the bed isn't the comfiest, but other than this the tubes are fab!
We then headed into the town for dinner and the owner happened to be driving in with his family and he offered us a lift and dropped us off at their favourite restaurant. So kind!
The icing on the cake was the free 'Eco pirates' trip. On the Saturday we signed up for this trip where they take you off to a remote island with 11 other guests and you spend three hours in paradise with no one else around. All they ask for in return is that you fill up a bin bag with rubbish from the island to help clear it up. A fantastic day out and a lovely way to meet others staying at the hotel and do your bit to help the local area.
The breakfasts are also delicious! The list is endless of the good points to this place....I could carry on but I will stop! If you are looking for an affordable, friendly place to relax on this beautiful island, this is a must! We will definitely be returning soon!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Tubotel is superb! There is an amazing view, amazing tube room and a really nice breakfast complimentary every day of your stay! I stayed here with my boyfriend in January and had the best time. We went on the free boat trip the owner organises and had a fantastic time on a remote island with other people staying a the resort. The sunsets are gorgeous from Tubotel and you can just chill at the bar that had huge day beds with pillows while looking at the sun set. We walked to the beach every day and which is a bit of a trek but Jamie told us a short cut so that was very helpful. We even ended up staying on the beach closest to tubotel but I think it's a private beach owned by a different resort. But it wax really quiet and no jet skis. Every night we walked along the beach into the town for dinner and got a taxi back which cost between 10-15 ringgit. I loved staying in a tube too. We had a sea view, so worth it! And it was spotless with a fan and AC. Shared toilets and showes but there was plenty of them and clean. Recommend to everyone

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Emylou-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, amazing view and scenary, amazing tubes, amazing people and service, on an amazing island! We had a great time there and we will absolutely come back one day in the future and stay again at Tubotels!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank maanemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014. When we tried to pay with our Mastercard upon checking in, it wasn't accepted (after 3 attempts). We thought it was an issue with our bank, and asked for a day to contact them before trying the card again. We confirmed with the bank that there was plenty of money in the corresponding account, and there was no hold on the card. Next day, tried it again, and it didn't work again. So we had to walk 40 minutes to the nearest ATM, take out way more cash than we planned to, and give it to Tubotel. Now we faced a cash shortage, so we contacted the bank again, and they had received no record of the four failed attempts to charge our card (which means the problem was with Tubotel's charging system, not the card). When we brought this information to Tubotel, the owner's wife insisted it was our problem, not theirs. We relented, and finally they agreed to charge our card again...using a second, obviously newer, and previously undisclosed card machine! Of course, it worked right away on the different machine, and they refunded our cash. However, there was never a breath of an apology for having caused us to plan two of our days in Langkawi around fixing money issues that were their fault.

Another issue we had was being directly lied to by the owner. Tubotel offers Nasi Lemak (a traditional Malaysian dish) for sale at the bar. We were interested in learning about how to make it, so we asked the owner, Alex, who makes the Nasi Lemak. He said the morning kitchen cook makes it, and that we could observe her at 7am. Upon meeting the morning cook at 7am, we learned that she buys the Nasi Lemak at the market, premade. I'm not sure why the owner lied to us about that, but a pointless lie like that doesn't bode well for his credibility.

After both of these unsatisfactory experiences, we just happened to ride in a local taxi that was driven by a former employee of the ownership couple. We asked him directly, and he confided that he was not treated well while employed by them for over 5 years (at a previous business, not Tubotel). This may explain why some of the current Tubotel staff were running ragged seemingly every time we saw them, while another staff member was sitting and smoking every time we saw him.

If not for these issues, we would have immensely enjoyed our stay here. It is a unique experience they provide, the atmosphere is chill, the views are amazing (especially the sunsets), and the free breakfast is the best we've ever had at a hotel.

There were only two cons about the actual facilities. One is that because it is open air, smoking is allowed everywhere except the tubes (even inside the bar/desk area, where no-smoking signs are posted, but not enforced). As non-smokers, it was very frustrating, and hard to really relax, because the smoke was unavoidable. Clearly delineated areas for smoking and non-smoking would be a huge improvement. The other thing, which is not Tubotel's fault, is that the road leading to the hotel is very sketchy at night. Nothing is on the road but an abandoned construction site, but both nights we ventured out after dark there were 5 or 6 cars parked along the road for no reason, and one night we saw a man open his trunk to a newly arrived group of people. This obviously kept us from going out at night again.

If Tubotel was taken over by new management, we would stay again in a heartbeat. Under the current management, we can't recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't book if you care about good business practices. If you're a non-smoker, prepare for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mlkurtz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langkawilover8, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

hello,

wow u have taken a lot of time out of ur well deserved holiday to write this review and feed back to us. *(thank u)

the construction site, yes it is there, and the cars are from people fishing of the shores.

the nasi lemak story must be in ur imagination, and yes the cook buys the rice on the way to work and makes a 50 cent profit by reselling it. we could have recommented a cooking school to u.

almost forgot ur credit card issue: ur booking was made one day earlier and we have not charged u yet.

ur creditcard might have had a faulty magnet strip or chip, this happens often. then the other newer machine, is a pos terminal for online sales that does not require the card to inserted in the machine, only entry per keyboard.

me the terrible owner is the fat guy that invited u to join his and his daughters birthday party 9i remember u looked happy)

almost forgot zizo the smoker. i also keep telling him is bad for the health, but he does not listen.

and the management, any suggestions (in short) wanna take over? , can, no problem

at first i was shocked about the feedback, we received from u, but i believe every comment is a good comment and we can learn from our mistakes.

best regards and happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for a total of five nights. The breakfeast was incredible and made the direct view to the sea, even better. The staff was extremely helpful in organizing tours and motorbike rental - which made you feel very welcome. Overall very pleased with the stay, and would definitely go back for a few nights at Tubotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakobThrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was positively surprised of the Tubotel. The hotel is extremely well located on the sea side and you can also enjoy marvellous sunsets. On the common guest area, there is a lounge like type atmosphere with cool seats, lounge beds and music.

The beds in the tubes and square rooms are surprisingly good quality.

The beautiful Cenang beach can be reached with a five minute walk.

I liked also especially the food which is prepared by the German cook who is also co-owner of the resort.

The only big disappointment was that the internet connection was useless, even did not work. We understand that the resort has no fix line and all is going over the mobile net. However, this was not declared properly in the webpage. Therefore, we do not give an excellent rating.

The Tubotel can be recommended if you like a beautiful, romantic and cool place for a reasonable price. Keep in mind that the tubes are small and there is no bathroom in the tube.

Room Tip: If you like more space, take a square room. However, these have no sea view and are not so original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmarBacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
303 reviews
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
1.7 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Senari Bay Resort
Senari Bay Resort
#14 of 161 in Langkawi
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $24 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing