We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special concept hotel with really amazing seaview!”
Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #8 of 165 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a very special concept hotel! The seaview is amazingly nice and everything are so memorable. Very nice garden and love the outdoor seats..! Many table and benches there for you to sit down, drink and eat while admiring the seaview. And u can see airplane flying pass most of the time as it’s located near to the airport.
Breakfast was really tasty! Would love to try their pizza the next time when I go again…

Room: If you’re staying in the tube room, forget about space! That’s the special point about it! The bed was comfortable, air con is good. Everything in the room is good except the room’s wall and the smells of the room. The wall has some mould and the room smells of mould as well. Would be perfect if management can do some cleaning to it..

Bathroom: As stated on hotel description, all are shared bathroom. They have 2 sides that have toilet and shower room with quite a nos. of cubicles. The water heater is good and the shower room is very clean.

Staff: Jamie is very friendly and helpful and he’ll personally show you to your room during check in! The owner looks fierce, but…. He was actually very helpful and nice, just doesn’t really smile.

Simply love everything here….! A very quiet and good place to relax and chill.. Felt so wasted that we didn’t spent more time here as we check in quite late and check out very early.. Would definitely go back the next time!

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are more inside to have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fancyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

many thanks for your detailed review.

btw, the owners smiles sometime,.... nest regards and merry christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Did an impromptu trip to Langkawi and stumbled upon this hotel on Agoda. I arrived on a Thursday night. The road leading to the hotel was quite dark with no streetlights.

One of the team, Jamie, was really attentive during my check-in and was kind enough to still prepare me dinner when I requested for it (at 9pm) eventhough the kitchen is closed at 8pm. I loved the calm and quiet scenery at the tables outside the reception/restaurant.

On Friday, I decided to go for a short run along the long stretch of road outside the hotel. The view of the majestic Mount Mat Cincang as the sun rises simply made my day.

I checked out at about 10am on Saturday and had breakfast. The breakfast that I chose (a la carte menu), beef frittata, was simply awesome. The plan was to watch a friend at a paintball tournament next to the airport before my flight at 5pm.

That plan got cancelled when the hotel owner (Alex? Correct me if I'm wrong) decided to gather some people to go on a beach cleaning trip at the north of Rebak Island. The trip was free in exchange of a full bag of rubbish collected on the island. Depending on the day (and weather perhaps), they can go to other islands too aside from Rebak Island. I had so much fun! Made me want to extend my stay. ;)

Since it's not situated at the main road, best to hail a cab to the nearest beach, Pantai Cenang or rent a car/motorcycle. They have a house bicycle for rental too. It's free with a RM50 deposit. Or you can opt for a mountain bike for RM15/day.

To conclude, Tubotel offered me that homey feeling and I wouldn't mind staying here again. I fully recommend this hotel if you're up for a quiet and relax environment. If you're looking for an all-day activities around you, Pantai Cenang is the place to go.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank GnetDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

hello

thank u for helping us clean up the beach. we are happy u njoyed it at tubotel and hope ur friend did well in the paintball competition.

ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Tubotel and loved it: the view from the sea-facing tube is stunningly beautiful!
Other good points:
-breakfast was delicious with lots of options
-the bar area had a nice design and was great for chilling out, there is also a free pool table
-most staff were friendly and allowed us to check in early
-free towels, cups, tea and coffee provided in the tube

Space for luggage was a bit limited, but that's part of the design concept!
Renting a motorbike or car would be useful for most people. the closest beach is probably 15 mins walk away, and the nicer beaches are a bit further.

I would definitely would recommend Tubotel to others, a very memorable experience!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Savi6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

thank u, next time let us know we can call for a motorbike or car for u.

motorbike is rm 35 and car from rm 80 per 24 hours.

ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for the weekend. We got the seaside rooms which we loved. The sunset view is amazing here! Do stay for the sunset. Our rooms were interesting, but there was a slight smell. Not sure if it was just our unit only but other than that we had a great experience. Breakfast was reaaallllyyyy good. The staff were polite and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean and we loved the overall design of the facility. Overall we had a good time and enjoyed our stay.
The only thing is that it was a little far from Pantai Cenang, so it would be good if you got your own transport/rent a bike/scooter/car to get around.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are a little sunny during the day but great in the evening! I would choose the seaview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

thank u for ur kind words.

i agree being closer to chenang would be convinient for shopping or water sports, but the peace and quiet as we have it at tubotel is also nice if u just want to chill.

ciao and thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed there with my girlfriend for just one night. Unfortunately. We loved it very much! The Hotel is very extraordinary! There are spectacular views of the sea and sunset from the room. Staff is very polite, friendly and funny! It is located quite far from Pantai Cenang on artificial pier (peninsula) so I suggest you rent a bike or scooter to go outside and hang out in the city when you need it.

Room Tip: Sea view tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

thank u for ur compliments, i will pass it on to the staff.

ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at Tubotel to inspect the facilities with the idea of staying a few nights after reading tripadvisor reviews ,but to my disappointment we were meet by the owner who i got the impression was not overly happy to see us .We tried to order breakfast and coffee and only received coffee which was virtually thrown on the table with a few rude mumbled comments to chew on.Pleasant outlook but surrounded by a worksite , i would recommend the senari bay resort which is just behind with its own private beach and the family that run it are fantastic and could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: seaview rooms would be great if you dont want to spread out and dont mind living on top of each othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

thank for the review, we have a no outside guest policy, to ensure a quiet and peaceful environment for guest staying at tubotel.

i am the owner and do not remember u, what a shame, i would have given u the royal tour of the resort.

too bad we didint even meet.

ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after seeing the great reviews and weren't disappointed. The tubes are great fun and the views from the sea view front tube are amazing. The whole place is beautiful and the breakfasts are very good. The showers and toilets were clean and as described. The manager was really helpful including helping us arrange moped hire and a snorkelling trip. It's a total retreat here and don't know how there could be any negative reviews based on our experience here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footprints_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

thank u for ur kind word.

save travels, ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
316 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.6 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.7 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Senari Bay Resort
Senari Bay Resort
#13 of 165 in Langkawi
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $25 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing