We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our tube! ”
Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #8 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved our tube! ”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Tubotel and loved it: the view from the sea-facing tube is stunningly beautiful!
Other good points:
-breakfast was delicious with lots of options
-the bar area had a nice design and was great for chilling out, there is also a free pool table
-most staff were friendly and allowed us to check in early
-free towels, cups, tea and coffee provided in the tube

Space for luggage was a bit limited, but that's part of the design concept!
Renting a motorbike or car would be useful for most people. the closest beach is probably 15 mins walk away, and the nicer beaches are a bit further.

I would definitely would recommend Tubotel to others, a very memorable experience!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Savi6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
thank u, next time let us know we can call for a motorbike or car for u.

motorbike is rm 35 and car from rm 80 per 24 hours.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    102
    42
    9
    9
See reviews for
6
112
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for the weekend. We got the seaside rooms which we loved. The sunset view is amazing here! Do stay for the sunset. Our rooms were interesting, but there was a slight smell. Not sure if it was just our unit only but other than that we had a great experience. Breakfast was reaaallllyyyy good. The staff were polite and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean and we loved the overall design of the facility. Overall we had a good time and enjoyed our stay.
The only thing is that it was a little far from Pantai Cenang, so it would be good if you got your own transport/rent a bike/scooter/car to get around.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are a little sunny during the day but great in the evening! I would choose the seaview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
thank u for ur kind words.

i agree being closer to chenang would be convinient for shopping or water sports, but the peace and quiet as we have it at tubotel is also nice if u just want to chill.

ciao and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed there with my girlfriend for just one night. Unfortunately. We loved it very much! The Hotel is very extraordinary! There are spectacular views of the sea and sunset from the room. Staff is very polite, friendly and funny! It is located quite far from Pantai Cenang on artificial pier (peninsula) so I suggest you rent a bike or scooter to go outside and hang out in the city when you need it.

Room Tip: Sea view tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
thank u for ur compliments, i will pass it on to the staff.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at Tubotel to inspect the facilities with the idea of staying a few nights after reading tripadvisor reviews ,but to my disappointment we were meet by the owner who i got the impression was not overly happy to see us .We tried to order breakfast and coffee and only received coffee which was virtually thrown on the table with a few rude mumbled comments to chew on.Pleasant outlook but surrounded by a worksite , i would recommend the senari bay resort which is just behind with its own private beach and the family that run it are fantastic and could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: seaview rooms would be great if you dont want to spread out and dont mind living on top of each othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
thank for the review, we have a no outside guest policy, to ensure a quiet and peaceful environment for guest staying at tubotel.

i am the owner and do not remember u, what a shame, i would have given u the royal tour of the resort.

too bad we didint even meet.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after seeing the great reviews and weren't disappointed. The tubes are great fun and the views from the sea view front tube are amazing. The whole place is beautiful and the breakfasts are very good. The showers and toilets were clean and as described. The manager was really helpful including helping us arrange moped hire and a snorkelling trip. It's a total retreat here and don't know how there could be any negative reviews based on our experience here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprints_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
thank u for ur kind word.

save travels, ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved my stay here! A perfect place if you want to get away from the city and enjoy the sea view. Breakfast was wonderful, Frittatas is a must try when you're here. Read a book, enjoy the breeze by the day bed and play along with the wonderful cats they have there! Do remember to rent a car or a motorcycle for RM35 a day because you'll need it to go around Pantai Cenang, walking is fine but there will be a distance. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay, I will definitely go back again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiashinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks for ur kind words.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay here although it was only for a night. Will definitely come back again next time.

We booked for the rooms facing the sea and prior to arrival called the owner Mr. Alex to reconfirm the booking and ensure everything was perfect for our weekend getaway. He was very friendly and helpful and made sure everything was ok. Noted the check-in time was 2pm but they allowed us for early check-in and we appreciated it very much. What a lovely and warm hospitality.

The view from the room and hotel grounds are amazing! Especially love the view of sunset from our room which is breathtaking. And also the fact that you get to have your breakfast by the sea. It is very relaxing. They have a few selection of ala carte breakfast which tastes really good. Try their beef frittata, its delicious.

The room is comfortable enough for 2 person with air-conditioner and a fan while the toilet and bathroom although is sharing, it is well kept and very clean.

This is a perfect place for a getaway. Will definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseanfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thanks for ur kind words.

it sounds like you had a great stay with ur girlfriend.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.1 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#5 of 145 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Property: Tubotel
Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing