We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #8 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arrived at Tubotel to inspect the facilities with the idea of staying a few nights after reading tripadvisor reviews ,but to my disappointment we were meet by the owner who i got the impression was not overly happy to see us .We tried to order breakfast and coffee and only received coffee which was virtually thrown on the table with a few rude mumbled comments to chew on.Pleasant outlook but surrounded by a worksite , i would recommend the senari bay resort which is just behind with its own private beach and the family that run it are fantastic and could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: seaview rooms would be great if you dont want to spread out and dont mind living on top of each othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
thank for the review, we have a no outside guest policy, to ensure a quiet and peaceful environment for guest staying at tubotel.

i am the owner and do not remember u, what a shame, i would have given u the royal tour of the resort.

too bad we didint even meet.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    102
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
109
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after seeing the great reviews and weren't disappointed. The tubes are great fun and the views from the sea view front tube are amazing. The whole place is beautiful and the breakfasts are very good. The showers and toilets were clean and as described. The manager was really helpful including helping us arrange moped hire and a snorkelling trip. It's a total retreat here and don't know how there could be any negative reviews based on our experience here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprints_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
thank u for ur kind word.

save travels, ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved my stay here! A perfect place if you want to get away from the city and enjoy the sea view. Breakfast was wonderful, Frittatas is a must try when you're here. Read a book, enjoy the breeze by the day bed and play along with the wonderful cats they have there! Do remember to rent a car or a motorcycle for RM35 a day because you'll need it to go around Pantai Cenang, walking is fine but there will be a distance. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay, I will definitely go back again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiashinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
thanks for ur kind words.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay here although it was only for a night. Will definitely come back again next time.

We booked for the rooms facing the sea and prior to arrival called the owner Mr. Alex to reconfirm the booking and ensure everything was perfect for our weekend getaway. He was very friendly and helpful and made sure everything was ok. Noted the check-in time was 2pm but they allowed us for early check-in and we appreciated it very much. What a lovely and warm hospitality.

The view from the room and hotel grounds are amazing! Especially love the view of sunset from our room which is breathtaking. And also the fact that you get to have your breakfast by the sea. It is very relaxing. They have a few selection of ala carte breakfast which tastes really good. Try their beef frittata, its delicious.

The room is comfortable enough for 2 person with air-conditioner and a fan while the toilet and bathroom although is sharing, it is well kept and very clean.

This is a perfect place for a getaway. Will definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseanfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thanks for ur kind words.

it sounds like you had a great stay with ur girlfriend.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love it!
The view, the breakfast, the calm atmosphere, the cleanness of everything!
A/C and a fan were available in my unit.

The only thing I regret I did not book more than one day.
I will definitely book again with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thank u for ur nice words.

please come back anytime u like, stay longer.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the tubotel for 3 nights and we did not regret staying here
Pro: the staff is friendly and helpful
You can have a bike. Since the hotel is located right next to the ocean but not that close to the main road, it was really great that you can use those bikes. Otherwise we would have had to walk 30 min to get anywhere.
There are enough parking spots, and if I ever come back again I will definitely rent a car, because on the whole island it is very helpful not having to worry how to get back to the hotel.
The idea to stay in tubes is really nice. The bed is big enough for two, but the only problems is the place for the bags. You have to put them under the bed, but that is a little uncomfortable if you have two bags, because the second is way under the bed and not really easy to get out. The air conditioner works perfectly well, besides being a little loud.
The whole hotel is really nice, and they are still renovating and building new things. The view from the tubes is awesome, because you are literally next to the ocean. It is also clean and the breakfast is really good. You can choose what to eat and if the cook is around the choice is quite big. There are common shared toilets and showers, but that was okay, because there were enough so you never had to wait. You had to walk there though, and the water pressure was not that high, but that is normal for hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elias1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thanks for ur feedback, hope u can come back to enjoy the improved washrooms and water pressure.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights after read the reviews from Tripadvisor. The owner Alex was friendly and i email him directly and he did gave me special discount and reserved a room with nice sea view for me :) Thanks Alex...

I enjoyed my stay over there as it has a superb sea view and really had a relaxing holidays over there.

If really want to talk about the weakness i would say its their shared bathroom. I do know its a shared bathroom but i never expected its shared between men and women. And moreover its quite dark so found a bit scary and spooky if going to toilet and shower alone. Besides bathroom, another issue will be the meals issue. Their pizza is not bad but other than pizza there was nothing they can offer if you do not have any transport to go out for your meals or if you are not intend to go out from there. So prepare some foods or instant cup noodle if you don't wish to take pizza everyday when you are there and not intend to go out like me. But their pizza and bread was really not bad.

Overall, if you are looking for a place to relax, being alone and enjoy your holiday with nice sea view then its still a good choice if you are ok to stay in a tube room with limited moving space. But what i like the most is i can enjoy the sea view just right infront of me after i open the door and just lie down in my room reading books, listening to the sea wave and enjoying the sea breeze. What a wonderful place to recharge and and relax.

Keep it up Tubotel !!! I will definitely be back there again! Hope will see some improvement in the future. See ya...

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMeizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
thanks for ur feedback. we have since improved the toilets with solid doors. the water heaters have pressure pumps and we have not finished improving yet, currently working on the installation of indivitual water tanks for each shower. ....... give mw 2 month and u will be amazed how much better we have become. the toilets will stay unisex,... both everyone has there own stall that can be locked.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 20 in Pantai Cenang
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.1 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 140 in Langkawi
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Property: Tubotel
Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing