We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View.....!!”
Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #8 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect View.....!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Tubotel, place is quite hard to reach, surely need to rent a car if u roaming in the night. Location at Pantai Cenang, but not walk-able to the beach. Room is different and nice, but dont have space for changing and put you stuffs... View is super n great worth the price we paid for, very near to airport. Great For backpackers or couple who wana relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast is free, which u need to order from the menu, i neva thought the food cud be so awesome. thumbs up!! chilling area beside the coffee house is gud except for raining :D The only thing is, shower and toiolet is sharing based, me and husband always came back late night to room after roaming arround... toilet turns out to be so scary at night since its too quiet and there is no door for shower, only a curtain kind which is abit awkward. Overall trip was nice :D

Room Tip: Ask for seafront view, best view ever... room is tube shape and awesome view with AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P.Varshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
hello

sorry it is quiet and peaceful at nite. but there is always a guard on premise. langkawi is a very safe place. hope u come back sometime.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    42
    9
    12
See reviews for
7
118
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here in the end of Feb/March for 5 nights. Loved every second. Like ultra comfy camping! And the sunset views are so good! I would definitely return. The food is good the people are nice and it's very relaxed. Free bicycle rental is a nice touch. Loved it here. I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James86mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
hello
thank u for ur comments.

we are happy that u where happy.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I came here on 12 MAY alone for 7D6N trip. The owner of the hotel Alex and the staffs (especially KM) were very friendly and helpful. Although the room was small and the bathroom was shared but the good attitude of the staff and the excellent location of the hotel did not stop me for loving this hotel. I would recommend you to stay in this hotel if you want to capture beautiful sunset (pls refer to the pic i attach which took by me). Although the chance that I return to langkawi for holiday trip is quite low but I will definitely choose tubotel again if I go langakwi again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weidong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
how is ur handphone, hope u got it repaired or bought a new one.

thank u for ur review, have a great time in singapore.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

this hotel is located at Pantai Cenang. Neaby the hotel is either 5 star resort or Family run guest house. Tubotel will be the special one hence not that pricey. I will say this hotel is a 3 star hotel even the bath room is shared and without a swimming pool. we have booked the sea view deluxe room, the queen-size bed is set inside the tube that come with aircon, queensize bed, fan and other basic compliment item. The view from room, that is a 5 star sea view. 

But, location wise, Tubotel don’t have easy access from commercial area, the only way is by car. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, but we never have a chance to try out their food. Please packed some food with you if you lazy to travel far for food. 1 KM drive from Tubotel, there will be the busy street in Pantai Cenang, where you can get all kind of restaurants, shops and bars.

In overall, me and my friend love this hotel. A very special experience for us to stay inside a tub that come with sea view.  we will definitely come back again to Tubotel for longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiChin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank u for ur compliments,

we understand there is a building project behind tubotel for the local fishermen jetty.

however once u enter the resort u can not see the construction anywhere and it is not noisy.

hopefully by ur next visit u can enjoy the conveniences the new jetty will bring.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spend 3 days 2 nights here in May and I have to say I was blown away...The room was so nice and it fit for two...do not expect much as the room have no space for you to walk around....I love the wall painting and colour of the room so much...Staff are very welcoming and waiters are pleasant..especially thanks to Mr. Mk... Breakfast was super excellent and there was plenty of choice...
Unfortunately, the hotel is quite far from Cenang Beach...if you don't have any transport..then it might be lil' trouble for you because at night along that street is quite dark and you might see lots of cow/ buffalo on the street....
Overall it was a very pleasant stay and a place that I would look to return to on my next trip to Langkawi..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
wow, u liked it at tubotel,

that's great.

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My first time travel to Langkawi, I stayed at Tubotel for 2 days. It was an amazing experience so far. Tubotel located at the very end of Pantai Chenang. You will feel yourself very closed to the sky and the sea.... It is a perfect place to escape yourself from the city life. King, the supervisor in tubotel is very friendly, he will guide you and assist you whenever you need! A secret place that you would not want to share widely! :)

Room Tip: Sear view room are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschuanyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thank u for your compliments.

but please do not keep it too much of a secret, as we have 13 more tubes under construction and want to fill them with guest

many thanks

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place has awesome potential, the tubes are a super cool place to stay, albiet very small. This is a great step up if you are looking for something a little nicer than a dorm bed in a backpackers. Its set out of town away from the hustle and bustle of the beach street of langkawi but its a very easy bike ride into town and there is free bike rental (depsit required). Don't expect much of the staff, although they are friendly, there isn't much comunication from them (maybe language barrier). You don't get told anything on check-in so making friendly with the other guests is a great way to find out info about the hotel. We had to ask everything from where to get drinking water to what time breakfast runs. Alex the owner is a good source of information however isn't always around and isn't always approachable. The seaview tubes are really cool, beautiful view but no room inside to store a decent amount of luggage comfortably. The gareen view rooms don't look onto any gardens, only what looks like an abandoned building lot, not recommended. The girls at bar make a wicked mango mojito and candles are lit around the resort each night giving a great atmosphere. Would recommend it to stay but don't expect more than you would for a backpackers. Suitable for singles or young couples.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
sorry u did not get the assistance u needed.

we take your feedback serious and work on improving tubotel.

thank u for your comments.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Property: Tubotel
Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing