We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale camping - in a tube.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tubotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tubotel
Ranked #7 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale camping - in a tube.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Know this: you are essentially signing up for upscale camping. If you don't like camping, don't stay here, if you do like camping read on, this may be your place.

The best part is the view - it is truly beautiful. The view alone accounts for 1 star. The airport is nearby so you can sit up late at night and watch the planes make a wide bank over the ocean to land.

So we were really excited about this concept hotel and looked forward to our Tube experience. The Tubes are of course tiny, and if you book a double bed, you get two twins pushed together. That's fine and normal for SE Asia. The beds are OK. Don't pack a lot because the space under the bed isn't particularly large or easy to get stuff in/out of.

The shared bathrooms is probably the worst part of this place - for the amount of money they put into the marketing video, I wish they had spent more on shower heads, ensuring hot water and water pressure would be adequate, and nicer facilities in general. Some of the toilet doors didn't have locks, you never knew which one would have toilet paper, and some showers had soap and some didn't. They are shared bathrooms as advertised.

The included breakfast was delicious, and we ate pizza a couple times and it was tasty too. The food/beverage selection is minimal but reasonably priced given Langkawi's touristy nature.

Bring bug spray. They don't provide mosquito nets and don't have screens on the doors/windows. There will be mosquitoes, especially while you sleep. Also, without AC, it will get pretty hot in the tubes. The fan is helpful, but if it's not a breezy night, expect some hot stuffiness.

The staff was courteous and helpful. The seating area was very chill and well designed. We didn't partake in the seawater jacuzzis but other guests seemed to enjoy them.

The "included" bikes for use are squeaky disasters, and the effort put into one pedal forward will make you sweat. The location is a 15 min ride to town and 10 min to the beach if you don't have a car or scooter. If bikes/walking are your only transport (like they were for us), enjoy the heat.

Overall, an interesting idea that could be improved upon but had some nice points. It was clean, safe, and had a great view, but was lacking in bathroom facilities, location, and functional bikes.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $7 USD/night on the AC. Not just for the temperature, but mostly for the reduction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rioderbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
thank you for your detailed review.

as we cater for young guests, there is rough handling on doors and fittings, it is a constant repair job.
thanks again for your feedback, we have since repaired what was broken, and upgraded to more air-conditioned units, do to guest requests.
save travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
6
109
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Breath-taking beauty and timelessness are the effects of the TubOtel Langkawi, Malaysia. 360 degree views of exotic paradise envelope you. The turquoise sea spreads out before you like a velvety carpet leading your eyes straight out to the nearby Rebak islands part of the Langkawi Geopark, an archipelago of more than 99 islands, and then to your right are the mountains whose tops draw the silhouette of reclining faces. Your inward journey takes on a whole new meaning here undisturbed by any element of the world we know. Like turning back the hands of time this adorable place allows you to invest time in the pleasure of enjoying the peace and quiet we all desire on a vacation. The truly unique rooms w/fan and ac are round tubes of concrete each with secure doors and windows that allow you to see the stars in the sky. There are also traditional rectangular rooms if circles make you dizzy. Hahaha. Really, I was amazed the first night I noticed that I could lay inside my cozy tube and see the stars twinkling back at me. Wow how magical. I have never stayed in a place where I could lay on my bed and see the stars at night. Have you? Each tube/room sweetly holds an original wall art mural painted by William Shaw and his partner Charlotte Suckling making the tube/room a very fresh and inspiring experience. I recommend you to view each and every tube to see each of the wall mural illustrations.
The kitchen serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is nothing less than gourmet standard. My favorite vege omlette or Vegetarian Frittata as it is called on the menu was never the same, artfully created and cooked to perfection served w/home-made baked bread [baked here on the premises]; it is completely scrumptious. Nothing like crispy, toasted, home baked bread smeared with butter to comfort the heart..mmmmm good. The TubOtel is a family run operation; a child friendly place as the families’ two adorable children appear now and then to capture your heart w/their cute and smart natures. And the staff is all about heartfelt smiles and attention; just what we look for in a vacation spot.
Go out on to the large wooden deck to slumber on one of king size day beds, or use the tables and chairs for a morning coffee and connect to the free wifi, or take a relaxing dip in one of the three salt water Jacuzzi style round pools. Comfortably seated in a salt water tub/pool under the stars at night you’ll never forget the experience. Breath in the fresh air that couldn’t be better on the whole of the island surcharged w/ionized oxygen wafting off the huge expanse of the sea around you. The skyscapes here are just to die for. Be it during the day, sunrise, sunset or at night the huge canvas of sky unfettered by anything, paints a masterpiece every moment w/the passing clouds and colors of the day.
Hey I know this sounds over the top but it is really like this. Bikes are available to take a quick ride into Pantai Cenang for all your shopping desires and enjoy the ride along the lime green rice paddy fields dotted w/wooden houses and grazing water buffalo. You never had such a nice ride in your life passing over a quaint bridge that crosses the canal where all the local people dock their fishing boats. Great for photos; make sure you have enough memory on your digital camera to capture and share these scenes forever. You may easily forget to return home staying here at the TubOtel as the surrounding nature erases your memory of all the mind viruses and reboots your operating system to download heaps of incredible applications to install into a fresh new hard drive. Whoa this is what I call a 50,000 mile tune-up. You just got to try it once before you die.

Room Tip: the tubes are the best for perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrtvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
wow, what a nice and long review. we are happy that u enjoyed urself at tubotel. after this review travellers will expect to arrive in paradise,....

tubotel is a unique budget hotel with amazing views.

ciao and many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my sixth time in Langkawi. I searched for hotels in Agoda and found this new and unique concept. Tubotel is located about five minutes drive from Cenang beach. I stayed there for two nights. The first night I stayed in a tube. It's a unique experience and the room only has a fan. But trust me, it's not hot at all. The sea view is nice and it's very windy. I also love the breakfast they served. Alex, his wife and the staff did a great job maintaining the hotel. The second night I stayed in a square room which has aircond and bigger space to store luggage and few things I bought in Langkawi. Overall I was very happy and satisfied during my stay at the hotel. Will surely come back in the future.

Room Tip: Choose room number 1 - 8 for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khai2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
thank u for your detailed review.

hope u had a good flight back to kl.

just some info for ur net trip to tubotel.
in the near future we will provide bicylcles for free to every guest that orders at our website, this will help sort for transportation problems in the future.
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great value for money! I love the view so much. As an avid photographer, I love this place as I can take sunset & sunrise photo just by staying at this unique design hotel. Staying at this hotel became my nearest sleep to the beach ever. I opened the door and sleep. Very windy & I love it!

Room Tip: Choose the TUBE number 1-6 facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sultanmuzaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
hello

many thanks for your kind words, even during ur stay we had some of the worst storms.
the sunglasses u forgot in ur room have been send to u.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

As anyone visiting langkawi will know, there are a plethora of hotels offering all sorts of wonderful experiences for tourists and travellers alike. Tubotel is close to chenang beach but far enough away to avoid the pushy beach sales people and overcrowded stretch of sound. We booked for 4 nights and were coming from different parts fo the world (Melbourne and Edinburgh) so arrived at vastly different times. The only difficulty encountered was that this place is so new the taxi drivers were unsure of the exact spot (ask for lankawi boat key!) From the moment of arrival just before the sun set I was greeted by the Friendly owners Alex and his wife. I needed to rent a car at very short notice to pick up the better half from the airport and was able given all the help I could have asked for to make this happen. The 'better half' is used to the finer things in life and was slightly cautious before booking, a precaution that was not needed, the bright simple and cosy tube rooms are always clean, the service was fantastic throughout our stay and the location is excellent (so much so that instead of moving to somewere much more expensive later in our stay we rebooked here!)
Make sure you go for an early morning swim in the bay and a cocktail in the sea water jacuzzis in the afternoon.
As someone who has travelled extensively in most continents it really is a breath of fresh air to return to an often overcrowded and unrelaxed spot such as langkawi and have the pleasure of finding this jem.
Finally for previous comments related to bugs in someones room: Surely leaving lights and doors/windows open in the evening during monsoon season whilst next to the water is a ridiculous thing to do. I feel sorry for the management that a complaint was even made, yet I suppose that blaming your mistake on the management all over this review site ha smade you feel better.
I look forward to returning to tubotel in the future

Room Tip: The best rooms are no,1 to no,8. If travelling in a group, ask for rooms together to enhance privavc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onebiglookaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
hello

hope u had a great road trip in europe and everyone is save.

many thanks for ur kind words.

regards to the boss.

ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tubotel is one of the concept hotels that I stayed in. The room is rather small and stuffy, but the patio right outside of the cafeteria has a breathtaking view. Toilets are clean, food and drinks are reasonably priced.

The stay at tubotel could have been a wonderful experience if our holiday-mood had not been ruined. I was disappointed by the way the management handled our problem as much as I was by how the management replied to our reviews. "Customers are always right", I believe this is a crucial quote that all hotel managers or owners should keep in mind - customers may be wrong, but respond to their requests or complaints in a way that you would to someone who is right, and that is what customer service is about. 

I would have to give this hotel a bad rating. The extent of satisfaction of a traveler's journey is very much related to the people s/he meet, unfortunately we met Bad Customer Service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PinaColadaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
thank u too, to write about the same incident as ur friend (bad customer service). 4th time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are looking for a unique place to stay then this is the ideal hotel. We stayed in a tube and had an amazing view overlooking the sea. The sunset is the best in Langkawi - especially when having a beer in the mini pools. Its not a far walk over the bridge to Chenang beach where most of the bars are but the restaurant on site is worth stopping in for one night anyway.

The service was excellent and Alex was extremely helpful in getting us laundry, motorbike, taxi etc and anything else we needed.

I would definately recommend this to travellers with an open mind looking for something new!

Room Tip: Tubes are obviously warmer than the air con cubes but the view and character is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubotel, Owner at Tubotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
many thanks for your kind words about tubotel. we wish u a save journey and all the best.
'
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.1 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubotel

Property: Tubotel
Address: Jetty Pelancongan Chenang | Kuala Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tubotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing