We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place but after 15 yrs, its really time for room make over....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place but after 15 yrs, its really time for room make over....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Don't get me wrong. I stand by the fact this is a great resort. So much so my wife and I choose it as our honeymoon destination 7 yrs ago.

Beautiful resort setting, picturesque beach with nearby limestone islands and top notch service that makes this a unique resort experience even by Langkawi standard. The food is still great especially the awesome array of breakfast selections at The Sand. Not an easy feat considering Langkawi probably has the highest density of 5-star resorts in Malaysia.

However, I think its timely that they should consider a more stylish room make over as this is probably the more jarring indicator of what used to be a great room but its room offering has since surpassed by most rcompetitors of this category. And despite the management's best effort to maintain the rooms in the best condition, its not hard to notice its wearing down.

I hope Tanjung Rhu will be able to reinvent itself as a clear leader of its class in Langkawi

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CutiCutiTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    275
    62
    29
    37
See reviews for
261
698
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Overall very poor value. The Saffron Restaurant (mediterranean cuisine) by the beach has a nice atmosphere but the dreadful band need to go back to the Phillipines. The Rhu Restaurant took fine dining too far, the portions being tiny and very expensive. The all inclusive deal cost £45 per person and was for food and soft drinks only but it was worth paying that way. The staff (predominantly indonesian) were extremely courteous, friendly and efficient. Disabled vegetarians are not catered for. If you're looking for Malaysia - it's not here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We went there for a quick getaway for 2 nights. We took the all inclusive package which comes with accommodation and unlimited food & beverage. The normal standard room is equivalent to a basic suite in other hotels. A living room separated with a TV console from the bedroom. However, room needs upgrading and refurbishment soon. Huge bathroom with a tub, separate shower and his and hers amenities. You will be spoilt with the choices of F&B outlets. The package also includes room service and mini bar! They have three swimming pool which one is strictly for adults. The fine dining rest is worth a try as they offer lobsters! Very quiet and romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catwoman21_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here end of Dec-mid Jan. We last came at the same time of year in 2005 and it's a real shame that nothing has changed since then. It's such a beautiful location, the staff are excellent and the food is fantastic, I just wish they would take the feedback their customers have given about the general shabbiness - everyone was saying the same things. Whilst it's still immaculately clean, they need to replace things instead of just repairing them as they have been. The boards around the pool are rotting away and feel like they will collapse when you walk on them; the tables and chairs are falling apart in the Sands restaurant; the towels in the room and around the pool need replacing; and the sunbeds are old and not as comfortable as they could be. I also found the mattress on the bed a little thin/ Having said all this, you soon start to overlook the flaws because the place is so tranquil and relaxing. The staff are lovely and really helpful - I was ill when we arrived and they arranged for us to have a room on a lower floor and they also accomodated my dustmite allergy by replacing all the feather pillows and giving an extra clean. Because we got on well with the staff, they made sure we always had table bookings and they even gave me a cake and flowers on my birthday! The food really is excellent, we never had one bad meal. Each restaurant and pool has their own menu so there's plenty to choose from (my faves were tempura prawns at the Reading Room, crispy lemon chicken at Sands, and twice-baked gruyere cheese and caramelised onion souffle at the Rhu) and we went all-inclusive so it was excellent value. We'd recommend paying a bit extra to have a BBQ on the beach, where you have your own chef and waiter - heaven! I had a massage at the spa - the massage itself was lovely but again, it needs refurbished. We would definitely go back if they refurbished the place, but the management had apparently promised to do this for the last 2 years so we'll keep an eye on their website!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classyluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

I traveled with my Fiance, my 13 year old daughter and my future in laws. We arrived at Langkawi Airport and were greeted by 2 MPV's. The driver's offered us cool face towels and cold bottles of water. After a 20 minute drive we pulled up to The Tanjung Rhu. Our cases were taken directly to our rooms and we followed with a member of staff who informed us of the facilities at The Tanjung Rhu. Once in our room, which was not only huge, but spotlessly clean, we opened our main balcony doors onto the most breathtaking view. If only we could wake up to that every morning! Room 501, if you're interested! We unpacked and got ready to hit the Sunset Pool, children are not allowed in the Sands Pool, but I have to say the Sunset Pool is amazing. There is a bar serving lunch, we were on the all inclusive option (a must with kids), the menu was limited, but the food was fantastic. The mocktails, Rhu Breeze, Diang Bunting & Strawberry Spider, to name just 3, were made with fresh fruit juices and were just the best. There was NEVER a shortage of loungers and towels were in abundance. The staff around this pool were charming, I cannot comment about the other 2 pools as we preferred the Sunset pool. Now the food! The Sands Restaurant offers a buffet and an A La Carte menu for Dinner & Lunch, you can actually have from both if you have room. The breakfast was bountiful. My daughter was especially impressed with the freshly made to order waffles. There was one member of staff here who made our holiday all the more enjoyable. His name was Sam. He took pride in the food that was served and the fact that they have Chefs from Japan, Malaysia, France & India. Their head man is in fact English and runs both kitchens in The Sands and in The Rhu. The Rhu Restaurant is just A La Carte and is again, amazing. You may have to wait for your food, but when it arrives, it is well worth it. The showmanship when your main course arrives is lovely. Again, the staff took so much pride in their food and level of service. I cannot praise this hotel enough and cannot wait to go back this year and celebrate New Year on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinge044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Visited the Tanjung Rhu Resort for the 4th time in Nov 2010. Most of the reviews say all there is to say so there is not point going over the same ground. It is a wonderful resort if you want peace, natural surroundings, fab views , good varied food and great staff. We have yet to be disappointed by any of our stays here. Arriving after really good flights from the UK with Qatar, it felt just like coming home.
For the 1st time we used the hotel’s own airport pick up rather than agent booked transfers. They were waiting for us with cold drinks and towels as we came through arrivals and whisked us straight off to the hotel. On arrival we were met by name by several of the management and reception staff and taken quickly to our room for check-in. A huge thank you from myself and my husband to the management staff who had arranged a room upgrade complete with beautiful flowers. I thought the Bayu rooms were huge; the Anjung rooms were absolutely fab.
There was a programme of upgrading the interior decor / furniture whilst we were there, but in no way did this work negatively impact on our stay. Talking to the management they are keen to carry out further building work but are concerned about the impact on their guests, and were looking at the possibility of closing in the short term to do more major renovations rather than risk distressing their guests with noise etc. Some of the guest comments from previous years including our own had been acted upon, which was good to see.
The staff (at all levels), as always, remain the resort’s best asset. We had a couple of little niggles whilst we were there but these were sorted very quickly with the minimum amount of fuss. It seems wrong to single out a few staff when everyone we came into contact had a smile, a hello and “is there anything i can do for you” approach but special thanks must go to Paska, Gedi and Samberi for their continuing attentiveness and high levels of service. Thanks also to Nani, Novita, Azhar, Bokhari, Dani and Ahmad.
If we have one problem it is with the equipment in the gym. It has had the same equipment for many years and some have broken parts even though they still work, which is potentially dangerous. It would be nice to see a new treadmill, bike and cross trainer or even good quality re-conditioned equipment. It is a small gym, not widely used so doesn’t need much, but for those of us mad / sad / desperate enough to want to go to the gym, improved equipment would make a big difference.
However we thoroughly enjoy our stays at Tanjung Rhu and start planning the next visit almost as soon as we come home. Can’t wait to go back in 2011. See you all soon. Glenn and Sam Davies

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We arrived on 30th December for 8 nights and stayed all inclusive in a Bayu Senja room. As others report, the AI is exceptional good value and the top floor rooms provide good views and a serious amount of room to spread out in albeit, if like us, you use all the room then spend the best part of several hours packing to come home because you can't find everything you brought! Note, these are four floors up with no lifts, plan what you need by the pool / beach otherwise you'll regret regular climbs back to the room in the heat.
The Rhu is the best restaurant, get a table upstairs to avoid being viewed by passers by in the resport. Otherwise we used Saffron as we don't care to much for buffets which you get at Sands. Again excellent choice and service delivery by staff.
Stayed around the Sands adult only pool (50m long, 1.6m ish deep throughout); very quiet with quality sun beds and drinks/ snacks delivery just by raising flag provided.
For what it's worth, the New Years Eve party on the beach was a cracking way to see in the new year and was a surprise in that it was fully AI all night (champagne, wine & alcohol provided) albeit at a supplementary charge for the full evening..
As for weather, the dry season was late and we experienced some rain and cloud but never cooler that 30C.
For the beach / sea; the views are fantastic and the sea was mirror smooth throughout the stay. You can easily pedalo / kayak to the rocks half a mile out to sea; it just fels like you are on a boating lake.
Would we go back, probably not. There's so many other places to see but we would have no hesitation recommending it for a relaxed and stunning location supported by the most friendly staff you could wish for (good luck Putra with you career plans to work on a P&O or Princess Cruises liner).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Plane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.4 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
13.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing