We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect pools”
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect pools”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel had magnificent pools and the rooms were superbly designed for maximum comfort. the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The food at the restaurant was something everyone should not give a miss when in Langkawi. The only downsize is the price of this hotel. The room rate is unbelievably high and the prices displayed at the restaurants is unbelievable to consider that this is Malaysia! Otherwise if it's affordable, this is a perfect hotel for vacation in Langkawi. The noise level due to the renovation works is also quite an annoyance sometimes but the debris is kept minimal.

Room Tip: Ensure that your rooms are not close to the renovation area or the noise can be a real nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Janelle J,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us.

We are saddened to know that you didn't enjoy some of your experience with us. We always endeavor to meet our guest expectations and ensure we deliver a memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback and noted among all concerned. We will look into details in the areas that have been highlighted.

On a brighter note, we are delighted you found our rooms were superbly designed for maximum comfort suite room and our pools are magnificent. Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that.

The feedback for our culinary service means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure the standard of food is the highest quality. We certainly will pass on your generous review to the team members.

We do hope you will return to Tanjung Rhu Resort again in future and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We will make sure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    282
    66
    31
    38
See reviews for
270
718
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing and quality holiday, in a beautiful destination, with excellent food, facilities and service, you can't go wrong. A wonderful experience. We were there while there were building works, which our booking agent did not tell us about (Expedia - avoid at all costs). This was disappointing, however, it was well managed and it did not take away from our holiday at all and there were free activities, such as tours each day to compensate. It was a peaceful place, away from the main towns on the island, but with easy access by cab - very cheap, if you wished to leave the luxury of the resort.
Unfortunately I did book with Expedia which was a dreadful experience. I was not confident to book directly with a hotel from another country, however, I would not hesitate in the future to book this hotel directly. All reception staff had excellent English and comprehension skills and were extremely efficient in the dealings that we had. We have been to Bali, Thailand and Hawaii. This is the only place that i would like to return to. We went as a couple, but would like to return with our adult children or some friends.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a lovely garden outlook. I had hoped for upstairs or ocean view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorch C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Scorch C,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us. Your wonderful review means a lot to us all.

Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our complimentary activities.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Tanjung Rhu Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with your adult children and some friends.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Langkawi twice and I can say I would not recommend another resort:
Beach is amazing, the best you can get in Langkawi;
I am not a pool person but the pools are absolutely astonishing;
Rooms are being upgraded to a great standard and are comfy and spacious;
Food is very good and not as expensive as you could expect at a 5* resort;
Alcohol is very reasonably priced as well and a pleasant surprise;
Staff are friendly and helpful

What more can I say? We will definitly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuxa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Tuxa21,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us. Your wonderful review means a lot to us all.

Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Tanjung Rhu Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The resort currently undergoing major renovation but it does not spoil a wonderful experience of the guest. The construction works being done during the day and the noise not heard from the room, pool, restaurant and the beach. We able to have a peaceful and relaxing days on the beach without any noises disruption.
Pros:
1. Private beach is huge and clean with ample beach chairs
2. Staff is courteous and informative
3. Delicious food serve at the restaurant. A bit pricey for Malaysian standard. Option - local restaurant at tanjung rhu public beach (walking distance through the back) nearby resort serve a good local meals with reasonable price
4. Many complementary activities offered due to renovation. We took the mangrove tour. 2 hours tour by the boat to the mangrove area and part of the river. Highlights - close encounter with monkeys in their natural habitat and eagle feeding. Very informative and fun. Recommended.
5. Room newly renovated. Big and luxurious

Cons:
Location far from Kuah town and happenings. But shuttle or taxi service can be arrange to visit other parts of langkawi.

Good for quiet and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Get the room facing seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ccsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ccsala,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us.

We are delighted you found our newly renovated suite room was big and luxurious. Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback and the ongoing renovation did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Thank you for pointing out our beautiful private beach. In fact, Tanjung Rhu Resort’s beachfront has the natural advantage of being strategically located on 2.5 kilometers of prime sandy white beach facing the warm waters of the Andaman Sea. Our locale promises only warm, calm waters, ideal for those desiring utter and complete relaxation.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that.

The feedback for our culinary service at our restaurants means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure the standards of food is the highest quality. We certainly will pass on your generous review to the team members.

In addition, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the Mangrove Tour. It is very informative and fun. Thank you for the recommendation.

We do hope you and your friends return to Tanjung Rhu Resort again in future and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We will make sure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Building works! Was there in June 2014 for a week. Looks like finishing date for renovations is about a year away. First impression as you get to reception on arrival: War Zone! The whole Northern Wing looks like it's been hit in a bombing raid. Electrical tools going from 9.00 to past 18.00. The builders can't help staring at the guests as they go past. Even caught one surreptitiously taking a photo of girls in bikinis.
Room did not have wifi, as promised. Worked pretty well from reception, though.
Beautiful swimming pool. Only problem, only one pool during works. So kiddies allowed in what is normally the adult pool. Dangerous for kids and annoying if you're looking for serenity.
In effect, there is only one place to eat at the moment. By the pool. Food excellent. Service so good it can actually be annoying. Waiting staff is very friendly, but have been trained to watch diners like hawks. They will swarm to your table the second you even look like finishing a course. They'll even interrupt your conversation to ask if they can remove your plate -even when your dining partner is still eating.
Overall, I would recommend the resort, but wait until the renovations are finished.

Room Tip: Test the wifi before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Eric L,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us.

We are saddened to know that you didn't enjoy some of your experience with us. We always endeavour to meet our guest expectations and ensure we deliver a memorable experience. We appreciate your feedback and noted among all concerned. We will look into details in the areas that have been highlighted.

On a brighter note, the feedback for our culinary service means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure the standards of food is the highest quality. We certainly will pass on your generous review to the team members.

We do hope you will return to Tanjung Rhu Resort again in future and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We will make sure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are expats from KL and came here for a relaxing getaway. We were aware that the resort was under renovation so were a bit worried before we arrived, but once we were there realised the renovations did not affect anybody whatsoever. Firstly got to our room which was HUGE and has just recently been renovated, it was lovely! The resort has its own beautiful private beach and breathtaking views and sunsets looking over to Thailand. We spent most of our time at the pool area, just so relaxing. A beautiful big pool that over looks the beach and plenty of room for everyone to swim without getting in each others way. The staff are so attentive and friendly, the best by far I have come across living in Malaysia, whether its ordering drinks by the pool or at breakfast or dinner time, they are always willing to help and make your stay as pleasant as possible. There are 3 restaurants to dine at all close by to one another, or you can dine by the pool and order from all 3. Delicious food, so much choice and all to a very high standard. Breakfast is delicious, a large buffet, the local favourites are a must try!!
Feel very happy and relaxed after our stay here, cant wait to come back after the renovations to enjoy the rest of what the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Natalie A,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your recent experience with us.

We are delighted you found our suite room was huge and lovely. Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback and the ongoing renovation did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Thank you for pointing out our beautiful big pool that over looks the beach, beautiful private beach, breathtaking views and sunsets looking over to Thailand. In fact, Tanjung Rhu Resort’s beachfront has the natural advantage of being strategically located on 2.5 kilometers of prime sandy white beach facing the warm waters of the Andaman Sea. Our locale promises only warm, calm waters, ideal for those desiring utter and complete relaxation.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that.

The feedback for our culinary service means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure your food is the highest quality. Therefore, we certainly will pass on your kind words to the team.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Tanjung Rhu Resort the next time you're in Langkawi.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's taken a while to review - I meant to but got sucked back into daily routine all too quickly!
We stayed during 3rd week of Feb just before hotel was to be closed for a final push on renovations. The resort was almost empty but the attentiveness of staff and availability of facilities and activities was not compromised. The beach is magnificent and the pools perfect - we preferred the family pool to the adult one despite our family being grown up but then there were hardly any other children staying. The restaurants were very good with Saffron particularly appealing.
We didn't feel the need to leave the resort apart from for a leisurely boat trip.
Escaping from the prolonged miserable weather in UK this was a slice of paradise...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear GBR21,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort as your family vacation and spending your time to write a review of your stay with us. Your wonderful review means a lot to us all.

Thank you very much for sharing such gracious feedback and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that.

Thank you for pointing out our swimming pools and our magnificent private beach. In fact, Tanjung Rhu Resort’s beach front has the natural advantage of being strategically located on 2.5 kilometers of prime sandy white beach facing the warm waters of the Andaman Sea. Our locale promises only warm, calm waters, ideal for those desiring utter and complete relaxation.

The feedback for the restaurants, Saffron particularly and our culinary service means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure your food is the highest quality.

We do hope you and your family return to Tanjung Rhu Resort again in future and we look forward to having you as our guest again. We will make sure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
11.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.4 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
13.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Property: Tanjung Rhu Resort
Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing