We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Studios - Well worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Valley of the Sun
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rainforest Studios - Well worth every penny!”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Before commencing on my review, let me add the disclaimer that my spouse and I stayed at one of the Rainforest Studios. Based on our experience with this particular room type, we are immensely satisfied with Berjaya Langkawi. In short, the Rainforest Studios are worth every single penny!

For the uninitiated, Rainforest Studios are refurbished Deluxe Chalet units. They knocked down the wall separating two Deluxe Chalets and turned it into one mega unit. In the process, they have rebuilt everything, resulting in essentially brand new rooms. These rooms are about 25 feet long by 20 feet wide and are classified as studios. They do not have kitchenettes, although you are probably not expecting this in a leisure resort anyway. Plus, there would be nothing for you to cook with in the immediate area.

The studio decor is pretty impressive, modern yet not garish. Simple and elegant. There is a king size bed, a small sitting area with coffee table and rattan weave sofas. Also worth mentioning is the standard mini safe for your passport and currency. There is a flat screen TV with local channels and a good selection of western ones (National Geographic, CNN, HBO, etc.) For those complaining about the lack of good channels, remember you are there to stay away from TV and spend some time outdoors.

The bathroom is impressive with a large bath tub, glass encased standing shower with two shower heads (a "waterfall" type that rains straight down on you and a normal multimode shower head that pivots). There is a central sink with a large mirror and a toilet bowl in the corner. Nowhere in the bathroom did we even seen a hint of mildew.

The room is cooled by a single air conditioning unit. When we first entered the room, the AC was off and the room was damp. After the AC has been on for a whole day, the room became less humid and the temperature maintained at a very comfortable 62 Fahrenheit. For some reason, our AC did not respond very well to temperature adjustments when powered on and we had to warm the room up by opening the windows. The window design is very well thought out with a mosquito screen that can be opened and shut when necessary. There are two central sliding doors to the balcony.

Overall, my spouse and I had a very comfortable time in the studio, blissfully shielded away from the jungle immediately outside. Speaking of outside, please be aware that you are in a jungle. Expect insects, monkeys and lizards. Anything less would be unnatural.

As the resort is pretty large, to get from the studio to the lobby, we typically would call for the complimentary 24 hour shuttle service. The shuttle responds pretty well to our summons and takes about 5 minutes after calling for them to get to the room. The ride is a mini adventure in itself as the drivers are pretty daring in navigating the narrow hilly resort roads. Walking will take about 5 minutes to get to the lobby.

The resort staff are all very friendly. The busboys and receptionists speak a decent amount of English; they can comprehend our American accents if we spoke slowly enough for them to process it. We got complimentary wine and cake as it was our honeymoon. Room service also left us little gifts and surprises to commemorate the occasion. We were very impressed by the hospitality.

The resort is very clean with a nice beach. Food is expensive, especially the all you can eat buffet Dayang Cafe. The buffet selection is very nice, with a nice mix of local ethnic and international foods. They had a different theme for every day of the night. Of particular note are the seafood BBQ and Malaysian food nights. The food is fresh and overall tasty.

Alcohol is expensive in the resort area. The Rimba Lounge charges about three times more than the nominal amount for alcohol. It is pretty quiet and a nice place to spend a relaxing evening though. If you want cheap alcohol to-go, get it from the Oriental Village (5 minute walk from resort front gate) or from Kuah town.

Anywhere else outside the resort is not really worth spending time in. Kuah was clean and had three shopping areas (Jetty Point, Langkawi Fair, Langkawi Parade). All three malls are pretty crappy when compared to what is offered in Singapore. On the other hand, goods are relatively cheap and duty free. Magnets, for some reason are extremely expensive. Key chains are much cheaper and fancier.

Pantai Cenang is -somewhat- not worth the effort. For some reason, trash is strewn everywhere along the main thoroughfare and the entire place smelled like sewage during daytime. There are lots of smallish stores selling the same wares and you can spend a good couple of hours bargain hunting. This is on the town side, the beach is an entirely different story. The sand is relatively clean, water is nice and lots of touristy things to do.

Once back at the Rainforest Studio in Berjaya though, you will be in a different world. The rainforest all around you with friendly smiling staff catering to your needs. The only thing to worry about will be that 15 Ringgit daily wireless internet fee for a "barely there" network. But who needs that when you are out on vacation to get away from it all?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CenturionMkV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,748
    549
    211
    140
See reviews for
1,237
2,444
80
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here. The 1st time was back in 2001.
On checking in we were asked to pay up front with RM$1000 which would be refunded when we checked out . I found this to be unusual. Other hotels and resorts I have stayed in have always taken the credit card details but not charged anything up until we checked out! We informed them that we preferred to settle up with cash at the end of our stay, so they said that was fine. We arrived at our chalet and within minutes came a knock at the door and a staff member had come to take away the mini bar contents! Bemused, insulted, embarrassed, common criminals, just a few thoughts that came to mind. We were'nt the only ones either to have this treatment .
The room was looking very dated and shabby, understandably they are slowly upgrading all of them so we were'nt too bothered. Try and get the single free standing chalets otherwise you may end up with noisy neighbours.
The aircon was old and noisy, the ceiling fan's slow setting was still too fast. The housekeeping team were very good and friendly as were the gardeners which is more than I can say about the staff in the main lobby and restaurant. The one saving grace was a lovely girl called Aida who seated us every morning at breakfast and brought my espresso to our table without me having to ask! In return for her hospitality I showed her how to make a Flat White coffee on their espresso machine and she said.."every morning I will try to make it better". Wow, and service with a smile! There were'nt too many smiles around from anywhere else!
The scenery around the grounds and wildlife is breathtaking. Do the free nature walk with Dev or Kieran. We did the evening one with Kieran and we came across flying lemurs, giant flying squirrells, bats, lizards etc. Nice chap too! We grew accustomed to seeing the Leaf eating Spectacled monkeys everyday, they are simply gorgeous.
The breakfast spread was quite average and was the same every day. We never had dinner at the resort as the local fare was much, much cheaper and the culinary experience more savouring. The food at the night markets were just delicious so be adventurous and give it a go. At least you can see them being cooked!
The resort had plenty of amenities if you're into blobbing around the resort. You had to pay for the use of the internet whereas most places now give you 20 minutes free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenswork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I'd like to start by reminding readers that is a 3-4 star resort. Some of the previous reviews seem to be unfairly evaluating the resort against 5 star standards. I would recommend staying at Berjaya if you are holidaying in Langawi because a) its the only resort with over-water accommodation - it was really wonderful to fall asleep listening to the sound of the water underneath your bed, b) it encorporates nature - if you are an animal lover this is the place for you c) for couples you have true privacy - because the resort is spread out you have a real sense of privacy and your own space, no neighbours to be heard or seen. Its difficult to get bored at this resort because it has many different dining options and well as activities so you can do as much or as little as you like. Having said that it is not five star, the resort is not new and yes it could do with a resort wide update. So stay here if you want a unique experience and you are happy to accept 4 star standards but don't stay if you have five star expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BecandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed in the Deluxe Chalet for two nights. Overall liked the place & the experience. Would definitely love to return for a longer duration. Also good vegetarian options for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The location is beautiful, rainforest and wildlife were a different setting for a resort. No real complaints but just not a high enough standard for us to go back.

Staff are average. Sometimes friendly but mostly indifferent. The housekeeping staff do an excellent job and are really friendly and cheerful.

Food was really disappointing. Average meals and definitely below expectation for this kind of resort. Atmosphere in most of the restaurants was dreary and drab. The Rimba lounge was pretty much the only exception, being cool and welcoming.

Facilities are good and the rooms whilst not as sparkling as the pictures, and definitely in need of some refurbishment, are comfortable and very clean. And we found the beds comfy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed here for 10 days. It sells itself as a three star resort and in many respects it is far better than that. The beach and pool facilities are brilliant. The staff are very helpful and the setting of this hotel is fantastic.

I only have two complaints about this resort. First the rooms were shabby. They needed to be refurbished and while they were spotlessly clean you did not want to stay in them any longer than you needed to. Second, the resort restaurants were very average.

On the plus side it is very cheap to hire a car and you can tour the island and eat out at a fraction of theprice you spend at the resort.

The location of this resort is however a real plus. It is just round the corner from the Andaman and the Datai and its beach is much better than the one at the Andaman. The back drop of the mountains is fantastic - one of the best views ever. The resort is nestled in the rainforest and a tour with Dev is a must. You will see monkeys, flying lemus and hornbill.

Had a great holiday here and although its not perfect I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewandKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at the resort for 6 nights as part of our month long honeymoon in the far east. We opted for the premier water chalets which in our opinion were worth the extra money we paid to stay in them. The rooms are large and one can enjoy a spectacular view of the Andaman sea. Nothing compares to waking up and having a coffee while being surrounded by the fantastic backdrop of the forest and seaview! The bathrooms very spacious and always clean as the room was. Our room attendant was very efficient.

The rest of the resort in our opinion was always clean and the forest always well looked after by the staff. We always noticed people working around its many acres of land. The beach also very clean and so was the pool area. We must also mention the staff who was always friendly and with a smile on their face; from the reception people to the pool boys-everyone makes you feel welcome at Berjaya. Keep it up.

The areas for improvement are where the food is concerned. Though the breakfast spread was varied and good, to be honest we did expect it to be a bit better and have a wider choice. We have stayed in various 4 star and 5 star resorts and we thought that for the money you pay to stay here you would expect a better and wider option for breakfast.
We dined at the Pahn Thai restaurant only once; again service exceptional and with a smile however when compared to the quality of other Thai restaurants we had dined elsewhere, we thought it could be better and food tastier. Also, it is quite expensive for the quality you get. We dined at the Beach restaurant once and it was the best out of the other restaurants with a good choice of dishes and relatively good quality. So all in all when it comes to food we would rate it as average.

Overall good stay however; great staff, excellent room and service and beautiful resort where one can forget about the world and enjoy a few days of peace which was much needed in our case following our wedding.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie26Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing