We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best and worst of Berjaya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
s west uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best and worst of Berjaya”
Reviewed February 6, 2007

Superior rooms are big enough but have very very small balconies with old furniture ( no table even) on them. Bathrooms need a refurm urgently. bedroom ares ok.
Most of these rooms are up in the " jungle" so the view is just trees --- to be fair the hotel does state this.
We were not happy with our room and they upgraed us the next day to a Premier Land Villa -- not without really laying it on to the front desk staff who eventually got tired of me and gave up!

What a room -- could not have been more different!". 56 sq m --huge balcony with sea view ( who wants to be in a hotel next to alovely beach when you cant see the sea? rooms have a massive bathroom twin sinks sunken bath seperate shower etc.
Well worth the extra cost any day.

Other areas -- nice pool areas but not that much laying out room --Oh and please stop those idiots getting up at six in the morning to put their towels on loungers to "reserve"them for the day. Use to be the Germans did this in Spain but the practice has obviously spread.
Another gripe their is no proper beach bar and at night you haver to get a drink in the Foyer bar which has not got as much life in it as a tramps vest! Go alonf the beach 300m to the Seashell beach bar of the next hotel .Live music most nights and real atmoshere which the Berjaja lacks.

Had a week here which was ok in the main then moved to the Pelangi Beach which again proves that you get what you pay for although it wasn`t that much more and in a completely different league

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank jolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    1,732
    543
    210
    140
See reviews for
1,218
2,428
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My girlfriend and I visited Malaysia in June 2006, 10 nights in langkawi and 3 nights in Kuala Lumpur. After previously holidaying around the med we were excited by the prospect of what we saw…we were not disappointed!

We arrived in the evening and the instant you enter the lobby you can’t help but be impressed with the surroundings. Our room was pretty close to the lobby, with an amazing view of the sea. The resort is enormous but there is a regular taxi service circling the grounds, or you can call it to pick you up.

The room was very clean, quiet and rustic, the creaky wooden floors just add to the charm. We never had any insects or mosquitoes at all, the only wildlife we encountered was a family of monkeys on our balcony making away with our towels! We have a hilarious video of a monkey trying to turn the doorknob on the door to get in! You don’t get memories like that in Spain!

The pool is excellent, although you have got to be quick to get a sun-lounger. The beach is spotless and was usually quiet, there are plenty of beds and huge parasols for shelter, and the sea is quite shallow for about 50 meters out.

The staff at the resort where some of the friendliest you could wish to come across, the bar girls were so forthcoming and happy; it made a difference to our experience. It’s not hard to realise that they are genuinely friendly, rather than just trying to take your money for a good service.

I think the best choice we made whilst staying in langkawi was to hire a car. I had heard it was a good cheap option to be able to tour the island from fellow tripadvisors, and it made everything accessible and allowed us to be independent. We visited the waterfalls, went to Kuah town a couple of times, and even dropped into to the Datai on a rainy day. The roads are quiet, and drivers are patient, well except motorbikes. Just watch out for the water buffalo wandering around the roads at night!

We never tried the restaurants in the resort as we chose to dine elsewhere, the bar was almost western prices but the service was top notch. The oriental village is a short walk from the resort, there are a couple of nice restaurants to enjoy including Thai, Japanese and Chinese, all were lovely.

Having the rental car allowed us to eat out every night. There are some amazing restaurants in Cenang and Kuah, our favourite being Unkaizan(?) serving some amazing Japanese food, with the nicest service possible! There are plenty of amazing restaurants, offering some delicious fresh sea food at stupidly cheap prices. The Tiger Prawns at the Mangrove was the biggest and tastiest ever. I forget the names of many of the other restaurants we dined at but a little exploring leads to amazing discoveries!

The jetty is not to be missed, with the Langkawi Eagle monument, and there are some decent shops around here too. Don’t miss the cable car, definitely worth it. We waited for the clearest day possible, stepped into the car only for a massive thunderstorm to start a downpour. I will never forget the eerie silence as we swayed in the centre of a rain cloud! We missed out on the view but it was definitely an experience to remember!
The only downsides for our holiday was the weather. Whilst very sunny and hot, there were frequent rainshowers, often appearing from nowhere. Some days were completely washed out, whilst some showers would last for a few hours in the daytime. Obviously this was just unlucky and couldn’t be helped, so we didn’t complain!

Overall our holiday was perfect. Everyone looks for different things for a holiday but this met our expectations in every way. It was ideal to relax in beautiful surroundings, experience a different culture and live amongst some amazing natural beauty. We couldn’t fault anything with the hotel or with langkawi and we will both definitely be returning!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
16 Thank Giles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We've just had a 5 night stay at the Berjaya.

Our chalet (a deluxe with seaview) was adequate - but nothing special. The furnishings were a little old and tatty and the 'sea view' required the use of binoculars!

Given that the chalet was located in the rain forest I suppose although the room was kept clean by the staff, 'visits' from creepy crawlies is inevitable. Before choosing this hotel you need to be sure that you will be comfortable sharing your room with the ocassional spider, cockroach, lizard and of course monkey. We had all of these and more during our stay and I was constantly on edge wondering what was going to appear next. The (massive) lizard running along the wall at the back of the bed I had just got out of gave me a particular fright!

We only ate once or twice at the hotel (breakfast and one buffet meal in the Dayana Cafe). Breakfast was buffet style and had all the usual - but it seemed a little slip shod to us (maybe because it was 15 minutes before closing but it was all a bit untidy and 'left over'ish). The buffet evening meal was ok but school dinner'ish and definitely overpriced for the standard of what was served.

We found Langkawi itself to be fabulous for a relaxing sunshine break. The beaches were outstanding - particularly Tanjung Rhu on the North East coast.

Given the isolated nature of the hotel and the poor quality of the food served in the resort restuarants we ate out most nights. Mainly we choose Pantai Cendang (a 22myr (about £3) and 30 minute taxi ride away). Particular recommendations are 'The Lighthouse', the restuarant at the Hotel Casa Del Mar and the restuarants and bars at SunSutra. Although the prices were nearer to Western than Malaysian prices in our view it was money well spent. We also had a couple of nice meals at the nearby Habourside and particularly recommend the cakes and deserts in The Loaf (a japanese bakery and cafe).

One absolute must is the nearby Cable Car trip. It is a bit hairy on the journey but the views from the top are outstanding and not be be missed. We were there just before closing when the sun had started to set. On the downward journey we had eagles flying underneath our car - something I will never forget.

In summary - would I stay in Langkawi again - a definite yes. Would I choose the Berjaya - probably not

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Creepy Crawlies
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank finakyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

After reading reviews on the Berjays about its location being in tropical forest,made it the ideal place for us to stay. I would not say that we have to be at one with nature as we like our comfort as well and the combination made it a truly fantastic stay. We booked in on the second of Jan 07 and stayed for 12 nights. All 12 were truly memorable. Staff at the Berjaya are amazing, they pamper to all the needs you have and always with a smile. The hotel is very comfortable offering a wide variety of services (visit their website). What it offers over most hotels is how the malay style rooms blend into the natural surroundings of the tropical rainforest. Do not be put off by this as there are no mosquitos and there is regular spraying to keep down on the ant population. We saw one or two ants in the room but it was the ones you can just about see through a microscope let alone your eyes. Listening to the forest noises was enchanting but as soon as you shut your door and windows the noised dissapeared as the air conditining kicked in to cool down the room for a good nights sleep on huge beds. Food is very cheap at restaurants outside of the hotel and taxis are very cheap with set prices which are displayed at the hotel reception (£3 for a 40 min journey into Kuah the main town and even cheaper if you book by the day etc for trips out (3 hours was £10 and then 2.50 per hour there after that was for 4 people) I SUGGEST " DO NOT BOOK WITH TOUR REPS" as prices will treble for you. Taxi drivers are honest and know all the tours so book with the locals and save money. A must is the Loaf bakery the food is excellent as the chef once worked for the Sultan of Brunei, its in the harbour which can be walked along the beach in 40 mins or 5 by taxi for a quid. I cannot praise the hotel the island and the inhabitants enough and could ramble on endlessley singing its paraises. But go and discover it yourself as you will not be dissapointed. A foot note is if you go on the cable car (5min walk) can someone pick up my stomach as i lost it on way down . "it was awesome"

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank Bentley-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We went to Langkawi for our honeymoon. Before we left I read alot of reviews on tripadvisor which were very helpful so I thought that I should say thank you first...
Well, to be frank, I dint expect much from the hotel and thats exactly what we got. A few things were really nice about the hotel like the rooms on the stilts, the hotel beach.. very nice beach... the rainforest behind the hotel.. the location and thats about it!
The first day we reached, there was a lizard in the cupboard... no... im not kidding!!! It was very scary but the hotel staff came right away and took the lizard out however I just didnt open the cupboard again for the rest of our stay... Well that was expected since Berjaya is right below the forest and some rooms are in the forest. Well, another problem that we faced was that the hotel is very big... it takes almost 15 mins, on the shuttle, to get from one end to the other, so there were times that we would call for the shuttle and it would take very long to come. Luckily we were close to the reception/ lobby area so instead of waiting for like 20 mins, we would walk down. So it is more convenient getting a room close to the lobby.
Besides this, we had a great time.... Langkawi is a beautiful place and we will surely go back ... Still double minded if we would stay at Berjaya again though!
Oh and another suggestion- You should rent a car and explore the island on your own! And there is a very nice bar where they have a band right next to Berjaya (it belongs to another hotel but they allow guests)... and the bar is open till 2 am everyday... Berjaya was dead comparatively.
The Harbour close to Berjaya is also a lovely place!

  • Liked — The beach and the pool with the bar!
  • Disliked — rooms are very far!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gulveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

I was quite nervous about staying in Berjaya after reading some of the reviews. I was expecting a room that was infested with monkeys and ants, and miles away from anything!

I was delighted to find that the opposite was true. Whilst we were a bit of a walk away to the foyer, it was nothing too far and it was a lovely pleasant walk through the forest.

The room itself was lovely and spacious. Originally we had booked a superior room, but on the back of reviews, upgraded to a deluxe with partial sea views. It is well worth the upgrade as it appears that all the deluxe rooms are detached chalets rather than semi detached. Yes we did have ants, but if you were careful and didn't leave food around, they weren't too bothersome. One downfall was that we did have a problem with our toilet, but a call to reception had it sorted within half an hour.

The food in the hotel was good. We enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the end of the pier and the Oriental Pearl for dinner. The Pantai was great for lunch if you are by the pool. We did not enjoy the Dayang Cafe at all. At night the lobby lounge was enjoyable, however drink is more expensive than in the oriental village. What we found a lot of people did was buy drink at the duty free in the Oriental Village and drink in their rooms.

The pool was great. Get down there early though and book your seat, as it is full by 10.30!!

We spent a day at the Pulau Payar coral reef which was great, even if it did rain for the full day:o( there were still lots of fish to see.

We also spent a day at the spa, whilst it was more expensive than others it was still much cheaper than home and in a lovely setting.

The oriental village is a short walk and is great for getting trinkets to bring home. The thai restaurant is lovely there.

My last tip is to go to the Bon Ton restaurant for dinner. AMAZING, nicest meal on the island.

Hope this was of some use!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank LimerickOonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent,england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

my husband and i stayed in the wooden chalets in the rain forest, we have travelled a lot around the world but found this to be a truly enjoyable and very differant experiencethe chalets were spotlessly clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful, the beach was very good because not many people used it, we did not eat in the hotel it was to expensive we walked about 4mins down the road to a area where there were craft shops and quite a few small eating places, Joets we found to be the best. There is a cable car in this area which is not for the faint hearted if you dare to go it is well worth it. Buy plenty and i mean plenty of peanuts for the monkeys that you will meet, they will take the nuts out of your hand. We always like to give a gift to the person who has looked after our room/chalet and we find that apart from the usual cash they are gratefull for a couple of tops. sum up, lovely hotel lovely people, a very differant holaday. taxis very very cheap, so have a fantastic holaday and think of me stuck in england,

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank jenny1445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,317 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing