We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class service & very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class service & very friendly staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

-First class service & very friendly staff.
-If your budget allows go for the premiere chalet upwards. We started in a deluxe chalet & had a problem with a leaking roof. The facilities in the deluxe rooms are fine, just a little old & dingy. We upgraded to the premiere chalet & were very happy to pay the difference in price for its facilities. They have amazing balconies with sea views, a very modern interior & the house keeping is just fantastic.
-the resort is located on a very large property. It is possible to walk from your room to the restaurants, pool & beach but after a while you tend to call on their shuttle bus which is a free & very efficient service. The shuttle service runs direct from your room (they arrive within about 2 minutes from the time you call) & take you anywhere in the resort.
-The restaurants at the resort have great settlings - espeically Pan-Thai Restaurant & the Beach restaurant. The quality of the food was disappointing but the breakfast buffet was good. Service was always excellent.
-They have a great happy hour at the pool bar where the boys whip up fantastic cocktails & have a cool band playing.
-For car/motorbike hire go to Mahamas located down the hall from the main lobby. We received good service, value for money & none of the hassles often encountered with car hire.
-Nice, clean beach & pool. There are ample water sports to choose from,
-There is not much in the main town Kuah except Mc Donoalds & duty free shops. However, you can do the same duty free shopping at the Oriental Village a 5-10 minute walk from the resort (or a free shuttle ride). Alcohol is cheap here. The cable cart also runs from the Oriental Village - definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAV00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    1,732
    543
    210
    141
See reviews for
1,218
2,428
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
noida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2009

this is a beautiful beach resort. There are separate cottages inbetween dense greenery and alongisde a quite beach. good hospitality, great mix of natural beauty and comfort stay

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank basharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

if u wana see a huge property come to berjaya langkawi..theres no way u can make it from one place to another widout their buggy...u have the option of sea view rooms...but even the regular rooms r lovely n u r rite in the middle of the rainforest...the restaurants r great..the japanese is to die for...also u have close by the cable car which is a must do on the trip..u cud hire a car n go around the island..also visit the harbour whch has diff restaurants n that gives u a variety of cuisine to choose from....n u get to look at great boats..

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

We checked out four places in person on Langkawi before we settled on Berjaya. Berjaya had the most beautiful views of all, though the location out of town requires that you have a rental car, or be stuck eating overpriced/mediocre food and drinking overpriced drinks. When we visited Berjaya, we were shown a chalet and quoted a good price (290RM/night/low season). When we booked, the price went up (390RM/night) and the room we were given was not near as nice (we ended up booking on www.agoda.com, for $100/night since berjaya wouldn‘t give us their quoted price). We requested room changes twice before we settled on a room that came close to the one we were originally shown, so just demand your rights. All that being said, it was a lovely stay. The views are amazing, the pool is nice (multi-level, swim-up bar), the beach is a bit barren (they do have man-made shade/chairs), but has great views. Our little kids enjoyed the monkeys that came to find the peanut shell crumbs we must have dropped on the balcony. Breakfast buffet was very nice (they ended up including it after some discussion). We had also looked at Awana Porto (would not recommend! No beach and too far to walk to other restaurants. Pool was not great.), Frangipani (very lovely, nice beach and good location, if you don’t mind the price), and Mutiara Burau (nice views, but chalets were old/rickety and, like Berjaya, way out of town so would need a car). All in all, Berjaya was and would remain our first pick for the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The resort is situated little far off from the city centre but is situated on a very peaceful place. Cable car station is at a walkable distance from the resort.. Do not forget to hire a two wheeler from the resort nearby n explore the city.. M sure it will be an amazing experience..Ants are very common in all the chalets n u have no choice but to live with them. Internet is not provide in all the rooms...Shuttle service is very good.. A good experience overall...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGKGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We weren't too sure of the place when we were researching on the internet. But what we saw and experienced at Langkawi was by far our most memorable holiday. The Beach Resort is in the middle of a forest, where special care has been taken not to disturb the natural flora & fauna. There are only independent wooden cottages in the resort , as per your need and budget. Though not all cottages open to the beach, they still have the most beautiful view. The Cottages clean, newly renovated and well furnshied with all modern amenities. The best part of this resort is that cottages have been built far away from each other as the Respsort is spread over a large area. So, to ferry passengers from their cottages to the Restraunts or reception area, there are these eight seater vans, which will come to pick you as many times as you want at whatever time. You can call the van 60, 70 ot 100 times a day and the driver will never look irritated even once. Though, one always prefers to walk. The Restaurants serve very good cuisine. A must is the Thai one which is built on stills over the sea. Beach is beautiful, well kept and clean. staff is friendly and keeps to itself unless called for. The resort is a little away from the city, which is the only drawback. But then who cares for the city when you are on a vacation. But one can always take a cab or hire a car, which is very cheap. The fuel is also very cheap. only reason to travel to the city is duty free stuff. of course Booze is damn cheap. A different experience in all. Highly recommeded.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dheerajnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2009

At no time trust the staff with valuable items. Also at no time assume a written request is going to be adhered to. Do not think that going to the head management is going to resolve the problem in fact it may increase the problem as it did with us. If you have to make a police report (ie stolen goods out of room by staff) go it alone to the police dept, as hotel will supply an interpreter who may or may not relay your report in full. Only after you request the statement (which is supplied to you in Malaysian to sign) to be transferred to english that you find it is not as first stated. Do not mention it is a honeymoon because that means nothing to them and we were informed of such.
We found some staff to be helpful. But it was noticed that their fear of retribution was so great help was only done on the quiet. Due to ongoing complaints/compensation we may have to return to Langkawi you can guarrantee we will not be staying here.
Separate to above complaints be prepared for a exsorbant bond on check in, the largest we incounted by far on all our holidays.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myluv02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing