We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5 star quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not 5 star quality”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I went to Berjaya resort during the Easter break and it seemed to be a full house - which I don't think is a good enough reason for a few points that really brought the quality of this resort down:

Customer service: is very average. They weren't particularly friendly or helpful. Didn't explain the map of the resort properly so we were left to figure everything out on our own. Definitely not 5 star service.

Rooms: Are very nice, however a few things happened after our rooms were serviced which we were not impressed about. On the first day, they forgot to replace our towels with two fresh ones, and only replaced with one. On the second day our 'new towels' were stained. Upon check in the toilet seat had urine stains and hadn't been cleaned properly. It took about 20-30minutes for someone to arrive to clean it. There was a general carelessness with house keeping.

Hospitality room: They offer guests a hospitality room for one hour to shower if they have already checked out of their rooms. A great concept. But horribly executed. These rooms look like old rooms they never renovated so that they could just use them as hospitality rooms. The sink was broken with plastered patches. The room was extremely old with stained furniture.

Overall, it was still a great holiday for us and we still enjoyed our stay, however it's important to point out some of these things so people are aware before booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jowee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you so much for giving us a review after your recent stay here.
It is with such invaluable feedback that give us the opportunity in measuring where our service standards are and on this occasion, sadly, we have fallen short of expectations..

On behalf of my team and I, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings and inconveniences experienced. I am absolutely embarrassed that you have had to encounter this shortfall in service delivery as I know for a fact that the team is definitely capable of better.

Rest assured our guest comfort and satisfaction is always our top priority and you have my personal assurance that we will try our very best to prevent something like this from happening again.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We do look forward to be able to serve you again.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,767
    558
    215
    140
See reviews for
1,259
2,458
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently stayed three nights at the Berjaya Resort in Langkawi. Taxi service from the airport to the resort was $8 usd. The staff was great and very accommodating. I stayed in the rainforest chalet, spacious room, clean bathroom, air conditioning worked very well. Be careful of the monkeys and don't leave anything out on the patio, also lock the patio door when you leave. The monkeys are very friendly, I left an empty glass on the patio table only to find a monkey had picked it up and dropped it on the ground. I also witnessed monkeys trying to slide the patio door open with their hands, luckily it was locked! The rainforest chalets are up on a hillside above the main resort, its a short walk to them but it is a pretty steep uphill, good if you want the exercise otherwise they have shuttle service that will pick you up and take you back running pretty much non-stop. The pool was great, nice size, clean and a perfect temperature. There is a swim up bar serving excellent mixed drinks for about $5 usd and draught beers for $3 usd. The beach area had plenty of chairs to lay out on, all with umbrella coverings. There is a fenced off swimming area in the ocean with nets they have dropped down to keep any of the jelly fish out or other dangers away. Towels are available for rent by the pool area and are free, however they must be returned by 8pm or you will be charged. The pool closes at 8pm which is the only downside, it has beautiful lights and would have been fun to swim in during the evening. You can rent kayaks for $10 usd for an hour, they also offer jet skis and a small catamaran for rent. The Thai restaurant out over the water is excellent, they require reservations and open sometime around 6:30. Dinner for two cost $22 usd, which was an appetizer, two meals, and two drinks. If you're looking for a place to have drinks and get out of the heat and sun the sports bar is great, it was cool, quiet and had plenty of seating. They also have a few pool tables available to rent. If you want to leave the resort you can walk a short 5 minutes to the Oriental Village which is where they have the cable car. I frequented the village daily, they have lots of shops, all duty free. You can stock up on beers and alcohol for cheap and then take them back to your rooms refrigerator. There is also a food court with some great options, most meals costing around $3 usd. There is also a great kabob and middle eastern food restaurant within sight of the food court, so good I ate there two times. If you really want to get out you can walk about 20 minutes to the Danna Langkawi resort area where there are more restaurants, I would recommend the Lebanese one. I also took the boat tour that Berjaya offered, definitely worth the money. They have a shuttle pick you up and already have a boat arranged for you. It seems that everyone who takes a boat tour on Langkawi will end up doing the same one regardless of the company. They take you to the Lake of the pregnant maiden, eagle feeding, and then Wet Rice island. Definitely do the cable car ride, thrilling and offers amazing views at the top. I wouldn't recommend the 7 wells falls hike, maybe its more spectacular during the rainy seasons, if anything check out the lower falls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Big_Deauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a holiday location that was peaceful, luxurious and charming. The Berjaya offered all of that. The Andaman Sea was simply gorgeous, warm and clear. Lots of available loungers to wile away the remains of the day after a long soak in the sea. Bliss...

The variety of restaurants was valuable, particularly the gorgeous sunset offered at the Pahn Thai. The main restaurant offered different themes each night from Hawker Delights to Malaysian Cuisine. Good variety at breakfast and each morning offered a different fare.

The staff at the resort are extremely polite and very friendly. The ladies in the bar/ lounge in the evening were so efficient and just delightful.

Monkeys and squirrels all over the resort made for a lovely atmosphere and the 5 minute walk to Oriental Village and cable car just too easy and convenient :)

We were there at a peak period but the resort NEVER felt crowded or overwhelming. The swim up pool bar was a delight! The only negative (mildly) is that the hotel did not offer a waiter service to the lounges at the beach and it was a bit of a hike to go up and back to the bar to get a drink or a snack for lunch.

Will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were here for our 2nd anniversary here, and had a lot of fun in the pool ! :D

The beach here isnt that great, so we ended up spending most of our time in the pool ! Because they have a bar IN the pool, you can just drink all day while laying in the pool !

The resort is very clean and has a great atmosphere. We stayed in the Rainforest Chalet for 2 nights and 1 night at the Premium Chalet on Water. THAT was amazing. Just waking up to the sound of waves, stepping out on to the balcony to see the vast open sea. Its something you have to experience. Its pricey but worth it for a special occasion. The Pahn Thai restaurant is great for some fine dining.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Words cannot describe the beauty of a tropical rainforest plunging in to a blue ocean with a misty backdrop filled with island silhouettes in the distance. From my journal "Sailboats lazily crawl across the sea as tropical breezes gently tease the ocean surface. I lay hearing the voices of our children playing in the pool & witness the cultural mix to which this environment holds appeal. On my left is a family from the middle east, the woman's full burka is contrasted by the French women 2 lounges further down who have decided a bikini top will create a tan line."
The location is stunning; walk the beach, do a 'Dev' night tour, walk the mangroves, enjoy the great food, have a beer at the lounge bar, kayak, walk to the oriental village for a cheap local meal & duty free, see monkeys, lemurs, snakes, hornbills, lizards & colourful gardens oh & feel annoyed by the litter washing in from other locations!
This place clearly gets a spectrum of responses, I can see why, though sometimes things are lost in translation. The location is so very stunning, these private rooms are in a rainforest so it is difficult to control mould, wood rot, the odd mosquito & so on (we had a rainforest chalet). If Paris Hilton is your idol, you will be disappointed. It's probably not a place for People with limited mobility (lots of stairs, fast shuttles, uneven surfaces) & People wanting the perfect room (Italian marble, Hollywood linen etc) & those looking to party till dawn. In my view it was maintained adequately & cleaned regularly.

The wonderful Malay staff will do their best to make your stay enjoyable, the quirks of us trying to fit 5 in a joint rainforest room meant 2 kids shared a bed, strange, but that was the rule. There's plenty of free activities if you're a nature lover so check it out, breath some oxygen filled air, enjoy those sunsets & give sweet Norizati at the activities desk a big hug, she's very sweet!

PS - we thought huge breakfast buffet was great, & for bacon lovers, the Malay will try & give you every form of imitation bacon that doesn't include pork... the turkey bacon was our favourite!

Room Tip: The manager facilitated late checkout as we had a late flight, with 3 small kids in tow this was inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We first stayed at this hotel in 2005, then again in 2006 for our honeymoon. After an absence of 8 years, we returned and were not disappointed. Best concierge desk ever! Food at Pan Thai sublime, and the Dayang Cafe will provide all your other needs. Most smiley staff, great team. If you want to experience the rainforest, you must stay at this hotel. We'll go back, and we won't wait another 8 years. Thank you everyone at the Berjaya for making our holiday so fabulous yet again.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at a rainforest chalet, surrounded by the trees with a bit of a sea view up ahead. The experience of living so close to the rainforest is great. We stayed on our balcony until late spotting all of the big flying and crawling things around us. At some point a monkey even dropped by.

The hotel uses diesel shuttle busses to drive guests around (there is no way around it, its a large hilly territory), so it can get noisy if you live close to a busy stretch of road. Rooms are a little older than we expected. Cleanliness is average - housekeeping failed to remove huge palm and finger stains on all of the windows from previous guests and there was some hair in the bathroom. Breakfast is simply disappointing, but room service is surprisingly good. The "oriental village" part is boring, but there is a duty free shop there (Langkawi is a tax free zone), which is walking distance to the hotel.

While we are generally not fans of large resorts, Berjaya can be anything you make of it - whether its romantic walks, wildlife, dining, sunbathing etc.

We would definitely come again.

P.S. Please do get the free Dev's evening walk, you won't regret the time spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kolship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing