We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Berjaya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We were very worried before we arrived at the Berjaya as we had read the mixed reviews. We had booked a Deluxe chalet and on arrival were pleased to find out we had been upgraded to one with a partial sea view. The chalets were fine. Yes there were ants and the chalet was slightly worn down, but it was in the jungle.

We loved the service, the shuttle buses were very quick to pick and drop us off, restaurants served nice food, pool area was great, as was the beach. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the Berjaya and would reccommend it to others.

If you are looking for 5* accommodation then this probably is not it. It is affordable, the location is great (close to cable car and Pantai Cenang and airport). The rooms were fine. We had no problems during our stay.
We didnt try the spa at the resort but would throughly reccommend booking the Ishan Spa in Pantai Cenang....my husband and I booked a 3 and a half hour 'birds of paradise' treatment, and it was great.

Anyway, hope the review helps.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gvek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,886 - 3,892 of 4,961 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

We have just returned from a 17 day trip across Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand. Everything was great except for this Berjaya Hotel. The staff were not accomodating at all and couldn't care less, not to mention they spoke very little to poor english.The limited and chaotic breakfast was covered with all sorts of bugs and flies, the room with ants, spiders and mosquitos, the bed with flees and bugs. we had to check out in the middle of the night when we discovered the matress, sheets and pillows were full of bugs that invaded the entire bed. This was indeed a frustrating experience. We defenitley do not recommend this hotel to anyone. We previously stayed in many other hotels amidst rainforests but never experienced such issues. This is not a five star hotel, barely a three!

Sue
Dubai - UAE

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SLDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We were a little apprehensive about the hotel as it wasn't our first choice hotel. We were looking for something small and quiet but we managed to find it to be a quiet and peaceful place at the partial beach view chalet which we were in. The room was nothing to shout about but it was clean and had a nice day bed couch and a balcony that over looks the garden to the sea farther away. The cleaning of the room was not always the best and they did forget to give new floor towels a couple of times. The air conditioner was leaking and the door to the balcony had a difficult lock. The positive parts was the wonderful nature that surrounds the whole resort and we got to see lots of wild life like dusky languirs, macaques, red giant flying squirrel,pygmy flying squirrels, flying lemuirs, giant bicolour squirrels, families of great hornbills and some small tree snakes. The staff were a mixed bunch as some were good and some weren't very interested. We had good food at the thai and teppan yaki restaurant. However the swarm of flies at the Dayan Cafe was a real annoyance to all the guests. I think they could do better to solve this problem. Would probably not go back there but could be a place for familes with kids as there's enough failities in the pool and beach to keep the kids entertaied.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed at the chalet in the water. I was quite happy with the room and the view though it may not have been so great for the ones in the land. I didn't have any check in problems which others spoke about. The room was good, food was good. Expensive but good. Service was polite. Lots of free vouchers to use for food, fruits, spa etc The only jarring part was free dinner doesn't include any desserts etc.. Not that its a big issue but i felt they should have mentioned it clearly somewhere.
The resort is huge and you cannot walk from room to reception. You have to call for a bus which comes very quickly. walking or keeping windows open isn't safe with monkeys all around.

Its quite far from the centre of city. But its walking distance from the cable car.

Good place if you can afford it.

srini

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ssjumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Like everyone else in the Forum, we had a tough time during check in. It took ages to get us our rooms. But after that things were looking up. Langkawi is so beautiful and the property has a nice beach with plenty of lounge chairs. The pool is clean adn inviting with a bar attached.

Breakfast time can be very hectic, a lot of tour groups stay at the hotel. Did not eat lunch or dinner there.

You must use an electric cart to get out of your room. I found it charming but I can understand why soem may not like it.

The chalets are very Malaysian style set in a forest backdrop. Dont expect 5 star luxury. But for $100 a night it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fromirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Firstly it must be noted that my partner and I stayed at this resort back in June 2003 so obviously things change! However, our experience of the resort is as follows: We can certainly agree with other reviewers comments regarding check in issues. We arrived early in the afternoon and waited for two hours before we could access our room due to 'cleaning'. We were offered a holding room in the interim but were annoyed that we were not able to unpack and relax straight away! Check in aside though, we had a lovely holiday at the Berjaya. The sea was beautifull, the weather fantastic and the pool area pleasant and inviting. We especially liked staying in the 'jungle huts' complete with a family of monkeys! We did eat at the resort but werent that impressed with the food, we treated ourselves to dinners at the Datai and Andaman instead!!! (highly reccomended but expensive, expect to pay GBP 125 for a meal and wine for two). I thinks its a bit unfair to chastise the hotel for its lack of 5 star amenities because this hotel is not a five star. It is not even a four star hotel, in fact when we booked in the UK befopre departure the property and resort was clearly marketed as a medium range three star hotel. For those reasons we got what we paid for and had an excellent time. I personally would probably go back for a short trip down memory lane! If in doubt though book elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank karenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We booked one of the cheapest chalets in the resort- the superior room as we were watching our spends, these were the chalets in the forest as opposed to on the sea front which wern't exactly cheap anyway! Don't really have many complaints except that it was a bid shaded and dark due to the canopy of the trees - which obviouslyyou would expect! The bed was comfy and everything was just fine.

The only real complaint was at check in, we were asked by the receptionist if we would like to upgrade to a luxury suite for the week for only 50 more ringits (about £40), she offered to show us two suites and if we didn't like any then no prob, anyway we went on a tour of the two chalets, the views from inside were spectacuar and really spacious, they were really luxurious and for only 40 quid we thought why not! So we went back to reception to complete the upgrade, she said don't worry about paying now we will just put it on the bill so you can pay at the end, we said no as we wanted to pay cash so we went to hand over the fifty ringits and she stuttered and said ' eer ah its er 50 ringits per night! we were shocked as she didn't say this in the first place, we wondered how many other people she had conned by putting the upgrde on the tab! And people having a suprise at the end of their holiday!!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
11.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $108 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing