We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet experience! All in nature...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at Berjaya Langkawi in a Seaview Chalet as a family with our 8-year old son. Chalets were all placed in woods among the tropical trees, surrendered by spectacle eyed monkeys, which do not come near unless you feed them. No worries! Clean, comfortable room and good housekeeping. Hotel's shutle takes to the Cable Car in Oriental Village with a 3-minute drive, Langkawi’s second highest peak! Food is pleasent other than the burger meat at the main restaurant. Try steamboat that includes all sorts of seafood boiling in a noodle soup. White sandy beach, warm water, tiny little crabs and shells to collect as a souvenior. Little islands around, where we walked barefoot with my son, was such an adventure as our feet were aching on the way back to the Hotel. Do not go barefoot, but enjoy!

Room Tip: Seaview chalets are beautiful, however chalets on water should have been better..There's a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbruED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,191 - 2,197 of 4,961 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

On arrival to this hotel slight apprehension check in was quick but on the transfer to the room I thought it was a long way from reception we had booked a premier lodge with sea view on arrival the room was just about acceptable but very little sea view, considering we had booked and paid for hotel some 10 months ago we were disappointed ! But anyway going to reception in the morning nothing was to much trouble to them they offered us 3 alternative rooms, stating that the one we liked the look of on stilts in the water ,they said the furniture was a little dated,but to us it was ideal,we spent 11 more nights in this very comfortable room.this was the first time in Langkowi for us and we found the Muslim people to be the friendliest people ( we are very well travelled) we have ever met..tHe breakfast is excellent with a choice for everyone, the thai restaurant also excellent as was the Chinese ,we didn't care much for the main restaurant ,but that could be a matter of taste ,the prices of massage treatments I feel is well over priced but very goo, and the price of drinks in my eyes are double you pay if you go to cheni beach a 30 ringgit taxi ride which I think is ok to pay as when there the drinks and food are half price,I also think the hotel could do more on entertainment at night ,most bars empty at night because lack of entertainment and price of drinks. But all in all this is a wonderful hotel with monkeys being cheeky and wild life in abundance

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 1101- 1107 they are close to amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splasherPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

What more could you want - moutains on one side, beautiful beach on the other and within walking distance to Langkawi's main tourist attraction, the cable car!

We stayed for 8 days in this paradise. At check in we were upgraded to a chalet over water which made our stay even more special.The chalet was clean and spacious. Housekeeping was extremely efficient but unobtrusive. Every morning we strolled along the path to have breakfast at the beach restaurant Staff were very attentive and soon got to know our favourite table. Coffee was delicious and there was a good selection of food.

Afternoons were spent relaxing by the pool or on the beach before sampling one of the 4 on site restaurants for dinner. Our favourite was the Thai restaurant where we had 2 memorable meals while watcing the sun set.

For a change we got the little shuttle vans to drop us off at the Oriental Village which is just at the edge of the property. There we found a useful supermarket and ATM numerous souvenir shops and a few really nice restaurants. It was a very pleasant stroll back in the evening watching the monkeys hopping through the trees.

All in all a magical place to stay I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed there for about 10 days during new year's Eve where we were upgraded to the last bungalow on the sea (premier chalet on water). Bungalows are really super: clean, big enough for three people and they have an amazing view (forest+sea). Staff is really nice, kind and helpful except for the ones working in the beach "boat house bar" which aren't smiling, saying thank you etc. Service is really poor on the beach (they don't even have a proper fresh fruit juice and if you ask for one you get poor industrial orange juice with ice cubes and... plastic inside (for which they didn't feel sorry). Fitness was ok but really small and a bit dirty.
We rented a scooter there and service is really super, professional and helpful! Scooters were perfect to discover the island, get some fun and eat in the night markets or in other very good restaurant!
We had an issue with our bill at the Check-out but after waiting 20minutes they figured it out.
After all, we really liked the hotel and spent some really good time there!

Room Tip: Premier chalet on the water at the end of Berjaya !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigiroesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staffs were friendly. But the Malaysian cuisine n buffets were too much palm oil. Thai restaurant was excellent. Room was large but furnitures were old fashioned & style. Complimentary Buffet breakfast was so so, but too bad.
Beach at times with rocks. Water sports centre's services was not good. Staffs were not so helpful on water sports like windsurfing, kayak by joining local tour at the Resort Lobby. Cleanliness of the toilets near the beach n swimming pools were pretty smelly & dirty. No staff cleaned there very often if they said it was a 5-star resort!

Room Tip: Poor minbar, room though big but the interior decorations & designs were bad and lots of inserts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank Fung808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort.

Thank you very much for the review after your recent stay.
Feedback from esteemed guests such as yourself gives us the opportunity in gauging where we stand with our service delivery and product.

I have shared your comments with regards to the cooking oil used in our buffet displkay and also the cleanliness of the toilets at the boat house with the Executive Chef and the Executive Housekeeper respectively. They have since assured me that they will make the necessary improvements to ensure that this concern is immediately rectified.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else. We look forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Lnagkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wow! We were blown away on the first moment we saw the grand entrance to the resort, after passing a number of other 'hotels' on the way from the airport (20 mins) which did not impress we were relieved when we realised we had booked one of the best hotels on the island!
The driveway, reception area, the pool, the beach, the landscaping, the monkeys in the trees, the stunning view of the mountains souring over the resort and a private beach..... this was only the beginning as we headed off in a golf buggy to our chalet.. Around and around we drove, up and down across the hillside, thinking this place is huge!

We were fortunate enough that we were given a chalet right next the water!! The room was spacious with a king sized bed, plenty of storage, a bathroom with a view! And the most special part was the view overlooking the sea!

We visited all the restaurants over the 6 night stay and were impressed by the standard and price of them. Even the room service and pool side food was nice. Make sure you get a cocktail in the pool!

The time we spent in the resort was very enjoyable, the beach was immaculate, and there are many short walks that you can do from the resort along the beaches and into the forest. Dev's Eco night walk is a definite must, the wildlife amongst the chalets is incredible.

We found the location did not hinder seeing the rest of Langkawi, As it is a short walk to Oriental Village and waterfalls. Taxis are cheap (and fixed rate) to get around and hiring a car for the day was reasonable. The roads and signs on Langkawi are well maintained and easy to get around!

Overall amazing resort, only negative would be the attitude of the staff, they are not very approachable, forgetful and do not go out of their way to help

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Good resort but the size also takes its toll. for example the checkin/checkout needs more queing time at peak hours, the restaurants are pretty full as is the pool and the beach. between all huts and the main buldings you can always request for a golf car to bring you from one place to another (needs 10 min waining time, you can also request in advance. as the huts are located in jungle, some bug here and there might appear. on the other hand its still clean and wall maintained. aircon is working fine. noise isnt an issue in the huts are, as the main central buildings are far away. prices in restaurants are accaptable, staff is helpful and supports with day trips bookings. as always in malaysia, you should have your own taxi contact (ask the taxi that brought you there for its hand phone number) as hotel taxi are more expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,244 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
11.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $108 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing