We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but far from city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Having returned from Berjaya yesterday, thought of writing this review.. we had booked for rainforest chalet and we got allocated to partial sea view rainforest chalet. we reached there by 9.30 am and after a brief check in process we were sent to have a welcome drink and by the time we returned our room was ready... Thanks to manager Jeremy he helped us get room faster... Regarding food specially for vegetarian indians its tough.. There is no much options.. But Beach restaurant in resort serves veg dinners but with very few options.. you can go to maharaja's which is near resort and costs you around 10 ringgits one way drop in taxi. If the Berjaya people add few more indian vegetarian cuisines it'll be good.

I would recommend anyone to visit this resort for relaxation.
Regarding theft which I heard about in other reviews... Its always better to be cautious.. Keep your valuables locked... I didn't lose anything... If you keep valuables un attended then risk is yours not to be blamed on resort.

Shuttle service was good due to vast area they may take a few mins extra. since we had our room in a decent distance when it took more time we used to walk so that we meet shuttle half way ..

Over all enjoyed the stay.. would like to visit again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sowmyaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,856)
There are newer reviews for Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 4,857 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

My last visit was around the year 2010 and this hotel was in tatters!

My recent stay, was given almost newly renovated rooms which is comfortable and everything in good working condition. Kiddo called this hotel the 'Jungle Hotel' as it blended very well with the environment and hopefully its environment conservation practices is also as sound.

Buggy service is more efficient than the last I remembered (i.e. never came despite calling twice or comes almost half an hour or more later).

Maybe it has to do with the Berjaya Hospitality School as the staff are more service oriented and greets you, treating you like their guests. Trainees at the reception are slow and always checking with their seniors for the slightest issue and some are non-Malaysians, which English skills needs improvement.

However, overall, this hotel is not worth the price tag and is now more popular with Middle Eastern tourists which a handful you will find amusing swimming almost fully clothed. Some even wore white based clothes and jumped into the pool...so much for modesty. Their offsprings are quite an uncontrolled and arrogant lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langkawi Resort !

Thank you very much for giving us a review after your recent stay.
We always appreciate feedback as it helps us gauge where we need to further concentrate on.
It is always a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay overall.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the less than satisfactory encounter at the reception desk. As part of our on-going CSR program, we endeavour to provide a realistic and challenging platform for our trainees to learn and grow, to make them better individuals.
Rest assured our guest comfort and satisfaction is always our utmost priority and we will ensure that the trainees are better equipped and ready for their future encounters with all our guests.

I have also addressed your comments about the proper swimming attire with my Sports & Recreation team and they have assured me that more stringent controls will be taken.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to be able to serve you again in future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything else.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in Premier chalet on land while our stay in langkawi. We were given chalet 1279 which is at the end of the chalets. Location gives good privacy but traveling to reception or outside needs shuttle. Shuttle takes at least 10mins to arrive, so it can be annoying at times.
Room was good with good view of other chalets and sea.
Breakfast & dinner in Dayang cafe was good. Other two restaurants looked pricy.
Beach at the resort is ok. Beaches in main town are much better. So choose a resort in maintown if you want a good beach.
Proximity to Perdana Quay, Cable car, Temurun falls, Seven Wells Waterfall is a plus.
We rented a scooter (120MYR for 3.5 days) and had great time going around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in Westin 2 nights, 1 night The Andaman and decided to move to Berjaya Langkawi (due to some personal reasons).
Of coz can't compare The Andaman with Berjaya as Berjaya is more like a budget Airlines where else The Andaman is more slightly better than economy class. :)

I dislike the wait for the resort shuttle, it really made u not feel like going anywhere once you reach the rooms. The rooms are just standard chalets, nothing impressive.

for the price I paid, not worth it. I find this hotel packed with tourists so i don't find it relaxing.

Room Tip: No comment, you are at the mercy of the receptionist.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ystan19122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here the second week of our honeymoon and were extremely disappointed. Our room was dirty and had blood on the door from people who previously stayed, our toilet leaked water, the ac leaked water. We complained multiple times about this during our stay but nothing was ever done nor were we contacted during our stay to follow up the complaints. Waiting for the shuttle to your room was a joke. The stay was way over priced for what we got. The wifi barely works. Majority of staff were very rude. We were told our luggage would be put on the shuttle and will go to the room, our number was called we hoped on the shuttle and arrived at out room, no bags. Five hours later we called and were told no our bags were not there. We called the shuttle to go back, after waiting half an hour we gave up and walked all the way back to the main lobby where we found our suit cases still sitting!!!! This resorts standards are very low and I would not recommend it to anyone to stay here, our stay here was unpleasant to say the least and I would not go back even if you paid me!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisNBLR, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Berjaya Langakawi Resort !

Thank you very much for giving us a review after your recent stay.

Firstly, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced while you were staying with us. As I am unable to look for details without the registered guest name or room number and dates of stay, I would greatly appreciate it if you could furnish us with these details.
I am very concerned that this was allowed to happen and intend to find out exactly what went wrong and more importantly how to make things right and to prevent something like this from happening again.

I have also sent you an email directly via the link attached to this review, for further details about your stay. Rest assured, we take our guest comfort and satisfaction very seriously and will always endeavour to make any improvements necessary to continue to deliver the best that we are capable off.

We do look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you.

Sincerely,

Chris Niuh
General Manager
Berjaya Langkawi Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent 4days there as a family of 3. Had a rainforest studio and room is big & nice. The feeling of waking up in the forest (with nice cooling air-conditioner working) is great. :-)

The Japanese restaurant in the Oriental Village serve very nice and reasonable priced food. With great service too. Unfortunately it is located outside the hotel compound, thus there are not so many guests, which is a shame for the quality of food served.

Being near to Oriental village (walking distance) is a plus.

Will definately go back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Lee_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights here, in the rainforest chalet, and the experience was very pleasing.

The room was excellent, with wooden floors, and a nice balcony. We did miss a bathtub, but the shower area was pretty good. Also ceiling fan is a bit low, a bit of a hazard for a tall guy like me.

Food was very good. The breakfast buffet is HUGE, with all types of of foods available, including some live counters. Room service was also fairly efficient, considering each room is pretty far from the main hotel.

Wi-Fi is complimentary, but was not not working for 2 days out of our 3 days stay, which was a dampener. Expected it to get repaired sooner.

Service was very good. The receptionist asked us if we were Honeymooners, when we checked in, and VOILA!, 1 hour later we have a beautiful chocolate cake, and some tropical fruits sent to our room, with a welcome letter.

Some downsides: Its located at one end of the Langkawi island, a good half an hours drive from Pantai Cenang, the main beach activities area, and 40 odd mins from Kuah town.
Watersports at the resort are a bit pricey.

Rest everything was wonderful. Thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $104 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing