We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded island getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Secluded island getaway”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this resort based on the incredible photos we had seen of it, and before having any real idea of just how big Langkawi is. Trying to avoid potential crowds on packed beaches, we looked at places as far away from the "main drag" as we could get. Looking at it on a map, it looks like Berjaya Langkawi is only about 5 minutes from the airport, but in actual fact, it takes about 15-20 minutes because of the winding and mountainous nature of the roads. (Do yourself a favour and hire a car to get the most out of this sprawling island.)
The distance is both a pro and con for this spectacular resort. On one hand, you have a secluded private white sandy beach with no foot traffic nestled in the foothills of a majestic mountain range, but on the other hand you are also a considerable distance from shops/restaurants/attractions (save for the cable car and Seven Wells waterfall).
We stayed in a newly renovated rainforest studio (these appear to be the size of two of the older rainforest chalets joined together) and couldn't be happier with the room's amenities. Spacious doesn't even come close to describing it. The king size bed was soft and comfortable. The blackout curtains did the trick perfectly. The bathroom is large, clean, well-lit and has all new fittings. The flat-screen TV is able to be spun around for viewing from either the lounge area or the bed. The balcony offers a fantastic spot to relax and soak up the tropical atmosphere. You are reminded to never leave valuables/clothes outside, or the doors to the balcony open because of the inquisitive (and not in the slightest bit concerning) nature of the wildlife that also calls the rainforest home. We were provided with access to the in-room wifi which uses an unnecessarily elaborate sign-in and automatic disconnection system that was fine when it worked, but was intermittently unresponsive. We had much more usefulness from pre-paid SIM cards with daily internet access.
The rooms are spread out throughout a large area of the rainforest and across the beach which gives an incredibly satisfying feeling of privacy. There is nothing worse than being kept awake by noisy neighbours. A side-effect of this fantastically sprawling use of space (and because the resort is built up the side of a mountain) is that it is almost requisite that you catch a (well-organised) system of carts to ferry you between reception and your room.
The breakfast buffet was not included in our room rate - which is unusual for South-East Asian resorts - and as such we only tried it on one of our seven days here. We found it to be of pretty good quality, but it is also incredibly busy! We ate at the Thai restaurant that is built over the water and found that the food was cooked incredibly authentically (a Thai head chef ensures that this is the case) and was very enjoyable, however is priced considerably above average. The restaurant is located at the furthest end of the resort and quite genuinely requires a cart transfer to reach, and we found ourselves waiting for nearly 20 minutes trying to find a return transfer to our room after our meal.
The pool area is beautifully landscaped, managing to include a kids pool, waterfall, shallow wading area, and poolside bar with the infinity pool large enough for over a hundred eager swimmers. We enjoyed happy hour here most evenings and found it to be incredibly relaxing. During our visit, the spa was being renovated so we were unable to try that out. The resort organises a range of free daily activities on a rotating basis, but these have very limited spots and can fill up very quickly so it is best to get in and book early the day beforehand.
We found that for the most part, staff were friendly, approachable and helpful, but as with most places we have stayed in South-East Asia, there are times where you can come across rude or indifferent reception-desk staff (I've never understood how properties let this happen given that these staff are solely responsible for the first and last impression we have). We had a problem with the plumbing in our room on our first night that was promptly and professionally rectified upon reporting it to the front desk. Our room was also made up daily without once being disturbed by housekeeping staff.
We would easily recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to escape the crowds on Langkawi, but warn that it is not exactly priced to be particularly family friendly. It is definitely at the upper scale of what we are prepared to pay when staying in this region, but has amenities and a location that make up for this in spades.

Room Tip: Rooms past the second row of rainforest suites have no ocean view and can be cumbersome to walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    1,696
    533
    208
    138
See reviews for
1,184
2,378
82
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is my third Day at the resort. I'll write about what went wrong first. On our first night there we orderded room service for supper and it took forever to get here ( almost 2 hours) when they arrived the food was hot, and ok. The server told us that they were really busy that night. i understand but they should have let us know that its going to take a longer time for the meal.

The Good:
LOTS
1. amazing customer service the resort is pretty much packed yet when we requested to be moved to a better room thats more private. The Rep said he would do his best and he DID. I was impressed.
2. breakfast was amazing at the beach restaurant.
3. general feel around the resort is calm and it never felt crowded at all.
4. beach was awesome again NOT crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veron_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Well my wife and I started our honeymoon in langkawi, and what a place to start. After travelling for nearly 15 hours to get to langkawi, we arrived at the Berjaya. What a place, so big and spread out. Must say if you struggle with walking then this may be a struggle for you, it is very hilly, although a quick Phone call and you can get picked up by the on resort taxi service, which is very good indeed!

Now let me start with the room, amazing, we had a rainforest room, which was great, we were told to be careful of monkey's but I didn't see any. Massive comfy bed and great shower! Now resort itself, superb with nice quiet beach! The food was superb, especially the Thai restaurant, just remember to book early, oh it can get quite windy but still amazing eating out over the water.

Its a short stroll to the local shopping area which is home to the cable car, which is a must to get unrestricted views of all of langkawi.

We also did mangrove tour which was also amazing.

Couldn't of asked for better staff and overall we had an amazing time in the Berjaya and in langkawi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my partner booked a forest bungalow in November 2012 to get some time away from the big city life. The hotel has a great location and if you rent a car at the airport you can discover the island the best, returning to the quiet lagoon. The buffet was average and included local dishes as well as international food. The room was clean and quiet and the service good. The beach and pool area are amazing and local monekys visit the resort during daytime! A must visit for couples and families.

Room Tip: If you have the budget then book a sea-side villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanBerlijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This resort is so huge that one may need a couple of days exploring the place. I stayed in a beautiful fully wooden chalet from 19th to 21st May 2013. The whole resort is well planned with beautiful walkways and colorful flowers and plants. The food is not bad but I have better food in other resorts. The staff needs to be trained to be polite to its customers. Some of them should have got the boot long ago.The redeeming part of this resort is the restaurant called. The food here is amazing. The staff of "The beach restaurant" go out of the way to make you feel comfortable.but they are outnumbered by some morons(males and females) in the reception and the coffee shop. The room service is average at best but the rooms are beautiful with great views of the sea. The chalets have nice balconeys where one can spend hours looking at the sea and the scenery. The beach is clean and the ambiance is lovely. I hope the management can take a cue and train the staff so that this place can be the best resort in Lankawi.

Room Tip: Do not miss going to "The Beach Restaurant" which is this resorts crowning glory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Overall the hotel was nice. The buffet lunch and dinner provided were pretty good. The hotel also provided buggies to drive the guests to their respective rooms which is great because some of the rooms are quite far.

However, the first thing which I noticed when we walked into our room was the musty smell in the room. It seemed like the room hadn't been used in a long time and they did not air it properly. Our refrigerator had water leaking out and maybe that was where the musty smell came from.

When I lay my head down on my pillow on the first night, there was a damp smell on my pillow - the kind of smell you get if you don't dry your clothes properly.

Maybe they could look into this and improve on the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_miss_maniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My booking confirmation stated partial sea view but I enjoyed a spectacular view from my room balcony. I love the tranquillity of the resort. The room has been renovated and I had a chalet by itself (not connecting to the next unit) so it was excellent. The room was pleasant and comfortable. The people are great and friendly and pricing at restaurants and bars was surprisingly reasonable.

My bathroom was infested by red ants but repellent provided in the room solved it quickly and stop them from coming in again via the bathroom drainage.
If you get room far out from the main reception, it is cumbersome to wait for the hotel shuttle and not comfortable to be waiting under the hot sun and way too far to walk with your luggage.

Ask for room closer to Lobby.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for view or water chalet.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KyraElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,274 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing