We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here during Sep 2012 and had one of the greatest time ever! At first I was worried about Sep being the wettest month of the year but the weather was kind and rained very little.

The staff at Berjaya were absolutely wonderful and made every effort to make our stay pleasurable. We were upgraded free of charge to the premier suite (I paid for deluxe) and got a room with stunning sea views! Truly enjoyable and very different experience..

The restaurant is a bit pricey (but buffet breakfast was great) so I would recommend people to venture out and eat outside the resort even though it will require a taxi ride (nothing much within walking distance). Definitely go for Island Hopping (boat trip) and also try out the spa facilities --- best ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Hafeji88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    1,719
    539
    210
    139
See reviews for
1,205
2,410
80
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently spent 5 days at the Berjaya beach en route to Australia. This was our second time at this lovely hotel and even though it was 10 years since our last visit we could not fault a single thing. My husband and I were travelling with our daughter, son-in-law and their children aged 6 & 4. We stayed in 2 large chalets overlooking the sea, 3 per room. It was fabulous. Loads of room, clean and stunning views. The staff are really helpful and most speak very good English. The complex is large but very quiet and the beach and restaurant are great. The food was lovely, plenty of choice for all of us. I can recommend this hotel to anyone and would like to commend the hotel and all the staff for a wonderful stay, thankyou.

Room Tip: Our suites were at the far end of the complex, one row back from the chalets in the sea, so we had l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently spent 10 days had our wedding at Berjaya Resort and I cannot recommend them highly enough. One of the main reasons we selected the resort was for the large range of accommodation types which could cater for all our guests – those on a budget Vs those who wanted to ‘splurge’ and stay on stilts on the water. There were 34 of us in total and everyone LOVED the resort. We ate in the resort most nights and the food was excellent at each of the places we selected. The staff really went above and beyond to make sure we were well looked after. From the start the wedding organiser, Roger, responded to all our emails and requests efficiently and organised the day exactly to our requirements. The day exceeded our expectations and really was such a terrific event. The ceremony was on the sand which was followed by cocktails and canapés then a sit down dinner – all on the sand - which was such a special experience. We selected the international BBQ dinner option which I would definitely recommend. I think the resort is far better equipped to deal with this style than set menus (which we also considered) but our experience with dining in the resort is that the meals are brought out as they are ready and over an extended length of time, so we were really pleased to have the buffet style. The chefs cooked the BBQ fresh for all our guests and all the food was lovely. The presentation exceeded our expectations (especially the deserts) and there was even an ice sculpture which was brought out. I really can recommend the resort and Roger to anyone who is considering a wedding in the resort – it was an unforgettable day and we thank all the staff for making our day so special. Kathryn & Michaja (Australia/ Holland)

Room Tip: If you are staying on stilts - the best rooms (in our opinion) are 1516, 1517, 1518
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Berjaya Hotel Langkawi.
We stayed in a room, in the rain forest, with a balcony so lots of insect and bird noises (which at first I thought was a tape recording because it was so realistic). The shuttle bus service was pretty good most of the time and the drivers very polite.
Our room was a bit dated-, a crack in the basin, a loose tap and a shower door that didn't close properly resulting in a very wet floor but we soaked it up with the bath towels and so wasn't really a problem.
We ate breakfast in the Beach restaurant most mornings which was very good- hot breakfasts- (English, Chinese and Indian- I tried them all) also, fruit, cereal, toast, tea coffee and juices-you name it they provided it!
We ate in the Thai restaurant on the Pier which was excellent- we were serenaded by the 'in-house' band; we also ate once in the Dayang Cafe which we found to be mediocre bland food and not worth a second look.
Most of our evening meals other than our eating out nights were spent in the Beach restaurant (best to book so that you can ask for a sea view)- the food was well cooked and varied but sometimes the service was 'slow' but as we had all night we weren't too bothered.
We hired a car for one day to view the Island; we also booked the Mangrove Tour through Dev's Tours- if you do nothing else DO THIS- really brilliant day spotting eagles, vipers, kites, monkeys, bats and wild dogs.
Overall we had a brilliant stay and wouldn't hesitate to return even though I put on 2 kilos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janethopkins1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the resort for two days after finding a great deal online. The beach was beautiful, there were many planned activities onsite, it's family orientated if you have kids and the resort itself was nice. I remember in particular eating a seafood tomato pasta with a glass of red wine at their Italian float restaurant. We had a 270 degree view of the Andaman Sea which was both stunning and surreal. We stayed at the garden view room which was clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable indeed

I'll stay here again if I find a good promo deal.

Room Tip: Berjaya is expensive if you book directly through the hotel. Try to find a good deal via online tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone. Staffs. UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful setting in rainforest close to beautiful beach. We stopped in a Recently refurbished Sea View chalet which was good value having checked on a price for an upgrade to the on Sea version and in retrospect we got to see more wildlife ( monkeys, lizards & flying sqirrels) and were closer to the main hotel facilities. Thai and Beach restaurant were very good - the Pearl and Buffet were ok. The pool & bar were excellent and the beach clean but the sea was a little cloudy as we had a couple of storms
Great resort for younger kids though there were not many on our visit.
The reception shuttle & taxi services were very good, free to oriental village & cable car, £2 to Perdana quay with 7 more restaurants to choose from.taxi to Chenang was about £6 ( the pice of a cocktail) so although car hire was cheap (£25/day) it's not essential. You have the benefit of a beautiful secluded resort without the smells, noise of Chenang.
Only 2 minor complaints - the optional deposit system when you check in is not explained- we ended up not giving a Pre payment and this made us stick to our budget - though paying cash at the pool bar became a pain . The entertainment wasn't great or at least should be more
varied . The spa was being moved during our visit but I would recommend the beach massage instead .
Overall with good free Wi Fi, no hidden extras and very friendly staff we thought our stay was good value and we got to see 3 weddings on the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffswaninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We travelled all over Malaysia, going to islands and highlands and this was by far our best and most luxurious destination/resort. We got a great price on a sea view chalet which was one row back from the front row of larger houses that sit in the water, so we had fantastic views of the sea without the feeling of being stranded whilst also being surrounded by trees and the amazing sounds of monkeys and birds in the forest. Our best night was going to the thai restaurant that sits on the end of the jetty in the resort. We had amazing thai food in a really romantic location with tea lights and the sea swishing around you, they also provided a serenading band who came to each table to sing requests, some couples danced, we sat and appreciated the music, they can play absolutey anything and there was no extra charge. The other positive about Langkawi is that taxis have set fares everywhere so you won't get 'done'. We had to leave our hire car on the mainland (there's a cheap car park at the ferry terminal) to come here as transporting cars is a pain, but it was worth it and the taxis were relatively cheap especially as this resort is probably as far away from the ferry terminal as you can get on the island (about an hour away) but the people are lovely, the taxi drivers are chatty and friendly and there is so much to do around Langkawi that you'll never get bored, the cable car is definitely worth a visit, even if you just do a 360 tour without getting off which we did as we didn't have much time and there's a couple of nice shops at the base of the cable car to get holiday presents and cheap clothing (the best shop for fashion, as in stuff you can wear again, appears to be just as you enter the shopping area on your left up a step or two, we tried all the others and they were abit tacky / oldfashioned or commercial, this one had more modern designs but perhaps not as authentic). Back to the resort, don't worry about the chalets being far away from the pool and main area, the mini buses (like golf carts) come at your beck and call to collect you and take you back again whenever you choose, you get used to it after half a day. Also we never got bitten the whole time we were in Malaysia (and we always get bitten), perhaps its the time of year but even the insects were friendly. The pool area is beautiful and there are plenty of beds for everyone, and more on the beach. There are lots of water sports you can do and horse riding I saw (though signs said no horses but in Malaysia rules are made to be broken). I recommend you go to the busy restaurant area of the island whilst you're there to sample much cheaper and authentic local food, like the famous dish "char keow teow" which is flat noodles with garlic/chilli (not too hot) prawns/clams/chinese sausage - doesn't look amazing but tastes DE-licious as well as fresh coconut drinks and watermelon drinks, you can get all these for a few pounds but the more run down the place often the better, as long as it's busy and full of locals, it's worth a visit. I wish I was still there, brilliant, romantic and fun. PS I saw lots of kids there with parents and they were having the time of their lives.

Room Tip: Sea View is definitely worth the extra, though I overheard a couple saying they loved their forestvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAtmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing