We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location. Not entirely 'beach front'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning location. Not entirely 'beach front'”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights. From the website, one gets the impression that chalets are very close to the beach. Partial sea view chalets are a 10 minute walk. The rooms are very clean, well maintained but average in terms of quality.
Is suggest paying extra for a chalet on water or in the jungle, but I'm not sure that 'partial sea views' justify the extra cost.
The location is beautiful and the oriental village next door a lifeline.
All in all, this is perfect for anyone looking for an experience interacting with nature, but is certainly not a luxurious 'beachy' 5* resort such as those in Phuket or Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasanqazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    1,748
    549
    211
    140
See reviews for
1,237
2,444
80
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

After we (as a couple) spent one night with a little confused staff, because my brother was joining us the following night and it was little complex to get a second room close to ours we were a bit skeptical - but: clean rooms, nice staff (they wanted to help wherever possible) wonderful sea view including some monkeys in the trees or on the balcony sometimes (not dangerous, very shy), good food in various restaurants, clean pool and amazing activities to book (snorkeling, ...) it was a pleasure to stay here.
The location is perfect: you walk 5 mins to the cable car and oriental village - the city center is 30 minutes away by taxi (shopping).
In total: we would enjoy coming back again. Recommendation: ask for newly renovated rooms. The others are still great, even though a little "old" - not run down. And if you don't like to walk a lot or driving with a little bus, you should ask about a room close the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 6 days at Berjaya and loved it's location in the rain forest, with all the beautiful nature and animals. The beach is totally postcard- like, white sand and palm trees. Unfortunately there are no snorkelling spots.

We stayed in the rainforest studio. The room was renovated a few years ago, so it looked nice and comfortable. The only thing to complain is that the house keeping needs do care more if Berjaya wants to be 5* resort. Our sink did not work properly for the first few days and we had to ask for reperation (I would expect them to notice themselves when cleaning). When we arrived one of the towels had a huge stain on it, one of the kind you really don't want to have on your towel... Also it took the house keeping 4 days to remove one toothbrush somebody lost from the ground in front of the bungalows. We really wondered.

We tried the Thai restaurant and the Chinese restaurant, both were nice. Breakfast was totally satisfying, for an exotic island the food platter variaty was pretty lame though.

The pool is really nice, altough it was hard to get a seat there, happily there were no such problems at the beach.

There is not much to do near Berjaya, except for the cable car (do it!) and the local village. There is a free shuttle service within Berjaya, due to the resort's size this totally makes sense.

We had a scooter lent from a place nearby (the hotel itself has only a limited number of scooters, we did not get one there). By scooter it takes about 30 min to go to busy places on the west coast) and about 45 min to Kuah.
Also, if you want laundry services, we would recommend a laundry outside(ask the hotel staff), Berjaya prices are way too high.

Do the Dev's adventures tour!!! We did the night tour, it was really nice and we loved our tour guide Shu.

Personally we liked our time at Berjaya, but found the resort a little bit too big and crowdy, compared to other resort we visited in Asia. For Langkawi I think it is still one of the best choices to make in the price segment.

Room Tip: There is no direct sea entry from the the beach chalets into the water, the only thing you have here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

BERJAYA LANGKAWI RESORT - A wonderful experience, pleasant staff and comfortable rooms. The chalets in middle of dense vegetation was a beautiful experience.The hotel has access to a lovely stretch of beach.Considering that the hotel has thick vegetation I was expecting to wake up to sounds of birds but was pretty disappointed that there was not even a bug in sight.Food was not the best but good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stopped here for 3 days after a few busy days in KL and Penang. We knew it was a long way from most of the island, but it was just what was called for.

We stayed in a rain forest Chalet, which was clean and well presented. The 'view' isn't so much out, as up from the balcony - there were any number of Monkeys and wildlife to sit and watch. The main building involves a shuttle bus (big golf cart) journey for most other amenities, shops, restaurants etc, but they come by on demand when you call the shuttle desk. If you're feeling lazy the restaurant prices and food menu is the same as the room service list, although we didn't try it.

Besides reading on the beach and pool, we booked a Kayak trip through a Mangrove Swamp - this and other further afield activities can be booked through the hotel, so you're not confined to the hotel as some reviews would lead you to believe.

Compared to our other stops in Malaysia, we found food a little more expensive on the island, whereas Alcohol is considerably cheaper (Langkawi is a duty free island), but it's all relative as it is considerably cheaper than the UK. (Bottle of wine is around £6)

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

55 minutes to check in. A huge cockroach in our room and called to have someone come and take care of it - no one showed up. My boyfriend had horrible food poisoning and the food is definitely not even the quality of a two star hotel. We called to have our mini bar restocked and it took five hours and three phone calls.

We stayed at the Andaman before and it was incredible. Impeccable service, great food, quality rooms - make this your vacation spot and don't get fooled by the cabins on the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heatherbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went for our honeymoon to this place and it was a treat..!
They had upgraded us to a better room which was bigger and definitely better.
We loved the little orchids they used to leave on our bed after making up our bed.
The breakfast in the beach restaurant was awesome!
Excellent service and location..!
Am a loyal customer of berjaya forever!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parulbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,329 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing