We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a relaxing winter holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing winter holiday”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Berjaya Langkawi Resort delivers as advertised: great beach, nice accommodation, perfect location, in the middle of the nature. We stayed there for 14 days, and would gladly have postponed our departure, if possible!

We stayed at a Premier Chalet On the Water which was very, very nice. We were very happy with the on-the-water chalet, and quite happy we did not choose the in-the-rainforest alternative. But that depends on your preferences, of course.

There is a really fascinating animal life at the resort: monkeys, gekkos (really large!), eagles, beautiful birds etc. You are living close to the nature!

The resort has five restaurants, spanning from good to bad. We had almost all our meals at the resort restaurants. The Oriental Pearl tops as far as the food is concerned, the Beach Restaurant is the best place for a nice lunch, The Phan Thai Restaurant wins due to the best combination of food and location (on a pier). The Japanese restaurant Mitzumi was a great disappointment. The beach is perfect, the pool nice, but perhaps a little small.

Service was good, always nice, positive and helpful, but sometimes a little unprofessional, perhaps best regarded as charming, compared to European standard.

Getting around the island is easy. Rent a taxi for 4 hours, it costs you €25! We recommend taking a two hours trip with speed boat in the mangroves in the north eastern part of the island.

All in all, a great place for a winter holiday.

Room Tip: Recommend Junior or Premium Chalet On the Water. If you do that, make sure you get one with unobstru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPUlvaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    1,731
    543
    210
    140
See reviews for
1,217
2,427
81
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Currently staying at the Berjaya Langkawi - when we arrived we were taken to our rather small pokey rooms with 3 people expecting to be crammed into the one king bed room. our only alternative was to upgrade to a larger seaview room to accommodate a roller bed ( you must request these rooms as they are much nicer and larger) although the upgrade cost us immensely!! Views are stunning and location peaceful. ordered food at the main lobby restaurant for dinner - decided to order off the menu and not choose the international buffet-what a mistake! 3 of our meals came out 15mins before the rest and when they did finally arrive - they were simply small frozen pizzas, undercooked & completely tasteless. However the buffet looked very nice. My advise is to think twice before staying here as it is in need of refurbishment and so far food and service seems to be slow and medicore and this is only our first day.......

Room Tip: Must request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had been to this hotel 10 years ago and it offered 300 rooms. Today some chalets have been renewed and others added and the whole complex offers 500 rooms - so the experience was not the same.
The positive points: Surrounded by a secondary forest, sounds of animals, presence of monkeys and different birds and the presence of a net protecting the swimming area from jelly fish, which are numerous and some can be lethal.We had a chalet premier on the water - very nice and bright - view all over the bay.The staff were very friendly and smiling.
The negative points: Staff not well trained and not very efficient, bad communication, very slow service at the restaurants, food of poor quality and variety (few fruits, bottled juices sold as freshly squeezed! ,few vegetables, deep frozen spring rolls,etc). The Pan Thai was much better.
Very slow Wifi.
We think that this resort has become too big and there is no more personalised service - we will not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The quality of rooms may vary greatly according to the location - check before reservation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achille56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I couldn't have picked a more amazing place to get married, the back drop was stunning, the staff where amazing and it was the best holiday I have ever had.

The resort is beautiful, we spent 10 nights at the resort and would of loved to stay longer, I said in both the water chalet and a sea view chalet.
The water Chalet was stunning, it is perfect for a couple and so clean.
The sea view Chalet has amazing views.
The spa was was currently in a different place as it was getting redone, however it was still great, i had never been so relaxed, The girls didn't even laugh when i feel asleep and started snoring during my facial.
The food was amazing, the beach bbq I had for my wedding meal was beautiful there was so much food which was so fresh and are up there with so of the top London restaurants I have been to.
I couldn't have asked for anything more for my wedding the back drop was amazing, the flowers they picked where just right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we were there end of november begining dec we had partial sea view chalet we had everything we needed in it the facilities around the resort were good swiming pool etc taxis very cheap and you can negotiate with driver for him to wait if you go out for a meal (not expensive) The duty free shop in oriental village is worth visiting for great savings also try cable car You are asked to fill in questioner which asks for a special member well all the staff we met treated us very well so no we couldnt single anyone out it would not be fair Go there and enjoy as much as we did

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happynorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I may be biased having just had an amazing 6 days on Bali (check out my reviews of all 3 hotels on here - all much more beautiful and half the price), but I was really disappointed with the experience of the Berjaya. Our rooms were fine, I think we somehow scored an upgrade to one of the refurbished sea view rooms that were slightly larger. But still, in decor and layout, rather more reminiscent of a slightly more upmarket airport hotel than anything out. The view, sitting on the porch was great, but I think that most people were disappointed. The shuttle to the room service can be a little slow. Walking through the resort is pretty, though. The food and service were quite shocking. Breakfast was fine, the rest was awful. I've had better with Mark Warner (all inclusive week with watersports for not much more than this 2 day cost). Service was slow, they were out of many things the first meal we ordered. We got drinks on our bill which weren't ours, they didnt charge the spa treatment we had (good job we are honest). And my experience with a large fish bone in my sushi at the japanese really put me off. Particularly the way it was dealt with. I had a chat to the 'guest relations' manager who was pretty useless and said it wasn't his fault that they had trainees from the philipines. There are a hundred more beautiful and delightful places to stay than this, I'd start by looking at Bali.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper sea view. Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel V, General Manager at Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Your mixed review on your recent stay is much appreciated. Please accept my apology for the various shortfalls in service. I have taken up with my management team for improvement your feedback concerning the wrong & short billing, poor service and attitude of staff at our Japanese Restaurant. With regards to the latter, we have taken a serious view of the matter.
We welcome another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 9 nights at The Berjaya over Christmas. Overall I found the whole experience very good.

Positives: Private Beach, Free Shuttles, Close to The Oriental Village, Private chalet's.

Negatives: The resort is ageing but is always being newly renovated which is good. The staff aren't always up to scratch as there seems to be a lack of middle management.

Sum-up: If you are looking for the best resort in the world then this certainly isn't for you, if you expect above and beyond service and have little patience then this resort will stress you out. However, if you are patient and understanding and don't mind minor problems here and there then this is a great resort for a break.

Room Tip: Ask for a private chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.4 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,315 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Address: | Burau Bay, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to Unesco's World GeoPark, discover the island said to have inspired love and miracles. Cocooned within a rainforest sanctuary, Berjaya Langkawi Resort embraces boundless views of emerald waters and green-cushioned mountains. With an array of convention facilities and inspired spa treatments complemented with heartfelt services, moments are filled with a sense of natural connection and harmonious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia Hotel Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Hotel
Resort Langkawi
Berjaya Langkawi Beach Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing