We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
$179
$160
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
$332
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$315
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$50
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,236)
Filter reviews
5,236 results
Traveler rating
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,312
1,914
611
240
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest chaletoriental villagebeach restaurantshuttle servicethai restaurantdayang cafecable carpremier chaletshuttle busfamily chaletprivate beachon stiltssea viewflying lemurssky bridgemain lobbyour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3,015 - 3,020 of 5,236 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

it was a belated honeymoon, but thank you Vincent and all the fab staff on this very special resort, something very special indeed. From morning to night every day, the staff could not do enough, first class service..with the culinary delights that were amazing

Room Tip: we had premier room 1 on stilts was fantastic, although the date is incorrect we will be back
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved Berjaya! Location away from town was fantastically relaxing. ALL staff we came across were always friendly and smiling and attentive.

The rainforest feel is beautiful. Rooms are not really luxurious but they are clean and modern, though admittedly a little damp smelling, bathrooms not very big. First night we were in a chalet with two rooms, next to a family with screaming children. Advised reception the next morning and they moved us to a free standing chalet which was perfect, and also closer to the pool and reception area. Please note - 'sea view' rooms mean literally just a glimpse of sea, not really sea view at all.

Loved the beach area, great beach, wonderful swimming. Did get the feeling of being stung by something in the swimming water, not jelly fish, but something was stingy and itchy every time we went in the ocean. Great pool and swim up bar.

Free wifi

If travelling as a couple, would recommend asking for a stand alone chalet close to/walking distance to the beach/pool/main resort areas - so you can avoid having to wait for a shuttle to take you to and from your room any time you want to go anywhere.

Room Tip: ask for stand alone room, close to main resort area
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHibiscusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed with friends at the Berjaya for 6 nights in November, we all loved the place. As we drove from the airport to the resort I admit that I was beginning to have doubts, the nearest village seemed to be miles away, there didnt look like there was going to be much to do. I was wrong, and from my first day I fell in love with the place, it was out of season so it was fairly quiet, the staff were all extremely pleasant & went out of their way to wish everyone good morning.
We ate at the beach restaurant & the Thai restaurant & they were both very reasonably priced for a hotel. The food at the Thai restaurant wasnt fantastic but it is more than compensated for with the splendid view & sunsets & the food was gorgeous at the beach restaurant.
We never had to wait for a buggy, they always arrived within minutes of us calling reception I know that some people have had complaints about this. It only took 10 minutes to walk to reception anyway.
The pool was fantastic, I loved the fact that in the afternoon sun the waiters would come around with watermelon for anyone around the pool to help us cool down a bit.
Several nights we took a taxi to Perdana Quay which cost us around £1.80 each way. There I ate at the best restaurant I have ever been too, the food was splendid & very very reasonably priced & the owner even came to our table to talk to us about the area & what he recommended us seeing & doing. Superb!! Definately go there.
Overall a fantastic relaxing place to go on holiday, there is really as little or as much to do as you chose.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs as it can be noisy during the night with insects & animals outside the room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have never posted a review online before but we have just returned from an 8 day stay at Berjaya Resort Langkawi and I can not express highly enough how fantastic our stay was, the resort is set in what can only be described as the most beautiful and perfect location. The mixture of rain forest and beach location is just a perfect combination. One moment your sitting in a rainforest with monkeys sitting on your balcony to then siting on a clean white beach yet when you back at the resort it is hidden by the rain forest.
We stayed on a half board basis and I can say the food was great there was always a good selection of hot and cold food in the selection of restaurants. (Please try them all) if your looking to try a selection if food then your in for a treat, the breakfast always had the local curry and we made a point of having some most days which was nicely washed down with pure mango juice. The service at all of the restaurants was like everywhere else just fantastic.
The staff at the hotel could do no more for us, the house cleaner cleaned our room spotless every day there were towel sculptures everyday left out for us. when I dropped the battery from my camera and it rolled under the bed, what a delight it was to have to put my hand and arm under the bed it was as spotless as the rest of the room. As this was our second visit to the resort we were presented with a welcome back cake that was delivered to our room I have to say the cake was delicious, we thought that the fact that they had even bothered to check we had been there before was a very nice detail that I am sure most hotels would not have bothered to do.

The staff at the hotel really do their best to make sure we had a great time the in house taxi service was very quick and we never waited more then 5min for a taxi to take us up to our chalets we walked down to the main reception almost every time but as we were in a chalets up the hill we were lazy and got the taxi back up (all free) the drivers were always friendly and helpful we had a couple of laughs with the guys while transferring to the cable car. which is something you just have to do the views are spectacular but do be aware it's the steepest cable car in the world. The staff at the reception desk were always ready to help and give advice on anything we needed and made sure that they were aware of our pick up times and flight times again really nice touches and detail of attention to us the guest. The water sports guys were helpful although the sail boat was out of use we used the canoe and paddled up the river next to the hotel and the wildlife was great we also went out to the island off the beach but be warned the monkeys there are not happy to see you !!

We are so impressed with the hotel it's staff and the location that we are planning to go back in 2013 with our kids even though it is a very long trip there and back for only a short visit so we will try and stay for two weeks next time. I could write about langkawi island but I think that's best explored and discovered by your self lets just say it is a paradise island.
In the pressured world we live in, our stay at the resort could not be any more perfect we relaxed and enjoyed our time there and this is down to the location and perfect service well done Berjaya Langkawi

Room Tip: As much as I love living by the sea the rain forest chalets are great as the monkeys often come visit in the early evening ( please don't feed them or let them in watch them through the window)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great resort with chalets spread along the coastline. Some walking required between your room and facilities, or patience for a shuttle service pickup. The walks suited us to get a little exercise. The beach and pool areas both very good with plenty of space, service, sun lounges, sun & shade. The Premier Chalet (on land but overlooking the water) and those chalets over the water have access to the beach restaurant buffet for breakfast (if breakfast is included as it was for us).
Breakfast buffet was very good. The cafes and restaurants are good and quite reasonable (obviously more expensive in terms of Malaysian prices, but as an Australian I found the prices very reasonable or cheaper than at home). The Thai Restaurant at Berjaya on the end of a pier over the water is superb for sunset dinner if the weather is good. The resort is a short walk (or shuttle) to the 'Oriental Village', a tourist shopping area with souvenirs, some groceries, duty free alcohol (very cheap), restaurants and small food court. It is also the entrance to the cable car which takes you to excellents views over Langkawi, surrounding islands and beyond. We also did a fun segway ride there.

Room Tip: The premier chalets and those over the water are probably worth it. Some of the other rooms are steep up the hill into the rainforest, and walking to/from them would be hard work (shuttles available though).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank todg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews