We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Amazing place, fabulous service”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Guys, I went for my honeymoon in February....I stayed in the sea facing jacuzzi room....the view from the room was good (though not great). The service is just amazing. The resort is beautiful with small rocky beaches all over.It will take one day to explore and enjoy the entire resort. Though its a bit far from the Pantai Cenang beach,(the most happening area in town), it is close to the cable car ride and the seven wells waterfall. The buffet breakfast is good...Also all you vegetarians out there, there aint much option in the food menu.
The rooms are really good and is kept perfectly clean,tidy and well maintained by the room service staff....
Though the resort s 5 star, the service is (if i may say) 7 star. Truly amazing and unbelievable hospitality. Dont think twice to check out this resort.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear sugato_11,

Thanks for taking your time to write a review about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, and thank you for choosing our resort as your stay during your last trip.

We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our resort. I really appreciate for your positive comments on the outstanding services that our associates have extended during your stay here.

Thanks for bringing the vegetarian food menu matter up, I will share this with my F&B team to add in more vegetarian food items on the menu.

Again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you in the future.


Warm regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    427
    269
    190
    186
See reviews for
378
624
48
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We managed to get a promotion price for a standard room with breakfast and dinner included. Good thing was that they upgraded us to a partial sea view room as i guess they were overbooked. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at 3.30pm and only 2 out of the 3 booked rooms were ready for check in. Their reason being that they upgraded us...the 3rd room was only available at 4.30pm, which was very annoying as we were all tired.

Room was good and comfy, quite a number of mosquitoes if you sit in the balcony so my advice will be don't sit there. For the price we paid, I wouldn't say it blew my socks off, it was as expected. To get to and from the rooms and lobby, it is a 10 minute walk but there is a pick up service which is very efficient so it isnt a problem.

Beach was miserable. If you expect a long stretched beach to walk for miles, you will be disappointed. The beach is made up of 100m long stretches with a total of 3 stretches which are divided by rocky bits. I was quite disappointed. The pool was nothing to shout about. But the deck area overlooking the sea next to the pool was lovely and romantic.

We had buffet breakfast at Feast. Good variety of food, quality of food was good. Bad service in terms of plate clearing, but I wouldn't expect anything less for Malaysian service. Dinner at Spice Trader - food was okay, but service was bad as usual. Waiters seem to be more interested in providing fast service to the non-local tourist (perhaps hoping to get a better tip?). The dinner took about 2 hours, of which 1.5 hours was waiting time.

If you don't have a rented car, be ready to constantly call a taxi to get out of this place as it is not really near anything. We had a rented car so it was ok for us.

For the price is probably is as expected, but service in restaurants definitely needs to improve. One thing good is that there is free wifi in the lobby. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear cheekylynn,

Thanks for taking your time to write a review about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, and thank you for choosing our resort as your stay during your last trip.

I have reviewed your comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any and all issues.

I do apologize for the slow check-in as that was due to high occupancy during February. Housekeeping associates needed some time to ensure that everything was in perfect order before we're ready to check you in. However, we are glad that you liked the room.

I also do apologize for the unsatisfactory service at Feast and the slow food delivery at Spice Trader. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you in the future.


Warm regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

The early morning experience of the sun rising over the 'smoky' oriental island hills from the Feast breakfast restaurant and the changing light over the sea..

The food experience of strong curries malaysian style..

The pool experience with beautiful service at the poolside ..

The wonderful in-pool bar ( park your cocktail at the the bar IN the pool and go for a swim between sips )

The sailing experience , hobie cat, laser, kyaks, fishing, jetski, banana boat .

The nature experience, hornbills and you may see a giant hornbill from your veranda , the egrets by the waterside, the black heron and the dusky chimpanzees in the trees, the sea eagles circling above and the flying leemas at night in the trees near the lobby and the pool ..

The wonderful air conditioned lobby combining malaysian design with the Sheraton signature ..

The pretty shops just outside the lobby..

The waterside dining experience at the Captains grill just above the water on the boardwalk which surrounds the central part of the hotel and poolside area. ..

The exotic sounds of the gardens at midday and at night ..

The bus experience .. Friendly small buses which chaufer you from place to place on the estate ..

The spar experience .. Balinese massage style ..

And lastly and most importantly the lovely staff who take the greatest care to ensure that we their guests are looked after ..

... Just a wonderful place ...

.. Keep it up guys .. You're brilliant ..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear RichardJackson,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about our resort. Your kind words will further motivate them to strive even better in providing excellent services.

We are glad that you enjoyed your previous stay at our resort and the services provided by our attentive associates. I hope that you brought home fond memories you could share with your family and friends.

Again, thanks for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.


Warmest regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

With the benefit of staying in three resorts on Langkawi , the Sheraton was disappointing and comes in bottom at number three.

Pool and surrounds are fine , but its all looking tired and stray further and streetlamps are rusted away , and the accommodation , think of the Great Outdoors and lots of pine cladding - doors that fitted in the 1980's are now pretty crumby and Mr Mosquitoe will easily join you for the night.

Air Conditioning will not really help - its clapped out

Lovely choice of Restaurant - meals were good , expensive lunch on patio , worn out furniture old sauce bottles etc in waiter station not five star at all sorry.

Also if you like Rap Music by the Pool this is for you - otherwise I would give it a wide berth felt sorry for the obvious lack of courtesy to guests playing this sort of thing .

Look Sheraton is a well respected brand but can't find anything here that will please you after expecting a five star stay .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear welshtraveller56,

Thanks for taking your time to write a review about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, and thank you for choosing our resort as your stay during your last trip.

I do apologize for the lack of consideration on the choice of music played by the pool. We have looked into that issue and have decided on a more appropriate genre. We appreciate that you brought this up.

There are a few things that we are putting efforts into turning our resort a better place to live, and one of the things is the shower head, which will be changed into rainforest shower head.

Again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you in the future.


Warm regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I stayed here over the Chinese New Year break and was sorely disappointed at just about everything in the hotel. I spent about US$1500 for two nights here and thought it was money down the toilet. Being A Starwood Platinum member, I was upgraded to a so-called suite but the room was mediocre. Outside facilities were just outright terrible with a pittance of a beach that is nothing more than a lousy narrow strip of sand of about 50m. Even the breakfast was really bad by Malaysian hotel buffet standards. Only redeeming factor is that staff tried their best to be helpful and accomodatin, but it cannot hide the fact that the owners haven't tried to upgrade the hotel since it was built in the early 1990s, more than 20 years ago. Starwood should be embarrased at their inconsistent standards, notice how most of their Malaysian hotels get pretty bad rankings across the board.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavesofgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear leavesofgrass,

Thanks for taking your time to write a review about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort, and thank you for choosing our resort as your stay during your last trip.

I have reviewed your comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any and all issues.

I do apologize for the disappointment in the services you've got during your stay here. We will take note on that and share it with the team to improve ourselves.

There are a few things that we are putting efforts into turning our resort a better place to live, and one of the things is the shower head, which will be changed into rainforest shower head.

Again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you in the future.


Warm regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

A really great resort, we stayed in the partial seaview room. Two double beds in the room, we simply moved the centre table at night and shifted both beds together to form a big bed, this worked better as to stop the kids rolling out of the bed. Its true the rooms are a little run down but we found them great to stay in and they didn't offend me at all.
The setting is stunning, you really feel like your in a tropical jungle with a beutiful seaview.
There are shuttle cars running around all the time which have to be picked up from the lobby or phone for from your room but if your impatient the walk from most rooms seems to be downhill to the pool and breakfast but unfortunately is uphill to go back to the room, so after your swim, you end up in a sweat once you get back to the room.
The breakfast was nice for the first few day's but didn't really change enough for my liking, considering the price we paid, we stayed eight nights.
The pool area is compact but refreshing, the beach was warmer to swim in but murky and stoney, the rocks were around it were slippery and full of sharp shells attached, so not much good for climbing on.
There really isn't any restaurants outside the hotel to walk too, so we rented a car at the airport, we organised its delivery the next day, we paid 90RM a day, the cost of a van to the hotel was approx 20RM via a voucher system on arrival, much cheaper than organising a transfer beforehand.
There is a petrol station, ATM and convience store about 8 minutes drive from the hotel, thats the main one we used, most cars have very little petrol in them, so will have to fill up straight away.
As for staff in the hotel, I would have to agree the majority of staff aren't sincere in there service, a select few are, majority are really not intertested in you, which is just how I like it personally speaking.
All in all I would definetly go back to Langkawi again, and Sheraton would still be on my list to stay at

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Philipstravels,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about our resort. Your kind words will further motivate them to strive even better in providing excellent services.

We are glad that you enjoyed your previous stay at our resort and the services provided by our attentive associates. I hope that you brought home fond memories you could share with your family and friends back home.

I will take note on the buffet breakfast menu so that the F&B team can improve on the choices in the spread.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.


Warmest regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We had our wedding ceremony and reception on the 18th of December 2010 for 150 guest at the Sheraton Langkawi. We also had a traditional Chinese tea ceremony at the Restaurant in the hotel in the afternoon.

Can I just say, the staff went above and beyond all expectations, to make the day absolutely PERFECT for us and our guest. (Even though,there was another wedding on the same day)

We both had such an amazing day despite the rain, that moved our dinner indoors. Even the rain could not dampen the atmosphere at the wedding. Nothing was too big of a trouble for all the staff. They were always on-hand to help with everything we needed, even things that were not in their job scope.

We had our ring exchange ceremony right on the beach and our reception in the ballroom. The areas were decorated with an island touch but remained classy and pretty.

The team of people that helped with our event was professional and very helpful. They helped us source everything we needed for the hotel. We live in Melbourne and even coordination and planning of the wedding from Melbourne was made relatively easy with the help of Norshidah, the Sales Director.

I can go on and on about what an amazing day we had at the Sheraton Langkawi but I will let some of the pictures do the talking.

This place is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear LyL01,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

We are really glad that we have made your wedding day a day to remember. We appreciate your kinds words about our helpful and attentive associates. I hope that you brought home fond memories you could share with your family and friends back home.

Again thanks for your positive comments and for sharing the photos. Congratulations and wishing you a marriage filled with bliss and love.


Warmest regards,
Kumar Renoo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
938 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing