We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing resort on a boring island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing resort on a boring island”
Reviewed November 24, 2006

We arrived at the Sheraton expecting alot of this international chain. The lobby was impressive and we received good service, including a welcome drink, although this is nothing out of the ordinary in this part of the world.

We stayed in a garden room view which was quite nice, with a large bathroom and was well equipped.

The pool area however is awful. There is loud construction work going on. The pool is dated, dirty and a very tacky area. Rows of plastic sunbeds cramed in a small area so you have to sit right next to everyone else. The pool bar has awful music playing very loudly and serves terrible overpriced food. It resembled a holiday camp and was not of the standard I would expect of Sheraton on what is meant to be an island paradise.

The beach area, meant to be on of the best on the island is tiny, with black sand and cloudy sea.

We had dinner in the Spice Trader restaurant one evening, there was a special buffet meal and entertainment, which we did not know about until we arrived. Terrible entertainment which I can only think was the staff having some kind of joke, but the food was very good.

I was glad to be only staying here for 3 nights.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The pool area and location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank minky101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    431
    270
    193
    186
See reviews for
384
625
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed 6 nights at the Sheraton Langkawi, and then another 6 nights at the Tanjung Rhu. We were disappointed with the Sheraton, although it was not all bad.

The lobby is impressive, and we were offered a drink and a seat to complete the check-in formalities which were efficient.

We had tried to book an ocean room, but we knew at the time of booking that this was unavailable for the first night so we stayed in a garden room with the intent of changing rooms on the second day. The garden room was fine – in a group of 4 – spacious and clean, although the bathroom was looking a little dated and ready for an upgrade.

The resort is spread over large grounds with a regular shuttle service which was quite efficient, never having to wait too long. If you choose to walk instead be aware that it is hot, hilly, and you are walking on the bitumen shuttle paths. Not very attractive. There is a boardwalk along the water’s edge which is nice, but the rooms are up the hill so some walking on the paths is required.

Coming from Australia the beaches were very uninspiring. Very small – no more than 60 metres wide – and the water during August was extremely cloudy. You could not see your hand in front of your face. The swimming pool was terrible. A small concrete and tile affair not worthy of a suburban swimming pool let alone a tropical resort. It was quite crowded and deck chairs were hard to find. We spent very little time there.

Water sports were basic and cost extra. Promotional photos always seem to show catamarans and windsurfers but when you get there the equipment is often limited and showing a lot of wear and tear. This was the case here.

On the second day we moved to the ocean room and were very disappointed. It was upstairs in a 2 story block overlooking the rather ordinary (and noisy) pool. Because of the height of the trees we could not see the ocean! We asked to be moved back to our original room (which had a better ocean view) and this was no problem.

The restaurants were excellent, both the food and service. You are paying western hotel prices which are a lot more than on the rest of the island. Breakfast was good with a lot of choice. All the resort staff were very friendly and efficient.

Given we were later staying at the Tanjung Rhu we decided to use our time at the Sheraton as a base to explore the rest of the island, play golf etc. It was a comfortable and relatively inexpensive stay, but really not a destination in its own right. The Tanjung Rhu on the other hand, while a lot more expensive, was fabulous and we only left the resort once (to play golf) during our stay.

We had some concerns about the wet season (in August) but apart from two downpours overnight and some brief rainstorms the weather was fine.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Travel_Guy_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

OK - Sometimes it pays to ignore articles on Tripadvisor. I went to this resort the weekend of 28th/29th October 2006, despite the negative articles.

I am on business in Singapore and the Sheraton room is easily as good as my ritz-carlton room back in singapore.

Things you should know about this resort:

They are currently renovating the main restaurant block - due for completion Dec 06. There are two other restaurants in the complex that are open. There is a fair amount of noise from the renovations in the immediate vicinty (this includes the pool area) - but it wasn't so bad that it bothered me.

It is very well located - 10 mins from the airport and 20 mins from the main beach resort (US$6 taxi ride). I recommend hiring a car as they are so cheap.

This resort is cheap - and very good value - so much so that I have already booked to go back. Even the mini-bar compares well with UK shop prices for beverages.

There are several small beaches, not of the highest quality it must be said, if you are looking for beautiful stretches of sand this is not the place for you.

I strongly recommend booking a newly renovated beachfront room - I was unable to hear any building noise, had a huge balcony and the quality of the room fixtures were definitely 5 star. Other less fortunate guests were stuck in rooms near the building work or further away from the water. Room 1019 is in a very good position.

Do not expect the Datai - I visited the Datai and I have to say the staff were quite indifferent compared to the Sheraton, plus the Datai are also renovating their beach path so it now takes 20 mins in a chauffeured buggy to get to the beach. The Datai is also roughly 3 to 4 times more expensive for a comparable room - i compared Datai Pool Villa with Sheraton Beachfront Room.

I believe people's expectations of the Sheraton are quite rightly very high, however this is not a $500 a night resort so don't expect it to be.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank fanofasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

After an exhaustive search of the many hotels of Lawgkawi, my wife and I decided on the Sheraton, mainly based on the mostly positive reviews, price, and the lovely pictures some of the review sites had given. Obviously, one has to doubt whether or not these photos were accurate representations of the resort and rooms themselves. To our surprise, the presentation of the main lobby and the Garden view rooms were excellent.

The trip started out with a driver from the Sheraton picking us up from the airport, which is a short distance away from the hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted well by the doorman and felt really welcomed by all the nice people in the main lobby. They offered us a welcome drink, which my wife swears is the best drink ever, and we were driven to our room after a short intro of the facilities. The room itself is exactly as pictured, with a patio outside, which has a deck, patio furniture, and a ceiling fan. Inside, they have a bathtub overlooking the bedroom, and a large shower. The only complaint of the room was that I thought the A/C wasn’t cold enough, as temperatures when we went were extremely hot and humid.

The resort itself did not offer very much in terms of dining, but with an on-site car rental, which we took advantage of, or the many taxies parked outside, it is not difficult to drive a few miles down the street to the many restaurants along the road. In terms of entertainment, the amenities, such as the beach, spa, gym, and pool areas were relaxing, though we did not take as much time to enjoy them as we were more interested in exploring the island. This hotel is located in a more isolated area of the island, but I find that it is a nice drive back after a long day exploring Langkawi.

I will not hesitate to come back to this resort as they prepared everything for us in advance and helped us arrange our wedding there, which we had on their private beach. I highly recommend the garden or seaside rooms as they are more private than the more hotel-like rooms by the pool. Do give them a call if you need any special arrangements or have any questions as they are very honest and have a wonderful staff waiting to assist you!

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — lack of cheap on-site dining
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We were a bit apprehensive having read the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive from the Langkawi airport, and roads are well signed so it's really easy to find if you are renting a car at the airport.

We were pleasantly surprised by the large grand lobby. At the check in, we were asked to settle into one of the many sofas in the lobby and quickly served with fresh lime juice. The reception staff then came over to hand us our key card.

We had been told that the grounds were large, but had no idea that we would actually really appreciate being driven around in a shuttle bus to get between the lobby and our room. But this was no problem at all - during our 4 day trip, the shuttle buses were frequent and we only ever had to wait 1-2 mins for the shuttle.

A few other points:

* Secluded rooms - the hotel rooms are grouped into 3-4 rooms each so you have quite a lot of privacy. That said, the walls are quite thin so if you have a noisy family living next door as we did, it can get a little annoying when they are running in an out of the corridor.

* Huge rooms - we booked a garden view renovated room and it was massive. We had a private terrace, bathroom with a bathtub with a window that opens onto the main bedroom.

* Great soft comfty bed - the bed was a sweet sleeper bed, but we actually found it a little on the soft side.

* Renovations are not completely new - not everything in the room has been renovated, some parts of the room are still a little on the old side but everything still feels quite luxurious in general.

Sheraton Langkawi is about 15 min drive from Pentai Cenang which is apparently where the nice beaches are. On the whole the location didn't bother us too much because we had our own car but it could be a bother if you're cabbing it because there isn't really much to eat or see around the hotel.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit dated
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you book the "newly renovated" rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chendol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Having left the most amazing hotel I've ever stayed in 'The Shang ra La', my Bride and I arrived at the beautiful Island of Langkawi. On arrival at the Sheraton Hotel we were offered a light refreshment whilst a member of reception staff advised us that they had a "most amazing room with spa bath near to the beach' As you can appreciate my wife and I were ecstatic but was quickly fraught when I realised they wanted to debit my credit card with 600 RM per night for the privilege (£100 per night), on top of what I had already paid. We immediately declined this great honeymoon offer, but were given a tired, grotty, poorly lit room with a garden view far from any amenities. My Bride was distraught, as this was not the luxury we were expecting.
My Initial thoughts were that this Hotel was no more than a 3 Star, and questioned the holiday representative who liaised with management about our disappointment.
She later informed us that the room was booked via a tour operator and was ‘A good deal’ therefore refusing to move us from this shoddy room.
The majority of the bar/restaurant areas were closed leaving you with a minimal choice of dinning, and of course they were the most expensive, (we had not been informed prior to booking).
The menu was disgraceful - it was the same whether dinning at the restaurant or having room service, and was lacking in choice (ten items for room service). We once attempted to order room service but were told they didn’t have the items from the menu. The price of alcoholic drinks differed around the hotel and were extortionate bearing in mind Langkawi is a Tax-free island.
The amazing Honeymoon package they offered was a small basket of fruit, it later came to our notice that other couples had received the same fruit basket and weren’t even on a honeymoon.
I was further discussed when I witnessed a young gentleman ask for a bottle of drinking water at the poolside bar, only to be told they had none in the hotel and he would have to get his own from the town, which was a good taxi drive away.
Towards the end of our honeymoon they closed yet another restaurant and began to complete building works on half of the hotel. At one point I shared a beach with a working JCB digger.
We were not the only people who were appalled with this hotel having spoken to other holiday /honeymoon couples.
This is not a good hotel, please choose another if you require quality or something special. I visited other hotels on this island out of curiosity; there is a lot of choice far superior to this hotel.
I have previously stayed other Sheraton Hotels but this experience took the shine out of our honeymoon, and as such I will not be staying in another one of their hotels again.

  • Liked — leaving it behind/ friendly staff.
  • Disliked — poor quality rooms/menu/prices
  • Tips/Secrets — reasearch other hotels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ddkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane. Asutralia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our first experience at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort. It was our first overseas trip with our son, who is one, and we found the resort to be a relaxing experience. We stayed in a Garden View room, although we could actually see the lagoon from our verandah. The room was spacious, giving our son plenty of room to walk and play. The bathroom was very nice - marble, with a large bath overlooking the main room. When we arrived we found that a cot had not been set up in the room, but that was fixed very quickly. The hotel actually has proper collapsible cots, not porta-cots, and our son slept very well!

We mostly ate in the restaurant at the hotel, which had good quality food at a reasonable price (for our exchange rate). The view of the trees with the squirrels playing was very nice. The pool area was also good (we used it every day), and the gym was fine. It didn't have the latest and greatest equipment, but it was recent and of a high standard, so I'm not sure why others complained about it! It was also deserted while we were there, so we had the jacuzzi with the view of the lagoon to ourselves!

The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. They also adored our son! One of them bought a gift for him on our last day at the resort.

The term 'beach' in the hotel's name could be misleading for some - yes, there is salt water and sand, but the hotel is at the edge of lagoon which catches much of the runoff from the streams during rain - it was often brown when we were there. It is swimable, but don't go there thinking white sand, waves etc.

Transport around the hotel's grounds (to and from your room) is by a small truck with seats. The service was very good, and we rarely waited for longer than 5 minutes to be picked up when we called for the shuttle.

Much of the hotel is brown, as some others have complained about. However, there are a few good reasons for this. The hotel says it is built in the style of a traditional Malay house. Take a look at the houses when you pass through the villages - the upstairs part is constructed of dark brown timber! I would guess that it is also treated to prevent it from decaying the climate. Also check out the modern rendered concrete facade hotels. With all of the rain and lack of upkeep, these look very old and run down. Good reason for brown timber!

The hotel is popular with visitors from the Middle East, and many of the ladies wear a burqa. It would be wise the educate children in this fact before they arrive so it's not a surprise for them.

There were a few things we found that detracted from the overall experience:
- the hotel is isolated: if you want to eat somewhere other than the hotel, you have to catch a taxi to get there.
- on the last few days we were there, the main restaurant closed for renovation. The other restaurant had some problems converting to a full menu, so the service wasn't up to its usual standard.

Overall, we had an excellent break. Take the hotel for what it is - very peaceful, full of wildlife, very relaxing. Just enjoy!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too far from other restaurants
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank makita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
555 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
10.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing