We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not a Sheraton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a Sheraton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in late April and I have to say that we were disappointed overall. Quite simply it needs significant investment in upgrading/maintenance and in a lot of cases staff training.

The pool setting is beautiful (especially in the sun) but the tiles in the pool need a bit of cleaning / replacement. Not a criticism but as an FYI if you have kids was little by way of slides/pool activities for them.

The buffet breakfast was ok but staff need to be more proactive in tea/coffee service and clearing plates. Not quite their fault, they're ok when asked but they seemed short staffed and undertrained.

Rooms were pleasingly spacious but again are looking a fraction tired in parts/finishings

The beach itself is average and the resort is poorly lit at night

The resort is ok but just can't carry the Sheraton brand and the associated cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Robin D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that other Sheraton properties have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience. We will certainly review your comments on the performance of our service especially at breakfast to ensure we are able to provide the best service possible moving forward.

Once again, I regret for the disappointment and many thanks for your valuable feedbacks. We hope that you would give us an opportunity to make improvements and let us welcome you back.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    413
    256
    180
    183
See reviews for
362
610
46
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Greetings Tan Lee Fong (Sales Manager),

Thank you very much for the wonderful stay at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort as a returned guest. I appreciate the staff there and can rely on there assistance to make my stay as comfortable as possible.

I would also like to send out a Thank you recommendation to RufieQue Qiesya (Food and Beverage) and other staff I have come in contact with or who know me as Uncle Bob. Without these people I could not experience the culture, the food and the local knowledge they have to offer their guests.

Once again I appreciate your assistance and no doubt your team will see me again in the near future.

Terima Kasih

Uncle Bob

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrudaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear BrudaT,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly you were well taken care of by our dedicated associates.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received especially from Ms. Tan Lee Fong and Mr. Rafiq. I shall share your compliments with them.

Once again, thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We travelled to langkawi in aug 12 for. We booked ourself at Sheraton beach resort for 3 days. WeHad a lot of expectation from the property but must say that I was disappointed... First of all it was a bad choice at my end... away from patong beach where all the action and food options are available. Secondly the place has no beach (They have a small stretch of say 25 meters) i'll not call it a beach resort at all..

Ocean view rooms on far end of resort are not ocean but simply water facing rooms... My basic expectation was that we can walk to beach... Disappointed.. No beach to repeat again. Rooms are good but certainly needs renovation. We got a feeling of old styled rooms but must say that interiors was good. I feels the place needs a lot of attention from "Sheraton" management. I felt it was neglected lot. Staff is good and helpful. We were denied a option of candlelight dinner by sea ( it was discussed at time of booking) but chef said it is not possible due to shortage of staff... Instead he suggested to have dinner at captain restaurant. Also It was scary to move out in the night the outdoor lighting was very bad..

Overall a disappointing experience for given price.

Room Tip: Choose room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myxpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear myxpressions,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay.

We were disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations and that your stay was a less than enjoyable one.

We valued the chance to learn and respond to these opportunities to improve on our facilities and your feedback will certainly be beneficial in any upcoming refurbishment and development considerations. While I cannot physically change the hotel, I can always improve the standard of our service and hospitality and have therefore reviewed your comments with the management team

If your travel plans bring you back to Langkawi, please allow us to make your next stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. I can be reached at kumar.renoo@sheraton.com.

Thank you once again for writing this review.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel overall was fairly nice, albeit showing its age a little. The rooms are pretty spacious and the pool is quite nice (the private beach is not really worth the visit). Langkawi island is actually pretty big so don't expect to be close to many of the popular destinations, and this resort is no exception.

Another thing you may find annoying is that you will need to wait for a shuttle bus to pick you up and drop you off each time you want to leave your room (which is a private little hut).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear George F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I would like to apologize for the displeasure that you experienced whilst waiting for your pick up. Please be assured, we do value all guest comments and I have reviewed the issue raised with our shuttle bus drivers to avoid any future disappointment.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to make improvements and let us welcome you back. If there is an opportunity for us to restore your faith in this Resort, please contact me at kumar.renoo@sheraton.com.

Once again, thank you for your value feedback.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sadly the Sheraton could do with a facelift or at the least a tidy up. The location is awesome and really puts you in relax mode but everything is a bit shabby. Our chalet on the beach was comfortable and other than housekeeping missing something every day and the odd late pick up which we had to ask for the service was very good and delivered by uba friendly staff.

Room Tip: Beachfront chalet was private with terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysteryevaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mysteryevaluator,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always great to receive such praise.

Many thanks for enjoying your stay with us and the points raised for our improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was there with family for a supposed luxury and relaxing experience at Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort ! Let me tell you that this place is no longer up to date (build in 1987) and Starwood Management should be ashamed to let this place going on without investing in refurbishment & renovation. Too many examples come to my mind but overall let say that there is minimum maintenance, we feel that there is no management ( even though local staff try to make their best effort), food is basic, restaurants are empty ( reason why we probably where granted a diner voucher) and overpriced. Overall feeling is to have spend 3 nights in some kind of haunted place, surviving on its glorious days back in the 90s and slowly, but surely fading away to a near closing....at the end of the day everybody loses: the customer, the hotel image and the local staff ! Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MajuKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MajuKL,

Thank you for providing this review.

I was disappointed to hear that your recent experience at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort did not leave you with a positive lasting impression of the resort, in that you found the facilities and service we offer were below the expected standard. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations and the inconvenience caused.

The property is more than 20 years old and has not been fully renovated since 2005. I am genuinely hopeful this is in the near future and your comments have been noted and suitably addressed in any forthcoming plans. Nevertheless, we still continue maintaining the facilities and take action to improve the service we offer for better guest experience.

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

Again, thank you for your time for posting your constructive feedback and your comments. If your future plans bring you back to Langkawi, please feel free to contact me at kumar.renoo@sheraton.com.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a partial seaview room, actually had a pool and seaview. Rooms are very spacious, bathrooms are also large, and balcony as well. Rooms could use a bit of polish but are clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast buffet restaurant is okay but don't expect any service there, other 2 restaurants have good food and variable service. Spa is very private and tranquil. Overall, the service orientation was very apparent. Internet available in lobby was painfully slow.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview or partial seaview unless you want total privacy, then request one of the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blindsaychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear blindsaychef,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments on our comfortable room and spa experience are greatly appreciated.

I am also grateful for your comments regarding the food served and your experience at our Food & Beverage Venues as well as the internet available at our lobby, as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service we are offering. Please be assured that normally every effort is made to minimize the discomfort of our guests and I would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.4 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#72 of 101 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#19 of 101 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#31 of 101 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Tepi, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing