We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, just that: average...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Ranked #71 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
London
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yes, just that: average...”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Sheraton standard greatly varies from one country to another it seems... in the case of Langkawi, we have a fading resort with average bungalows which made me think of Butlins in the UK. Thin walls, you can hear all what your neighbours are doing, when they're coming in, when they're coming out, toilet flushing, people coughing etc... Not the most relaxing and quiet place.
The terraces of the bungalows at the back have no view as such, just overlook some sort of mangrove so get ready for an invasion of mosies! I fully understand critters and mosies and monkeys come with places like this but there were already so many mosies when I arrived in the room, it was disheartening! The room was stiffling hot too - you'd think they'd put the AC on when you've told them what time you're checking in so that you find a room which is cool- not the case!
it's just the lack of attention to details in this hotel: having to wait for ages for the shuttle ( I was on my own so did not feel like walking in the dark), having to repeatedly call reception "is the shuttle coming soon?", having to call reception for mosies spray etc...
It is clear the cleaning ladies leave the doors open whilst they do the rooms and this let in so many mosquitoes, you'll have to spend your night killing them. Where's the spray? none provided.
The pool area wasn't very inviting, bit crowded, loud music... I'm sure however this would be perfectly fine for some but I'm not in Malaysia for the swimming pool, more for the beach. The beach wasn't too crowded, easy to get a sunlounger- quite good actually.
Bar staff were very friendly & did some mean Pinacoladas! Easy to chat to, attentive. People at reception were generally nice and helpful, I felt for them as there were quite a few people complaining...
I don't remember eating anything that made me go "wow" but it was acceptable.
However I was stunned they have the nerve to charge nearly £5.00 ( RM24) for a bottle of mineral water in the room. Sheer greed. Or maybe it is holy water??
In a nutshell, I feel I've made a mistake booking this resort, won't be fooled by the "Sheraton" brand again and definitely not a place I'd visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivingFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear DivingFrenchie,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us in this review.

I appreciate the feedbacks that you have provided regarding your recent stay with us. It is with regret to hear that your overall expectations were not met, in that you found our room comfort and service offered were below the expected standard.

Please accept my apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you had encountered due to the hot temperature and mosquitoes in your room upon your check in. Our Executive Housekeeper has noted and shared your concern with all Room Attendants to ensure our rooms (especially for expected arrivals rooms) are checked appropriately before release to guest to avoid any future disappointment.

Mosquitoes repellents are provided in our guest rooms. Guest may request for mosquitoes spray as well as additional repellents if needed through our Guest Services. Meanwhile, our Room Attendants have also been briefed to keep the door close when they do up the rooms to avoid mosquitoes from entering.

Shuttle bus service is provided for our guests’ convenience to move around the resort. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the long waiting time. You have my assurances that this has been looked into with our drivers to ensure guest’s requests are attended to appropriately.

Many guests appreciate the ambience and enjoy spending their time relaxing at our pool deck and beach area. Therefore, we placed sufficient deck chairs for our guests to use.

Thank you for your comment on the price of our bottled mineral water. Rest assured our Food & Beverage Manager has looked into your concern.

On the positive note, I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the service received from our Pool Bar and Front Desk team. They are the savior when comes to guest satisfaction.

Again, I regret for the shortfall areas and thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We hope you will give us an opportunity to improve and let us welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    431
    270
    193
    186
See reviews for
384
625
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The otherwise superb stay at this hotel can easily be spoiled by by not following two simple instructions:- Do not leave any food in the balcony and keep your doors closed especially when you have food in it!

I witnessed a neighboring chalet which was invaded by monkeys and help came only after a tantalizing ten minutes as the hotel chalets are on a sprawling ground.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear WLCHONG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I appreciate your kind reminder to others to keep their room door close to avoid the monkeys
from entering as well as for their safety purpose.

Thank you for enjoying your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort last week and I must admit after reading recent reviews we were a little bit worried about what we would find on arrival, however probably because our expectations weren't high we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is in quite a run down condition, but nothing a bit of a lick of paint in some areas and refurbishing in others wouldn't fix.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also allowed us a late check out on our last day until 3.00pm at no extra charge which was great for us.

I would note however that as we had booked some considerable time in advance so we had an early bird rate, maybe if we had paid full room rate we may have been a little more disappointed in how run down the hotel was.

There's another Sheraton Hotel nearer to Cenang and we wondered whether Sheraton and putting money into this newer hotel before upgrading the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort.

The hotel was very quiet and restful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Kayetraveller

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort in this review.

It is very kind of you to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality extended by our associates despite the shortfalls areas.

I could understand our guest's frustration when their expectations are not met and not being able to enjoy the experience that other Sheraton had provided for. Please rest assured, we value all feedbacks and regularly review with the team members to ensure actions are taken to improve areas of concern for guest satisfaction.

Maintenance is a challenge for this property and I acknowledge that there is a lot of work to accomplish in order to lift this property up to the expected standard. You have my assurances that work is underway and carried out in stages.

Yes, we have a sister property named Four Points by Sheraton Langkawi Resort. It is actually located nearer to the airport.

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel itself is I believe very nice and spacious, and the greenery gives it a great feel. The food was above average, though breakfast I felt was just OK and a bit overpriced. It was really relaxing to sleep with sounds of crickets and others, and I also got frequent visits from monkeys in my balcony, which was great provided I was able to hide the food :). Where this hotel I think is lacking is in its location, which is far away from beach and town, and may invite you to sort of get trapped in there.
So if you do not mind traveling a bit to get away, this is a great place to hide out for a little while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novivedeensalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Novivedeensalada,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with this review.

The resort nestles in the privacy of 38 acres of greenery. Wholly at one with nature, the Resort’s serene and informal surroundings present an idyllic atmosphere. Great efforts have also been taken to preserve mother nature at her best. This is evident by the number and variety of trees that surround the resort, with some trees protruding through walkways.

You will be similarly amazed at the numerous species of wildlife found at the Resort. Flying foxes, squirrels, monkeys and hornbills perching and resting on tree tops and in the tropical splendor that abound around the gardens of the Resort. Just a friendly reminder “Do not feed the monkeys”.

For easy movement around Langkawi island, I would suggest to rent a car. Our resort’s location though seems far from the hot spot like Cenang beach, it only takes 15 minutes drive to reach and taxis are available at the hotel most of the time.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind review and choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It s not just inviting, the atmosphere is amazingly calm yethappening.The staff is very eager to help and cordial.The rooms are totally upto the Sheraton standards.The private beach is the most amazing part i would say, specially the way it has been maintained.Our buffet breakfast had a decent lay out.The restaurant otherwise also had good food but i wont say outstanding.Main point of contention is its distance from the main Langkawi market.Though Taxi service is easily available but the stretch is a little lonely so a tourist might think twice before returning back very late to the hotel. Overall a very nice experience.looking forward to going back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhilasha_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear abhilasha_india,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I am very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Generally, our stay at Sheraton Langkawi was a great disappointment for us. It doesn't reflect the Sheraton brand name. The initial room that we checked into was in a deplorable condition and the bathroom was filthy. Thank goodness, the front office personnel was helpful and courteous. She arranged for a change of room. However, the other room was still unsatisfactory but told ourselves that we'll just make do with it. The pool looked dirty and made it unappealing for us to even have a swim in it. Imagine, going to Langkawi and not have the 'desire' to have a swim. We must complement the service rendered by the front office personnel who assisted us and the concierge for their excellent service. Overall, the hotel needs major refurbishment. Otherwise, would definitely not consider this hotel again if we make another trip to Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC100304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear DC100304,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us in this review.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that other Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the condition of our room as well as swimming pool and the inconvenience caused. Please rest assured, I have reviewed your concern with my team members and taken necessary actions to improve the facilities we offer for guest satisfaction.

Nevertheless, I appreciate your compliments on the service received from our Front Desk and Concierge team that has somehow made up all the shortcomings.

We understand that the shortfalls has tarnished your impression about us but we sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to improve and let us welcome you back.

Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband & I recently stayed at the Sheraton Langkawi for 1 week & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Admittedly the Resort does need some attention but I understand this is gradually being undertaken. Workmen were present during our stay.
Our room, a sea front jacuzzi room, was excellent. We found the staff particularly friendly especially Valerie at Front Desk & the staff around the pool. We loved the relaxed atmosphere & friendliness. We enjoyed the food on offer in the Restaurants. I look forward to seeing the boardwalk completed as this would be a lovely stroll. I do hope Starwood puts the time & money into this Resort as it is a great place.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonlangkawi, General Manager at Century Langkawi Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Julie E,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort for your holiday in Langkawi.

It is great to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and most importantly service provided by our associates especially Valerie and the Pool Bar team did leave you a good impression.

I appreciate your kind understanding that maintenance work is carried out regularly to improve the facilities we offer for better guest experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience encountered due to the closure of our boardwalk. I shall ensure our maintenance team speed up the repair work for the benefit of our guests.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
2.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 103 in Langkawi
555 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
2.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
10.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
7.4 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Langkawi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Langkawi Beach Resort

Property: Century Langkawi Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Nibong, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia (Formerly Century Four Points Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Century Langkawi Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shore of Peninsular Malaysia, an ancient group of islands collectively known as Pulau Langkawi awaits you. Our resort is nestled amidst 38 acres of spacious, lush tropical surroundings with private beach coves. Whether you crave an exciting escape or a peaceful sanctuary – you will find it in Langkawi. The resort is just a short 10-minute car ride from Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Langkawi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Hotel Langkawi
Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort
Langkawi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing