We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful family experience with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful family experience with exceptional service”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and 2 children stayed at The Westin Langkawi for 10 days in October. We were warmly greeted by the hotel reception staff during an exceptionally busy day for the hotel (conference scheduled to start). Much to our delight the front desk manager offered us the opportunity to upgrade to a beach front villa at a special rate - primarily due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked and the hotel was keen to ensure we had a really positive experience based on the length of our stay.

The beachfront villas are unique in that they have private plunge pools, butler service, golf cart transport to and from the key amenities, and other little in room touches such as internet access and kitchen facilities. Beautifully maintained, quiet locations and plenty of room for a small family. Generally used by 'Honeymooners' so as a family we were somewhat unique guetss in this part of the resort. We stayed in Villa 5002 which was close to the beach recreation centre and with easy access to the 'Taste' restaurant on the beach. The atmosphere from the villa was so pleasant my husband and I dinned on the terrace of our Villa most evenings with food delivered from the main Taste restaurant menu brought to our door with no extra charge and always via extremely professional, willing and cheerful food and beverage staff. My husband worked his way through all the local curries on the menu and could not decide which was his favourite - they were all excellent. Good choice and the childrens meals were fresh, simple and any minor changes they required to suit their likes and dislikes were readily accommodated.

Our 2 boys (4 and 6) took great delight in taking the golf carts to breakfast and also 'demanded' to be booked into the kids club (a great start for some adult time on holiday!). They made some friends, charmed the ladies in the club, and turned the 10 days into their own routine of kids club, pool activities and enyoying the villa.

The staff throughout the hotel were extremely attentive. Whenever we had any special requests they were granted and we were always made to feel like true guests of the hotel and island.

Both main pool areas never seemed busy (even when the hotel was full), and the hotel has lots of private enclaves in order to find personal space to relax in the grounds. Wed took the catamaran out a number of times and enjoyed the views of the coast. The beach is quiet and private but best used during high tide (can be a little 'muddy' to swim at low tide but very safe for children at all times. I had a number of treatments in the spa which were heavenly to say the least.

We have travelled extensively in the middle east and asia and we though the Westin was up there with some of the best of the hotels these regions have to offer for location, layout and experience. The villa was truly lovely and we would return again...

Many thanks to gobalan ramiah and his team who constantly checked we were enjoying our time at the hotel and made the experience very special for our 2 boys.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidayreview002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    825
    282
    92
    57
See reviews for
879
1,266
68
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovelly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the Westin, Langkawi. The location is secluded but still much easier to get to major places than other 5 star resorts. The room was simply beautiful with a perfect bed and shower. All meals we ate were fantastic. The buffet breakfast each day was a highlight and the romantic dining on the float one night was superb. All staff were incredibly friendly and provided perfect service. The resort is beautiful with great pools and amazing views. The little touches make the difference: free cocktails every night at happy hour, complimentary fruit and cold face towels brought to you by the pool. The taxis on Langkawi stick to their set fare prices and so it is easy and inexpensive to get around. Would definitely recommend and will return! Only one disappointment: the day we tried to do the cable car there were too many people, 2 hour wait became 3 hour wait and eventually we gave up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelina291180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLmgntRepresentative, The Management Team at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear angelina291180,

Greeting from The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa,

It has been a great pleasure to have you stayed with us and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. The entire team at The Westin Langkawi looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for another renewing stay.

Be well,
the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Great views, helpful staff, wonderful food at Tides and overall a truly relaxing experience

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLmgntRepresentative, The Management Team at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Nicci40,

Greeting from The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa,

It has been a great pleasure to have you stayed with us and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. The entire team at The Westin Langkawi looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for another renewing stay.

Be well,
the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a trip around Malaysia. Caught the ferry from Penang so the hotel was ideally located. Was initially disappointed that the hotel wasn't on Chenang Beach, however we drove through the area and were relieved that we weren't staying there after all.

Similarly to others, the room was not available upon check-in - however we were early and it was available when it said it would be. We paid for a "double-upgrade" to a ocean facing room (in the UK), they initally put us in the room next to the Lobby, I wasn't keen as felt the balcony lacked privacy and it was adjacent to the main door to the communal areas so they moved us without any fuss. Room was nice, however there was an adjoining door and on the 5th day smokers moved in next door - they moved us and said they would have upgraded us to a suite or villa if they were not all full (she showed us the booking system, they were full) and they offered us a complimentary dinner instead. We were moved to an OCEAN VIEW, overlooking the jetty and the room and balcony was much larger and the bathroom lacked any of the wear and tear, also there was a separate shower. It was quieter on that side of the building too - not that it was loud on the other side but less passers by, also your balcony got the sun in the evening. So would recommend paying for an ocean view, rather than the extra for ocean facing (ours was still ocean facing anyway).

Breakfast was great - pancake/waffle/crepe bar and smoothies were nice touches, there was sparkling wine available also if you were in the mood! The yoghurts with fruit puree were delicious. The buffet meals we had were good also, although drinking in the hotel does prove expensive. The BBQ night around the pool was really beautiful and there was some Malay entertainment, however people didn't really get "in to it" that much, ie lots of solitary clapping! We had a bar snack a few times - nachos etc - which sufficed for lunch after the enormous breakfast.

Taxis are easy and cheap, the concierge book them for you and gives you a price so no haggling/getting ripped off. We were able to find taxis back easily, either the restaurant booked one for us or a hotel called one for us also. Would recommend Wonderland - biggest prawns I've ever seen and lots of tasty dishes, very friendly staff also. Went to Charlies one night, very close to the hotel although lacked atmosphere; food was fine although more expensive than going in to "town".

Make use of the shuttle service to Langkawi Fair - whilst the shopping centre lacks shops, there are plenty of cafes and also a great foot massage place, best one we had in Malaysia. We had lunch in the Jetty Point too at the local cafe and that was great, curry, rice etc for about £2. There's also a 7-11 to stock up and a Baskin Robbins, if you're that way inclined...

We used the hotel taxi service one day to visit the cable car and the waterfall, great car -much newer and safer than the majority of the taxis, very smart and polite driver, 4 hours for £20 - you can't really complain!

The spa was nice, there was a lovely pool and bar there and it was a relaxing atmosphere being at the end of the resort by the beach. Treatments were more expensive than in KL and Penang but I had a good facial and my boyfriend had a good men's facial too.

The Recreation Centre was spookily quiet downstairs, imagine they're busier when there are more children using the facilities. The gym was well used and had nice touches like cold towels and lemon water. There is a jacuzzi and sauna there too and quite nice changing rooms, although the jacuzzi etc is male/female only. There was a Wii room also which you could rent per hour.

Other nice touches included - cold towels being brought round whilst sunbathing; chocolate cake one day and fruit platters at the pool bar another day; chilled water whenever you asked for it. Bottles of water in the room, more offered at "turndown". Complimentary cocktails and canapes in the bar was lovely and suprisingly undersubsribed.

The rooms were looking a little battered, mouldy bathroom seal and marks on mirrors; it appears that they have spent their money on the communal areas which seemed immaculate. Sounds girly but the whole place always smelt lovely! There was Wifi in the Lobby, however we found it really tricky to log in to and a shame that it didn't work in the rooms - common place in Europe etc but doesn't appear so in Malaysia.

Whilst the hotel was technically near full, it never full and you could easily find a spot for yourself. Although the beach wasn't golden sands dunes, it was private and made a nice place to sunbathe and walk. The rock pool was refeshingly cold in comparison to the stunning infinty pool. We were going to stay at the Sheraton - which we drove past - and are glad that we plumped for the Westin, although you could hear the ferries, they weren't loud and the resort was incredibly peaceful with beautiful views.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSI_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Just got back from our holiday in Malaysia where we spent 4 days in Langkawi at the Westin Resort. We stayed here 4 years ago as a place to relax after an hectic tour of Australia and always said we would like to return. So this year we did and had another great time. The hotel is looking a bit tired compared to the first time we stayed here, I don't think anything has been refurbished for sometime, although it is still comfortable and clean.
The buffet breakfast is first rate with lots of choice for all nationalities, including choice of cereals and super fresh fruit yoghurts, as well as freshly cooked eggs. We did try the buffet dinner on our first night but were disappointed a) with the choice and quality b) with the cost. It worked out expensive compared to the quality and service at the Tides Restaurant, where we ate on 2 other occasions. The wine list was good but very expensive considering this is a duty free island. The cheapest bottle was around 135RM or about £27 sterling. On our last evening we ventured in Kuah Town by taxi to the Wonderland Restaurant which had been recommended by a couple of people, one of which was a local. We had great seafood and a good bottle of wine for 120RM or £25 sterling. Alot cheaper than the hotel, OK the place is basic but the atmoshpere was great and the food good. The owner Ateem spoke good english and recommended a fish dish and tiger prawn. We were only sorry it was our last night but if we return to Langkawi we will certainly go there again.
The pool area is nicely laid out but is lacking in beds, particularly around the main pool. The gym facility was good with a number of machine including treadmills, bikes, steppers and crosstrainer. There are weight machines and also a small room with benchs and free weights. Also changing rooms with sauna and jacuzzi. The spa area is very relaxing and I felt indulged and spoilt.
We arranged an island tour with the driver who picked us up from the airport. There were two options on offer the 5 hour or 8 hour tour. We chose the shorter as travelling around in that humidity is very tiring. He picked us up at 9.30 and tailored the trip to see the things that interested us. Including the cable car ride, which was a great photo opportunity and a couple of waterfalls. He gave us lots of information about Langkawi's history and industries. We had lunch in Chenang, which is more of a typical beach resort area. The Seaworld was worth a visit if only to get out of the heat.
We will return to this hotel but hopefully after a refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazygolfer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

So I guess the important thing to say is yes we had a great time and would return to this hotel - but there were some irritations that spoilt what could have been a perfect experience.

Our experience seems to mirror so many comments already on here. Your arrival is wonderful with cool towels and a much needed drink and really friendly staff to talk you through check-in and the hotels facilities. We had arrived at 10.30am so did not expect our room to be ready - but it did take nearly 4 hours and chasing to get in. Not great when you've been traveling for the equivalent of over a day and are not used to 30 degrees of humid heat. Same problem on checking out - we weren't leaving until late evening so had requested late check-out for our last day as soon as we arrived. Having been assured we could stay in our room, when the time came we were made to move to a hospitality room. Seemed to us that particularly as the hotel wasn't full it would have been easy to change this experience - allocate a courtesy room on arrival to allow arriving guests to freshen up and current guests to stay in their room, meaning everyone starts and ends their stay well.

Having said this, everything in between was great. We had a Deluxe Ocean View room which I would recommend - it was very spacious and we had both a garden view balcony and a huge sun terrace. As other reviewers have commented on, the rooms have clearly been well used with a various knocks, scrapes and scratches but everything worked - from the huge plasma and dvd player, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer etc. and fab shower. And of course the wonderful Heavenly bed ensured excellent sleep each and every night.

We enjoyed eating at the hotel (except for one occasion) with breakfast a real delight with anything you want on offer including eggs, pancakes and waffles cooked to order. We had the buffet dinner a few times which was great with the exception of one night when there appeared to be little choice, few staff and some undercooked - in fact, practically raw - chicken on offer which was completely unacceptable. The Tides restaurant by the beach was great with some wonderful fresh fish available. Yes, you will pay more for eating in the hotel but we didn't feel ripped off and there is really only one other restaurant within walking distance off the complex. And there is the great Breeze bar serving food and drink all day with great views out across the bay. The staff in the restaurants were superb - really friendly, helpful and worked so hard and clearly took pride in their work.

The hotel has great facilities with 4 pools on offer, well equipped gym, beautiful spa and lots to keep kids occupied including a Wii room. The beach was not exactly white powder-soft sand (kids might not enjoy it as much as other beaches on the island) but the advantage was it was very quiet with either sun loungers or beach 'pods' available for you to relax in peace and quiet. We used the pods a couple of days and barely saw another person all day!

In terms of location though, if you are looking for complete tranquility then this may not be the place for you - although it didn't bother us you do have a fairly constant stream of small ferries going into the local port that break the silence (try Datai Bay if you want total tranquility). The bay is pretty picture perfect though with hornbills and sea eagles putting on a display each day and it is pretty easy to track down some monkeys to pose for pictures if that's what you are after too.

Other facilities the hotel has is the ability to rent a car from them (or they will happily organise for an outside car hire company, taxi, chauffeur or guided tour) which we did for a couple of days. Langkawi is very easy to drive around (drive on the left, right-hand drive cars) with a decent road network and plenty of fuel stations.

We had a great time and returned relaxed and with smiles on our faces - just a few niggles that for us it felt should have been easy to eliminate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLmgntRepresentative, The Management Team at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Happytrip8,

Greeting from The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa,

Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor.

We are concerned to note that there is undercooked food being presented in dinner during your stay. We have highlighted this issue to our culinary team and been instructed to immediately take action in this aspect.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your entire stay despite the above shortcomings. The entire team at The Westin Langkawi looks forward to welcoming you and your partner back for another renewing stay.

be well,
the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is our second time staying at this hotel and we have loved it both times. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind totally then this is hard to beat.

Some reviews have mentioned that the hotel is a bit tired in areas and I would agree but it is a beach hotel with a relaxed vibe and we love it.

The only thing that really does let it down is the food - it is expensive and most of our meals were average at best and some were very poor - not what I would expect in a 5 star hotel. This is a real pity as the local food is great and really puts it to shame.

One thing I did find bizarre about the room was the shower - you have to climb over a wide wall to get into it. After bruising my knees twice trying to get into it I followed the instructions pasted on the wall (yes they have instructions on how to get into the shower) that explain you have to sit on the wall, hold onto a rail and swing your legs over it and into the bath. Totally pointless and elderly people might have problems with it.

Would I go back to this hotel? Absolutely, I just wish that they would sort the food out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaBroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLmgntRepresentative, The Management Team at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear DaBroons,

Greeting from The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa,

Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers on TripAdvisor.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the pricing and quality of our food. We have highlighted this issue and will review it to improve on the quality and ensure the price will be more in line with our competitors.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay despite the above shortcomings you have experienced. The entire team at The Westin Langkawi looks forward to welcoming you and your partner back for another renewing stay.

be well,
the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
9.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing