We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The St. Regis Langkawi(Langkawi)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Akasia Hotel(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (3,320)
    Filter reviews
    3,320 results
    Traveler rating
    1,947
    911
    301
    96
    65
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,947
    911
    301
    96
    65
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstide restaurantbreeze baryacht clubheavenly bedseasonal tastesinfinity poolbedroom villaocean viewkids clubspg memberjetty pointkuah townprivate beachandaman seabuffet breakfastmain poolan upgrade
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,917 - 2,922 of 3,320 reviews
    Reviewed July 14, 2007

    This beat all expectations. Starting with a welcome drink on a couch whilst they organised check in to the comlimentary drop off to the airport. The room was great.. the pool was awesome.. it was difficult to lift a finger yourself before it was done for you. Food whilst expensive by local standards was fantastic and reasonably priced for a 5 star resort. The spa was the ultimate relaxation experience with very professionally trained staff that made you feel that they had a personal stake in your relaxation level. Both my wife and I went everyday and enjoyed every moment.
    The tour desk organised a great diving trip for us and we went to this restuarant called Hole in the Wall ( www.holein thewall.com.my ) that was recommended by a friend and by the time we got there the concierge had rung them and organised a boat to the restuarant etc. BTW you have to do this... the restuarant is on a floating fish farm on the Kilim river and you literally point to the food you want... great place to relax and see the night in..
    All in all from the welcome to the room to the food to the pool and spa to the great cocktails in the bar (try the expressotini) to the lounge in the airport it was the one of the best holidays and we will be back ... next time for longer.. 3 nights was not enough...

    • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Probal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 8, 2007

    My wife and I were at this resort in May. In some ways, we lucked out because it was in the off-season, and it was pretty empty. THe amenities were fantastic, and the staff were extremely attentive, friendly, and helpful. Since there were few other customers, it sometimes felt like we have 2 staff for every visitor.

    The breakfast buffet at the main restaurant was delicious, although the selection got tiring towards the end of our 4 day visit. Dinner at the restaurant down by the beach was good.
    The daily cocktail hour was a treat.

    Overall, the resort has a chic style to it, and the ambience during the night was very nice... traditional/modern music, nice lighting... it almost felt like a hip lounge!

    The room which we had was a normal room with one king bed. Overall, the rooms were in good condition; however, there were some smal things such as dirty tiles along the bathtub that basically showed the age and/or wear-and-tear that a place like this must get.

    We took advantage of the spa services, and they too were fantastic. It seemed like everything we ordered had a discount to it!

    Would we go back and stay here? ABSOLUTELY!

    • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Geepers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 26, 2007

    My husband and I spent three nights at the Westin in Langkawi as a stopover on our way back to London and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind.

    From our arrival until the time we departed, we had excellent service. Check in was prompt (even though we had accidentally booked for 2008 rather than 2007), staff were always friendly and were only too happy to answer any questions or queries. An example of their attention to detail: on our first day, we were enjoying a cocktail at Breeze and chatting to one of the staff and in passing mentioned that it was to be my husband's birthday in a few days (part of the reason for the trip). At breakfast on the birthday, a staff member approached me, asking me to confirm that it was my husband's birthday and then promptly organised a birthday cake surprise.

    The pool area at the hotel is lovely with great views looking out to the ocean. We spent most of our time here although did swim in the private beach a couple of times which was clean and very calm. Food and drink costs at the hotel are OK considering it's a 5 star hotel and but obviously, you can get better value for money outside the hotel and staff have great recommendations. Although the hotel isn't located in the main area, taxis are cheap so getting around is easy.

    The Spa is definitely worth a visit - it's lovely and tranquil, not to mention the fact I had an excellent massage there.

    A great place to unwind, would definitely recommend.

    • Stayed: June 2007
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank 5Star_OZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 18, 2007

    We have just returned from our 5 nights stay in the Westin Langkawi. On our first day we arrived early in the morning by Ferry from Penang. Our room was immediately available, however we decided to pay for an upgrade to a seaview room. The advantage of this would be that we were allowed to have a late checkout (without additional cost) because our flight was scheduled on 8.30 PM.
    Our room and view was really great. We loved the daybed on which we could still relax during rain. The breakfast was nice. Once we had dinner in the Taste restaurant. It was nice. But what I really did not like are the prices for lunch, dinner and breakfast. We have seen KL, Penang and Langkawi. In comparison the Westin is even more expensive than KL (were we stayed in the Sheraton) and prices are double compared with the great E&O in Penang. Of course I know that hotelprices are more expensive than when going to town. But when prices are even more expensive than in the Netherlands and 8 times the prices which need to be paid in local restaurants for drinks. You are really doing something wrong.

    And then back to our late check out. They told us when paying more for an upgrade that this was free of charge. But when informing the reception about exact time this was not possible because the hotel is full. (And it whas really quiet the rest of the week). But when we wanted to pay something it could be arranged. Strange if you are telling that the hotel is completely booked. You shouldn't have any rooms left. After complaining, the manager told us on the next day that we could keep the room free of charge. This is nice. But it gives us a strange taste.

    Concluding: The hotel is excellent, but they can learn something about service and pricing policy. In town you can eat excellent for 2 with RM 100 (including prawns, fisch), in the hotel you pay RM 120 each without drinks.

    • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    4  Thank EsterAriadne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 9, 2007

    Wow, we stayed at Westin Langkawi for 3 nights and absolutly loved it that when we went to check into the Sheraton Langkawi for 4 nights we stayed only 1 night and went back to the westin... it didnt compare.

    The whole unwind experience, the hevenly bed and bath, the tea sents and the staff were amazing. It really showed the meaning of a 5 star hotel.

    The rooms were fantastic, the food was always different and fantastic - great chef, and the staff really made such an impact to our stay. We didnt have to do a thing. From them knowing exactly when we were going to walk into Breeze bar and had our favourite drinks ready to the band singing our names and our favourite songs every night.

    To the pool bar staff who always friendly and cater to your every needs. The lobby manager was fantastic. She helped us with everything from organising a boat trip with lunch and drink all included and we didnt have to do a thing.

    Well done Westin and Starwood, you unwind, relax and renew concept is amazing and it really worked. It made a 6 day holiday feel like a month away.

    • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    1  Thank Strawbs001
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews