We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not only as a travel agent but also as a guest I can highly recommend it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not only as a travel agent but also as a guest I can highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

I am a tourguide who travels all over the world and mostly stay in luxury hotels... I must say that the WESTIN LANGKAWI is one of my fmost favourite places !

I knew the hotel when it was a Sheraton Hotel, but since it became WESTIN its has transformed into a jewel. The rooms are spacious ... and you find everything you need .

The hotelstaff is very friendly and helpful and if you have a problem or question, they have an answer.

The hotel was fully booked but I could not feel it .. we thought we were the only hotelguests.

Our farewell dinner at the beach was sooo delightfull. During dinner, it started to rain and more than 20 people (staff) were moving everything up tot he Tide Restaurant and our party went on.. Thanks alot to the staff ! You are wonderful.

The Executive Chef was always around and asking if we had a wish .. Where can you find that ?

I was very surprised how flexible the Spa staff was.. (no reservation) I had a wonderful malaysian massage which I can highly recomend in a very relaxing atmosphere.

I cant wait to go back again...

JP Wirz (a world traveller)

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    807
    275
    91
    57
See reviews for
849
1,233
65
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georginacw
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

We visited the Westin last week. Some of the highlights - staff, rooms, spa, pools, leisure centre, watersports and free cocktail at the bar. Some of the things we did not like were: food was not excellent - it was very good and masses of choice but not exceptional. It matched the food available in the village but was 20x the price, literally. For ease we ate at the hotel but had a meal quarter of the price at Charlie's place (within walking distance) and a 20th of the price from the hawkers stall and market (wed and sat night). Also the sea was not clear - lots of silt. We spent most of the time in the 3 swimming pools offered by the hotel which were exceptional. We hired a car which is a must and expoled. Alot of the tourist attractions were poor except the cable car and the food was average (a disappointment after Kuala Lumpur and Singapore) so we spent our time on the beach and doing some watersports. The cost of them was not too extreme at the hotel but it would have been nice if they were free.
The hotel staff were exceptional and looked after us well. There were many communication issues but we don't speak Malaysian so why should we expect them all to understand English!!
Perfect for honeymoon, luxurous spa and leisure facilities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georginacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

We, the Shroff's and Amarnani's would like to thanks for all the staff of Westin Langkawi and to all of you guys... without you Pavan and Roshni wedding would not be possible! We promise you to cherish the moments and treasure the unforgettable experiences:)

Once again, thank you very much!

Shroff's and Amarnani's

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Staying at Westin was the absolute best choice for me and my 2 best friends to spend our holidays. Bestowed to Westin upon the natural view of the sea and the tranquility that surrounds it! Although we missed out the sea view from our room, due to high occupancy, the garden rooms are well kept (superbly clean) and we enjoyed the smell of fresh air from the garden. The service was excellent and the picturesque view of sunset can be seen from our favourite Breeze Bar. On top of that, Westin is able to offer us a package that can be easily arranged for our diving trip. Breakfast was heavenly spread while overlooking the horizon. We will definitely come back again to explore more of Langkawi, with Westin!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora_Devilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

I was in Langkawi from 24th Jan to 27th Jan and I stayed in Westin Langkawi. I have no regrets!

There was a spacious balcony in my room and it was overlooking the garden. My friends and I were able to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature right from our hotel room

The staffs were friendly and they tried their best to cater to our every need. They were more than happy to assist us in making arrangements for water sports such as Scuba Diving, Canoeing etc.

Do not forget to swim in at least one of their four swimming pools and visit the Heavenly Spa (Heavenly indeed).

It is worth every penny. I wish I’d stayed there longer!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola_Mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is a fabulous place to stay! Great property, great pool, great beach that is very private... great lil spa as well... though the room we stayed in didnt have a great view, it more than made up with its large size and small sit out... overall its was a great stay!

  • Liked — luxurious certainly...
  • Disliked — some rooms face the driveway!?
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

The resort architecture is very dated. Deceived by how modern decor looks great in photos but actually quite worn out already. The rooms were well-designed but a bit dark, and now tired from use, and balcony is small. Corridors were terribly worn and bare--can't believe they left them like that! Gardens rather bland and simple- no lush greenery. Pools had variety but lacked the fine detail expected of Westin. Even the villas sitting on the beach looked a bit bland. Overall not worth the price. You can do much better for resorts in Asia. We only went there because Thailand was having a coup.

If you still want to go, the positives are: View of ocean was beautiful, visible from most parts of hotel! If you want a view from your room, have to get Sea-view Room. Private beach was not good for swimming, but lovely for quiet walks. Both lunch and dinner at Tide highly recommended because of great views/ambiance, despite (again) decor tired. Buffet breakfast was brilliant. Overall we still had an enjoyable and relaxing experience, once you got over the faded decor that you paid too much for!

We took the Mangrove tour, which was the cheapest one on their list, but it was actually quite beautiful nature and a very refreshing ride out on the river. Points to the staff who actually recommended this.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resortenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
13.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing