We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Langkawi was Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Westin Langkawi was Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

My Husband and I chose the Westin Langkawi for our honeymoon and we both agreed that it was an absolutely amazing and beautiful hotel and was a wonderful place to have stayed. Our hotel room was wonderful, very spacious and the decor was beautiful. The staff were extremely friendly and really couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a pleasant stay and that we had everything that we needed. We were invited to an evening of complimentary cocktails at the Breeze Lounge and were introduced to the Manager of the hotel as well as other key members of the staff which was really nice and quite a personal touch. The standard of hygiene in the hotel was extremely high throughout and we returned to a pristine room every day. My Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the food in the hotel and enjoyed the fact that we could eat in the various restaurants/bistros with the hotel such as the Breeze Lounge, Taste, at the pool area and even at the Heavenly Spa. The Heavenly Spa was an absolute treat and the massages we received there were truly amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This hotel was stunning and we are planning to go back there for an anniversary. The Westin is a 15 minute pleasant walk to the area where you can book all of your trips to go snorkeling and even to travel by boat to Thailand for the day and to also hire a car or scooter. I would recommend hiring a scooter and touring the island and travel to Chenang beach where you can do alot of watersports but you will like travelling back to stay in the Westin. It was sensational all round. Thank you to all the staff at the Westin Langkawi for making our stay at your hotel so special. We really hope to see you again soon.

  • Liked — The Hotel was beautiful, immaculately clean, beautiful decor, beautiful rooms and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — If you wanted to relax in your room and watch television the channels were really poor and there was no cable tv or movie channels
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AJRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    817
    280
    91
    57
See reviews for
870
1,251
65
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

We decided to stay at the westin for a short break for the family, 2 adults with a 2 year old and an 8 year old. The staff were very friendly and the building and surrounding area very well maintained. We went in the wet season, which it never rained until our last day. The kids club was fantastic and our daughter had the best time, I guess her being the only child in the club that day made it even better. The 3 pools were also lovely and to sit back and enjoy the sun setting over the water was wonderful. The buffet breakfast had a lot of variety and was included in the price of the accommodation. We ate dinner at the restautant down by the pools, there was variety and the food was lovely. Having the ferry just down the road was great.
We will return again in 2009.

  • Liked — they had a kids club and the location/ views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Spent 12 days at the Langkawi Westin and we would say it was quite OK, but i would not rush to go back. We (a family with teenagers) stayed in a large villa with ocean view.

On the positive side:
- beds were very comfortable, nice sheets
- overall condition of the property good and cleanliness good
- breakfast buffet was excellent
- staff are very friendly and accommodating, particularly the villa attendants
- i have read in the reviews that some people don't like beach---if you want mounds of soft sand and water sports action, you should go to Pantai Cenang--but we found it OK
- property is a short walk to Yacht Club where you book different boating activities
- business center good with helpful staff, good computers and printer, etc

On the negative side:
- the nearness to the port of Kuah means for a lot of boat traffic; it's far away and not terrible but a little on the noisy side
- the main bar Breeze and breakfast restaurant Taste are good; however the restaurant down by the beach was consistently awful, and unfortunately you don't only want to have to eat in the breakfast room all the time
- adding insult to injury was the outrageously expensive "mandatory" New Year's Eve party with bad music and food---cost us $200 p.p.
- to get to many of the other good restaurant options you have to drive 30 mins to Pantai Tengah / Pantai Cengah
- only 2 tennis courts
- spa nice but overpriced
- if you stay, make sure you ask for one of the villas; the regular rooms did not so appealing

  • Liked — villas were very nice
  • Disliked — food except breakfast room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank a_freq_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

For the price, value for money, location and the view, Langkawi Westin is the best!

Very relaxing, informal but charming and simplay stunning. The staff were not very friendly but professional. I wish the management could place the pool table/recreational room below the lobby so that visitors could do something at night.

Love the Zen garden and its sunset view at the hotel jetty. Dont forget to hire and small sail boat and sail around the hotel. Bring your camera.

Highly recommended for honeymooners and families.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The food price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ewan20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

I stayed at the Westin in October 07, after checking out tripadviser reviews. I have only recently got round to writing a review, a year later as been using tripadviser a lot lately. Most of the reviews i read on trip adviser were good but a couple said beach not great and rooms not clean. The view from the pool out to sea was amazing but the beach had a lot of shells on but i guess it was rainy season, it was still white sand though. The rooms were clean, just not as clean as you would perhaps clean your own home, if you have high standards. Also the view from the cheaper rooms with no balcony wasn't great, but most of the time was spent outside anyway.

The hotel was lovely but we found Langkawi in October is VERY quiet. Plus it was just after Eid and everyone was still on vacation. It felt like a ghost town. We even went to the main tourist area (otherside of island) and that was also very quiet would like to go back in peak season to see the difference. Good day trips to places though and i guess location of hotel is ok as its near the small town.

  • Liked — view out to sea
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

My husband and i visited the Westin Langkawi for 4 days 3 nights fr 25Nov to 28 Nov through a partial redemption of my starwood points which were expiring at the end of the year. The trip was also meant to be a romantic getaway for us before we welcomed our baby next year and it was also timed to celebrate my birthday.

We stayed at the Deluxe Ocean View room (apparently we were upgraded), which was nice, though we didnt have a direct facing to the ocean. The bed was nice and comfy with nice, white clean sheets and definitely lived up to the Heavenly Bed reputation that Westin is known to have. The hotel also had an amazing good sea view, and within the vicinity was a yacht club which had many private yachts docking - it reminded us of our visit to Russell town in Auckland last year.

However, we found some ants crawling around the desk, and i felt that the hotel could have been better maintained- you could see that the doors were scratched and could do with some polishing. The hotel carpets had a musky smell which could certainly do with some cleaning. Also, as per all reviews, food was expensive in the hotel, and personally, the buffet breakfast that we had through my points redemption one morning wasnt as good as i had expected. My husband and i agreed that the curry chicken was rancid, and the food quality was just not what i would have expected from a hotel like Westin although there was a huge spread.

On our second day there, we had to call for housekeeping at least twice but to no avail, until finally by 2pm we gave up, but left word with a staff member as a gentle reminder before we headed out to explore the island. It was also my birthday on that day, but there wasnt any gesture from the hotel - like a complimentary slice of cake or anything, something i would have expected given that i am a starwood preferred guest and this was an international brand name. In this aspect, i felt that they lacked the attention to detail that a local 4 star hotel in Beijing was able to provide when they had a cake delivered to my husband's room during his birthday a few years back and this was disappointing.

Last but not least, we had a really late evening flight and had requested for a late checkout, but the hotel staff was inflexible and refused to extend our checkout beyond 1pm and insisted that we had to pay a ridiculous rate for every hour we stayed as they were on full occupancy! This certainly didnt make sense as if they were running on full occupancy, no amount of money could have "bought" us more time in the room. In the end, we gave up and ended up sitting at Starbucks at the airport for 6 whole hrs while waiting for our flight home. I felt that the hotel staff that was attentive to details should have been more flexible especially since i was visibly pregnant.

On the whole, i would say that Langkawi is a nice town which has the potential to be the next Bali or Phuket if its properly done up, but my stay at the Westin was disappointing that i wont return to stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable Heavenly Bed
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGgalSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

I loved the Westin. Everything about it was just fantastic, from the location, the views, the pool area, the phenomenal breakfast buffet and the staff. Our room overlooked the sea and it was so lovely to sit there with a drink watching the sunset at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. Also, Westin have special beds - the Heavenly bed - and our bed truly was heaven, and so large that my boyfriend and I were miles apart! I loved the Breeze bar - there was a great selection of martinis, which I worked my way through, and we treated ourselves to the Wagyu beef one night for dinner, which was an experience not to be missed. The Filipino band in Breeze were amazing - three girls with mega voices - they should've been on X Factor, their singing was that good! I didn't try the spa, but walked through it and it looked fantastic and very peaceful.

I visited a couple of other hotels on the island while we were there. The Four Seasons was truly magnificent, but obviously much more expensive and the Sheraton looked a bit down-at-heel, although the surroundings were beautiful. I was glad I picked the Westin to stay in because it was right beside the main town on the island and so there were other places to eat at night rather than in the hotel. Having said that, the food in the hotel was really great and we only ate outside just for a change.

I will definitely go back to this hotel, but next time for longer. It was the perfect place for a romantic break and there is lots to do in Langkawi if you like sightseeing - Bird Sanctuary, Mangrove tour, cable car ride, snake farm, crocodile farm, etc., etc. And next time I will leave my duty free alcohol purchase until I arrive in Langkawi! The selection there is amazing - I saw products I had not seen anywhere else before!

  • Liked — The Heavenly Bed and the view.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all. It was perfect.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leopard_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
9.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing