We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway retreat”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights to get over our jet lag and it was perfect. The resort is almost at 'the end of the island', so it is perfect for doing absolutely nothing. Enjoy the nice pools, beach and other facilities is all you get. I loved the fresh pool and the quietness of the property. A little downside is that you are more or less stuck at the place for everything.

PS. I can imagine that the amount of people wearing burqa's can be uncomfortable for women,who don't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Janteloven,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always proud to agree on the location of the resort is where you can enjoy spectacular scenery of surrounding islands and the tranquil ocean view .Thank you for mentioning our pools especially our fresh water rock pool; which captures the healthy essence of fresh water, artfully landscaped with rounded boulders and surrounded by lush tropical foliage .We also appreciate that you have mentioning our lovely beach and our facilities had meet your expectation during the stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay with us the next time!  


Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    838
    283
    92
    57
See reviews for
917
1,282
70
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singaopre
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed over at the Westin while attending a wedding event at the Westin. When we got to the hotel, we were impressed - it has a large 'resort' feel to the hotel.

With 3 swimming pools and a view of the beach and islands, it certainly had a picturesque and relaxing vibe to it. Perhaps a little too relaxing as the pool bar takes a while (and i mean a long while) to get an order, or to serve an order. Attendants can be seen chatting (no offence, but do keep a lookout while chatting) even though customers are waiting at the bar to make an order.

The hotel has a wooden theme and that runs into the rooms.

Rooms are well appointed, clean, large and with lots of wood finishing, giving it a relaxing vibe. Furniture was 'basic' - apart from a large sized bed, there were only a 'basic' sofa and a working table. Probably doesnt hurt since you are on a holiday.

Breakfast was fantastic with a good selection of cuisine - a good way to start a day.

The staff (apart from the incident at the pool bar) were generally smiling and welcoming. The organisation and particiation for the wedding was fantastic, and the staff helping the wedding kept a smiling and cheerful disposition despite the heat in the day and late nights.

Gripes? Well if I must - the hotel was rather far from the airport so give yourself good time to get to the airport. And perhaps the hotel was also set away from local restaurants and it might be a little hard getting a taxi (at a resonable price) to get you to a local restaurant to try the cuisine outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear jules_s13,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate that you highlighting our ‘’big house’’ resort concept in a way to reflect the culture and value , concept which to provide natural retreat and luxurious stay for guest experiences in an urban enclave .Thank you for mentioning our unique pools , however, we apologies the shortcoming you experienced regarding our associates at pool bar.We have address this to the respective team and carry out the necessary trainings to improve on the service quality . We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms. These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You.Additionally, thank you for recognizing our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast at our newly renovated Seasonal Taste. We truly happy to know that overall service provided by our associates during the stay and special occasion had meet your expectation. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Picturesque property. Calm and peace delicately mixed with leisure activities at a beautiful sight. We stayed in the resort during the first week of july. The hospitality experienced was as expected at par with global standards.

Location: Slightly uphill, away from the city chaos. If you’re looking to relax in tranquillity, its the best place. And if you crave for some touristy stuff, you could drive to Pantai Cenang which is always buzzing. Its is about 15-20 kms from the hotel, so a cab hire is the best option. If you’re up for a good walk, nearby malls and the yacht club are good options to explore.

Pool vs Beach: I wouldn’t rate the beach very highly, the cracked shells and crabs dint make it easy on us. But the beautiful pool makes up for everything.

Food: The multi-cuisine restaurant is a good option but what we totally loved was the lounge overlooking the sea. Striking sight in the evenings when you hang out at the patio with your drink.

Rooms: Very well kept and maintained.
Overall, its an experience that should not be missed, we saw few more properties in Langkawi, but nothing comes close to Westin Resort.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, on the lobby level, for getting the most out of the resort experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neha_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Neha_RS,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your holiday. We appreciate you mentioning the beauty of our resort which have immerse your body and soul through the magnificent of the scenery and strategic location where the azure Andaman sea and green forest met. We also glad that our hospitality have meet your expectations and our unique pools which have pleased you during the stay.Furthermore, thank you for mentioning our restaurant and we happy to know that you have enjoyed you evening with a glorious view from our Breeze bar and we appreciate your generous remark about our nicely rejuvenate room. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Langkawi again in the near future!

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for a week at The Westin in July 2014 and enjoyed it thoroughly. The staff have been very attentive, friendly and efficient. The hotel pool is a must-do! I am sure it's the envy of every hotel on Langkawi. We ate here for dinner and lunch pretty much most days and prices were comparative to Australia. The only issue would be location which is far from the tourist area of Pantai Cenang - but nothing a 34 RM taxi ride couldn't fix if we wished to venture out. Perfect for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Indra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Indra K,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We truly glad to know that you enjoyed during the stay with us. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the heartbeats of the resort! Thank you for mentioning our unique pool and enjoyed the overall dining experience during the stay.We are really grateful for your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future!

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed with our 2 kids, a toddler and a baby, all our requests were met, cost, upgrade, every time I pick up the phone to ask for something you find a friendly staff on the other line who is willing to do anything to assist. We received a VIP treatment, we got serviced by this lovely lady at the front reception Imraztum ( I hope it's the correct spelling) and the same person greeted us back to our car as we were leaving.
The only negative comment I have was about breakfast, it was in the lower lobby as they had reservation, lower lobby Restaurant didn't have any air condition and there were flies, so I spent my breakfast fighting flies and was too hot to eat, also there's a lot of variety of food but not very tasty.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms on second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weza_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Weza_travel,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your holidays. We are glad that our service met your expectation .Thank you for mentioning our friendly and attentive associate. We also truly delighted that you recognize one of our associates; Imruz Rastom from our Front office team who were able to fulfill your needs during your stay. On the other hand, we apologize the shortcoming you experienced regarding restaurant ambience and that the food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our culinary team and will review and look for possible improvements. The current good news that we like to share, is, that our renovated Seasonal Taste Restaurant is open again with a nice refreshed look. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoetermeer
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel with super views on the islands in the sea. Nice beach were you can go in a canoe or take the hoby-cat or the surf board. Very friendly staff which makes live good over there. The pool is amazing with a bar and a view on the sea. Meals are delicious and the breakfast is GREAT! everything you cash think of is at the breakfast.Never ever seen such a great breakfast.
Go there and you will enjoy.
Next time we visits Langkawi we will stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeZoetermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Life Zoetermeer,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed stay here .Thank you for mentioning our private beach, our unique pool and we always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, spectacular location and that the resort offers outstanding ocean view. Moreover, we appreciate for your generous remark regarding our excellent services and friendly staff. Thank you recognizing our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast .We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent resort. First Langkawi itself is beautiful. On top of that the location of the resort - with it's own beach, beautiful layout, number of pools, restaurant and very helpful and courteous staff our stay couldn't have been better.
We went there with the sole purpose of relaxing and that's what we did. Our room was not ready when we arrived (not their fault - we arrived early) but knowing that we had overnight flight from Delhi the lady at the reception thoughtfully obliged by upgrading us to an available room. The rooms are quite spacious.The food variety across various restaurant is very good. We made good use of the spa practically each day of our stay. The only negative point I can say is that the Steam and Sauna is not part of the Spa and is quite far, so impractical to use before or after the massage. Had they been part of the spa our relaxation plan would have been complete.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivGuptaLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear RajivGuptaLagos,

Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate very much on your encouraging remarks about our beautiful location, unique pools and our great accommodation. We appreciate for your generous remark regarding our outstanding services and friendly staff. Moreover, we are also happy to hear that our foods have exceeded your expectation. Thank you for highlighting award winning Heavenly Spa, we glad you love and enjoyed the experience which had immerse your mind and body and rejuvenate your spirit in a soothing sanctuary of serenity. On the other hand, we appreciate that you shared that you would have felt even better if the saunas, which are located next to the fitness, squash and tennis courts were closer to the Spa. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our resort for another rejuvenating stay again

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,330 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 103 in Langkawi
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing