We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and great customer service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed with our 2 kids, a toddler and a baby, all our requests were met, cost, upgrade, every time I pick up the phone to ask for something you find a friendly staff on the other line who is willing to do anything to assist. We received a VIP treatment, we got serviced by this lovely lady at the front reception Imraztum ( I hope it's the correct spelling) and the same person greeted us back to our car as we were leaving.
The only negative comment I have was about breakfast, it was in the lower lobby as they had reservation, lower lobby Restaurant didn't have any air condition and there were flies, so I spent my breakfast fighting flies and was too hot to eat, also there's a lot of variety of food but not very tasty.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms on second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weza_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Weza_travel,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your holidays. We are glad that our service met your expectation .Thank you for mentioning our friendly and attentive associate. We also truly delighted that you recognize one of our associates; Imruz Rastom from our Front office team who were able to fulfill your needs during your stay. On the other hand, we apologize the shortcoming you experienced regarding restaurant ambience and that the food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our culinary team and will review and look for possible improvements. The current good news that we like to share, is, that our renovated Seasonal Taste Restaurant is open again with a nice refreshed look. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    824
    282
    92
    57
See reviews for
879
1,264
67
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zoetermeer
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel with super views on the islands in the sea. Nice beach were you can go in a canoe or take the hoby-cat or the surf board. Very friendly staff which makes live good over there. The pool is amazing with a bar and a view on the sea. Meals are delicious and the breakfast is GREAT! everything you cash think of is at the breakfast.Never ever seen such a great breakfast.
Go there and you will enjoy.
Next time we visits Langkawi we will stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeZoetermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Life Zoetermeer,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed stay here .Thank you for mentioning our private beach, our unique pool and we always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, spectacular location and that the resort offers outstanding ocean view. Moreover, we appreciate for your generous remark regarding our excellent services and friendly staff. Thank you recognizing our wide range of signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast .We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent resort. First Langkawi itself is beautiful. On top of that the location of the resort - with it's own beach, beautiful layout, number of pools, restaurant and very helpful and courteous staff our stay couldn't have been better.
We went there with the sole purpose of relaxing and that's what we did. Our room was not ready when we arrived (not their fault - we arrived early) but knowing that we had overnight flight from Delhi the lady at the reception thoughtfully obliged by upgrading us to an available room. The rooms are quite spacious.The food variety across various restaurant is very good. We made good use of the spa practically each day of our stay. The only negative point I can say is that the Steam and Sauna is not part of the Spa and is quite far, so impractical to use before or after the massage. Had they been part of the spa our relaxation plan would have been complete.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivGuptaLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear RajivGuptaLagos,

Thank you for writing your review. We appreciate very much on your encouraging remarks about our beautiful location, unique pools and our great accommodation. We appreciate for your generous remark regarding our outstanding services and friendly staff. Moreover, we are also happy to hear that our foods have exceeded your expectation. Thank you for highlighting award winning Heavenly Spa, we glad you love and enjoyed the experience which had immerse your mind and body and rejuvenate your spirit in a soothing sanctuary of serenity. On the other hand, we appreciate that you shared that you would have felt even better if the saunas, which are located next to the fitness, squash and tennis courts were closer to the Spa. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our resort for another rejuvenating stay again

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed with a group of friends for seven nights in May. We stayed in a standard room with a garden view and a glimpse of the ocean. The room was spacious enough, was very clean and well laid out. We were welcomed with some nice wine and chocolates which gave us a nice first impression. We had a problem with the battery running out in the room safe twice while we were there, which was a bit of a hassle but nothing to get too worked up about.
The breakfasts were excellent. We were particularly keen on the choice of freshly made vegetable and fruit juices to order and french champagne, definitely a must for a luxury relaxing holiday.
Good standard choices for other breakfast items. While we were staying there the main restaurant was being renovated which meant that we were overlooking a construction site across the road, but to be fair to the hotel, they did do a good job of making the breakfast area attractive.
The hotel was very quiet while we were there, hardly any other people around the pools or in the restaurants.
Once night for dinner we went to their premier restaurant down by the ocean. It was a huge disappointment. For over $100 a head the food was very basic and uninteresting. When main courses arrived, the waiters hadn't organised our wine yet, wine came when we were nearly through the main course. One of my friends had a pesto dish, which was literally swimming in oil. Fish was overcooked and dry. This is not what I wold expectx of a Westin property. A short cab ride into town and you could go to Wonderland or Teo in Kuah town for mountains of the best ever seafood for under $A20 per head including beer.
The pools, relaxing under the palm trees by the sea were all wonderful. Their cocktails were really good and service was attentive. Often waiters would offer complimentary ffruit skewers which were a nice touch. We also enjoyed lunch some days at the swim up bar, as it was too hot to sit out of the pool, this was fun.
The main bar off the Lobby area was lovely at night with beautiful views of a sunset and lights over the water.
we used the gym every day , which is well equipped and clean, although some of the treadmills were waiting for repair. I'd also recommend that the hotel installed some wall fans, as despite the aircon, they would make working out more comfortable.
Overall I would recommend the Westin, but other than breakfast and the pool bar, would eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, if you want an ocean view you will need to pay more for it. The standard g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear AdeleAustralia,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are delighted to hear your good words about our rooms. These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You’’. Thank you recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and a touch of luxury from our free flow champagne. On the other hand, we appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have experienced to our attention in regards to our temporary Seasonal taste restaurant ambience and the quality of food in The Tide Restaurant did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our Executive Chef and will review and improve it immediately. Please accept our sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused. The current good new that we like to share is our Newly Renewed Seasonal Taste Restaurant is now open! It is also very kind of you to mention our friendly associates and our unique pools. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, magnificent panoramic atmosphere of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and the endless stretch of the blue sky. Moreover, thank you for the good remark regarding our gym. Rest assured that we take your comments and will review them with our team to make necessary improvements. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.


Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Everything was to a very high standard and all the staff were very attentive. Breakfast was delicious! I went to the spa for an evening and had a Malaysian massage by a lady called ayu (I think!). It was the best massage I have ever had! The only negative is that the hotel is a little expensive for food, spa etc! We were expecting this though! Magical stay! Take me back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Londoner132,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa and you have enjoyed the stay here with us. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. Thank you for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and also glad you have enjoyed the treatment from our award winning Heavenly Spa.We truly delighted that you recognize our associates; Ayu from our Heavenly Spa team. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our resort for another rejuvenating stay again

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Loved the Pool Villa, the resort was amazing, the highlight was the spa treatments, FABULOUS! However other than the great buffet breakfast, the other food around the resort was disappointing, not up to the standard of the resort at all. The service was fine, my husband was quite sick during our stay and they went the extra mile to check up on him everyday and gifted us fruit platters, which was really great.

Room Tip: i suggest upgrading to a villa, so worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesmine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear yesmine a,

We are truly delighted and glad that both of you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting private infinity pool from our luxurious villa and our tranquil resort atmosphere .We glad you have enjoyed the treatment from our award winning Heavenly Spa which had immerse your mind and body and rejuvenate your spirit in a soothing sanctuary of tranquility. On the other hand, we appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have experienced to our attention in regards to the quality of food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our Executive Chef and will review and improve it immediately. Please accept our sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused. We are happy to know that our associates, which they went extra miles to accommodating you during the stay with us. We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were at the resort for 6 days and 5 nights. Our goal was to relax and enjoy our time with the family.We spend 80% of our vacation enjoying all that the resort had to offer. The one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean was fantastic. Mariam and Hamidah of housekeeping ensure that we had all we need for the room. Thank you for the Enid Brighton book!

Breakfast buffet was a feast!. By the 2nd day the breakfast crew knew what was needed to get our girls(4 years old twins) setup for breakfast even before we asked. As a mom, I am thankful for the thoughtfulness of the staff.

We had dinners at Tide as well as Breeze. Service was good and so was the food. We were entertained by live music at the Breeze lounge. The kids loved the staff as they would get complimentary ice creams as the adults enjoyed some relaxing music and drinks. The kids enjoyed being back up dancers too. Thank you Breeze lounge staff and music crew for accommodating the kids.

Our favorite pool was the fountain pool, we would go after breakfast and stay the whole afternoon. ( There is a large shady area that covers part of the pool for shade) The pool boys ensured we had our towels and also checked on us regularly to see if we needed anything from the bar. Our other favorite activity was walking down the deserted beach to pick up shells. ( we felt like we were on our own private resort and beach at times as there was practically no one around).I assumed the other guests were out touring the island during the day. Thank you to the staff at the canoe rental desk for finding toys for the kids to play with.

Special thanks to Maisarah (front desk) , excellent customer service!!

Thank you Westin Resort and Spa Langkawi for the wonderful experience and "above and beyond" customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Diana A,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this truly inspiring review about your experience. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed staying here with us. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, serene views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and magnificence blue sky. We also truly delighted that you recognize our associates; Mariam and Hamidah from our housekeeping team were able to fulfill your needs during your stays. Moreover, thank you for recognizing our SuperfoodRXs and we love to know that you enjoyed your overall dining experiences at our bars and restaurants. We also glad you entertained with the live performance at The Breeze and the kids were enjoying it too .Furthermore, Thank you for mentioning our unique pools and our private beach. We also appreciate that you mentioned one of our associate ; Maisarah from front office team and delighted with the overall experience with our friendly and attentive associates. They truly the heartbeats of the resort!. We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,

MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
9.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing