We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel grounds are really beautiful. The renovated rooms as well. However you can see that the hotel itself is not the newest from some tiny and some not so tiny details. Still, overall the hotel is in a good condition and beautiful. The service is really nice and attentive, however sometimes they forgot to do things you asked them for. The breakfast is ok, however compared to other hotels we stayed at in Malaysia it could be much better!

I can still recommend the hotel to other travelers, however I would urge the management to work on the tiny problems.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_selo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear mr_selo,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your positive highlighting about our resort, recognising our newly rejuvenated room. On the other hand, it is also very kind of you to mention our friendly and attentive associates. We apologise on the shortcomings you have encountered in regards to the food during your breakfast and associates attention to details did not meet your expectations. We will look into details on improving the mentioned issues. It was a great pleasure to have you and we hope that we may welcome you again if your travel plan bring you here.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 3,126 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

My sister & me decided to have a quick visit to Langkawi during the school holidays since I have never been here yet. I was split to choose between the Andaman & Westin. After much consideration & since like I really enjoyed staying in Westin KL, i choose the same brand in Langkawi. The strategic location near Kuah town and the yacht club (for best meal), plus not too far from the airport & about 30mins to Cenang beach. My main cause of this trip is to relax & enjoy sailing in the open sea, perhaps enjoying their flagship Heavenly spa when we're there.

The real good/impressive:
The front desk lady (cant remember her name , starts with M) are pleasant & energetic. always full of smiles & accommodating...in the style of MAS stewardess lol. The porter who bring our begs during check in are fun, and the spa caddy driver is very polite. They really take pride in serving guests and it shows.
We liked the newly rejuvenated rooms, bright & white. Cleanliness inside the room is spot on.
The resort itself is well kept, grass lawn is short & tidy. not an inch of mosquito bite experienced throughout our stay.
The Heavenly Spa facilities & staffs.

The mehs (not necessary bad but it can be improved):
Have to write a note to housekeeping card asking for bath amenities & bottled water for 2 person for the next day...we booked a twin bed room & obviously 2 pax were staying.
Breakfast, compared to Westin KL....here is nothing. They didn't have minute steaks, hash brown patties, local kuih, japanese/indian section, noodle of the day is too spicy...basically the same food choices every day. But it is still recommended to take the breakfast just for the sake of convenience. Yes they have that adult drink (champagne) but we're not a fan of it so we didn't try it.
We decided to dined in on 2nd day because we're too tired after the Rampant sailing activity, cant barely walked down to the yacht club for dinner. We proceed to Tide but to our dismay it was closed for event, hence proceed to Breeze. The menu at Breeze are very limited in terms of Asian food. Even though the portions are big with some condiments but it was simply not tasteful enough. I don't liked the idea of half grilled fish fillet so it tasted "lantuh" (hanyir/fishy) and ate only the briyani rice, papadam & pickles. Also it was expensive even after the 15% SPG discount!
The paint work in the bathroom & cabinet after rejuv was a bit sloppy, lines of paint spotted near the mirror...the balcony wood is not painted & was not cleaned from bird droppings.
Some part of the garden need to be replanted, especially at the middle of the resort. it looked like bushes from afar & untidy.
Street lighting and walkway are too dark for a night stroll. There is even lesser place to lounge comfortably during night time since most of the restaurants are open & very hot. Their only air conditioned restaurant is closed for rejuvenation.
Somehow in the middle of the night the air-cond feels warm, no need blanket to sleep until the wee hours of morning.
Some guys manned the concierge desk wore a tight face, it feels awkward to ask for assistance. On our 3rd day we rent a car to drive around the island. When we returned to the resort, the gate guard was changed to different person so he did not recognized us. he flagged us to stop & asking our room number. Yeah pretty tight security around here. noticing the awkwardness of the situation he immediately said "welcome back" :-p

The rest of the stay/experience are pretty standard though...

Verdict:
If i were about to rate it honestly, it's a little bit short of that Westin standard...i never felt being at a Westin at all while staying here. I still prefer their city hotel in KL with everything incl food, room service & spa at the lower prices. Now if this is some kind of no name brand resort but rated 5 stars that would be expected. Oh well, i think that's the impact of conversion of brands throughout the decades.
During our island round trip, we passed by some other infamous resorts including Berjaya & Andaman. Lo and behold, we hated the narrow & dangerous hilly entrance to the Andaman lobby. on our way out we almost ramped into a van! Others are located either in a noisy & busy area, simply run down places, or just too deserted from civilization! After enough sightseeing we finally contented that the Westin Langkawi is still the best place to stay after all. We will be back, but not in a rush though since i've already experience the best sailing activity in Langkawi. Except from that, there's nothing much more to do here that interest me.

Room Tip: Accept the upgrade offer to the premium rooms....you wont liked it if knowing the lowest rate room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayla_Kosmonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Ayla_Kosmonova,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We glad that you have enjoyed the arrival experience and would like to thank you for highlighting our newly rejuvenated room . Thank you as well for your generous remark regarding our friendly and attentive associates .We glad on your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa and we hope our experienced Spa therapists have made you feel relaxed and rejuvenated. We concerned about the issues regarding basic amenities replenishment and have addressed this issue with our housekeeping team to improve it immediately. We also concerned to note that the quality, price and variation of food did not meet your expectations and we have addressed this with our Executive Chef and culinary team for review and improvement. Thank you for bringing the above issues to our attention. We would take a pleasure in welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We got to the hotel early because of our flight but our room was not ready. While waiting we were handed scented water and wet facecloths to help be refreshed. We had a partial view room which was excellent. It was modern, clean and with great views. On the second day a loud couple moved into the adjoining room and Westin staff were very helpful and relocating us to a room that had no adjoining door. The location is excellent with private beach with beach cabanas and plenty of pool seating. Beach and pool waiter service available with occasional free treats brought to us like fruit kebabs. Complimentary cocktail hour helped us slowly get zoned in this well serviced and full facility resort.
We booked a sunset cruise from the hotel desk and would not recommend it. The boat was at least 40 years old, dirty and the toilet disgusting. This was not the hotel's fault but I mention it hear for others that may consider the evening cruise. If you like staying at the Westin the this is not the cruise for you.
The breakfast was fantastic with a wide range of Malaysian, Indian, Japanese and Western style meals. Don't skip this option.
During the stay we had our wedding anniversary and was treated to a complimentary bottle of wine and cake. Just those little touches that make for an enjoyable stay.
In summary, the service was friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and luxurious, the restaurant and bar services was to expectation and having a private beach rounded the feeling of exclusiveness with this resort. You get it, we will be back.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room facing the pool as you may get some noise from evening functions. Ask for se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Wayne_Auckland,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed the arrival experience and we would like to thank you for your generous remarks regarding our friendly and attentive associates. We are also delighted to hear your good words about our rooms and views. These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You”. We appreciate your positive comments very much about the beautiful grounds and fantastic pools. Thank you for sharing your comment about the dinner cruise. We will let the company know about your experience for them to improve their services. Also we are happy to hear that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation. We hope both of you had a wonderful wedding anniversary and we wish to welcome you again in future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Me and my wife spent more than a week at the Westin. The service was good and eager to help in all questions. The hotel has dinner options every evening, barbeque and seafood types outdoors and indoors you'll have a buffet from various parts of the world. The food and breakfast are very good. We booked a romantic dinner for two at the end of the pier and watched the sun set behind the mountains. There's a pool bar that works quite well, sunbeds and towels for sunbeds are complimentary.

If you're going to book a room and don't mind spending a little extra, get a room premium ocean view. It's definately worth it. The hotel itself is within a walking distance from the harbor and from a shopping mall. If you're going downtown, I highly recommend taking a taxi.

Room Tip: premium ocean view rooms have balconies that are facing directly at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niilinhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear niilinhai,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, spectacular location and we do agree that the resort offers magnificent ocean view. Appreciate your positive comments about magnificent view from premium ocean room, dining experience and services. Also we are happy to hear that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation. We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just for the breathtaking location and views, this has to be my favourite hotel, hands-down! I went with Mum back in 2011 and it was just perfection... sunset time is incredible with the colours of the sky mixed with the sea and infinity pool altogether... just wow! We also booked a spa which is in a quiet and secluded section of the resort, which was heavenly. You even see monkeys on the beach! October-November is the perfect time to travel!

Room Tip: Get a sea-view, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nourspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear nourspot,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your positive highlighting about our well-kept grounds and breathtaking location and views from the hotel. No doubt that our infinity pool offers magnificent views of the Andaman Sea. Thank you for your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa and we hope our experienced Spa therapists have made you feel relaxed and rejuvenated. We are anxiously hoping to see you real soon for another rejuvenating stay here with us at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Last December we had a wonderful time at Westin enjoying the pre X'mas celebration there. Staff were really wonderful and accommodating to our needs. Needless to say, the hotel facilities are of high standard though the rooms seem to be less spacious inspite of the hugh resort land. Wish they were bigger but they are quite comfortable for two. Buffet breakfast was great. Thanks for giving our mum breakfast free of charge. We wish we could stay there more than 4 nights. It was a wonderful experience. We will definitely go back again.
Audrey N

Room Tip: Choose a room on the right wing facing the sea will be cooler in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Audrey N,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities is truly appreciated. We are happy to hear that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation, it was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and and we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week on a conference. During the week the resort was so quiet we thought we were the only guests, especially with the level of service we were receiving from the staff. The staff were so friendly and eager to please. It was a little busier on the weekend but still the same level of attention.
The room was beautiful as was the views to the ocean.
The food fantastic. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneS167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear DianneS167,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your stay with us. We would agree that the views from ocean view rooms make for an extra special stay. Waking up to the magnificent sounds of the waves and the breath taking scenic view is to die for. It is just a perfect location for city lives get away. Thank you also for mentioning our excellent service by our associates. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to your return next time just for exciting holidays.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,236 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $170 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing