We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but HUGE hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night - April 2014. Its a huge hotel and everyone seemed quite friendly but...
There weren't enough sun loungers by the pools. Not much shade (sun suffering husband.....). Staff at pool bar did ok - but have to say mango salad was the worst I've ever had and was not authentic - seemed to be covered with a chilli sauce not fresh herbs and spices...Room was lovely with a view over the recreation centre - which would have been boring apart from the monkeys playing in the trees.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Sue K,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your positive highlighting about our insufficient stock of our sun loungers at the pools, as this will happen during peak period. I am also concerned to note that the quality of food did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused. I would try my level best with the help of my team to ensure that similar problems are not likely to happen again. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our resort for another rejuvenating stay again.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,040)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

The setting for the hotel is fantastic with magnificent views, the pool areas are also very good and the last positive is the breakfast which is superb. Now for the negatives, this hotel is let down badly by its service. The pool bar is very hit and miss and can take an age to get served. Whilst we were there a wedding was booked in for several days which resulted in some areas of the hotel shut down for non wedding guests. When you are paying to stop in a 5 star hotel you don't expect to feel like a second class citizen, especially when no warning at the time of booking was made about the wedding. My wife really enjoyed the spa but this was shut to her for 2 days as the wedding had taken it over. Treatments were offered elsewhere but this was not in the same setting. The wedding also took over some of the restaurants limiting the places you could eat. One final insult is the 10% service charge on the mini bar, which is a complete joke as nobody comes into your room to serve you. It feels like money grabbing, because it is. This place could be magnificent but it needs a new culture introduced from the management. What a shame.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Ricardo246,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am certainly disappointed to note that our pool bar service was not up to your satisfaction and some interruption during spa treatment on second day due to location engaged with wedding group. I am never proud to know that we have failed to delight a guest but I am always thankful for comments so that we can learn and improve. I have to agree with you that our resort offer wonderful panoramic views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and the endless stretch of the blue sky. I am also pleased to know that our daily SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation. We wish to welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel grounds and pools. Front desk staff helpful. You cannot check in until 3pm no exceptions.

Deluxe twin rooms have no view, balcony or bath. Super comfy beds, softest of our 2 month trip by far. Don't bother with green room thing it is a con, you won't get the money back/off.

We were glad we didn't opt for breakfast as it was often cold, room service orders were consistently wrong. We saw a cremated burger that had been rejected pool side and a birthday cake with a tiny slice missing disguarded outside a room.

The pool bar. I have never known such a poorly run business. We waited 20 minutes for our first cocktail and left after waiting an hour for the second. Truly terrible service. 4 people, only one of which was actually making cocktails!

I would recommend eating at the wonderful food store 10 minutes away from the hotel it us inexpensive and delicious. One of the best 3 restaurants on the island according to locals.

You can rent a scooter at the jetty and park it for free at the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HPS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear HPS28,

Thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your stay in Langkawi. I very much regret the shortcoming you experienced with regards to the room allocation and poor services from pool bar staffs, our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have. On the other hand, it is also very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly are the heart and soul of the resort! Please rest assured that I have shared your feedback with my team for further review and improvement. It was a great pleasure to have you amongst our guests and I hope that we may welcome you again.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The resort is about 25 minutes from the airport. The rooms were large enough for two people and had a very large bathroom, with shower, bath and private toilet. Beds were very comfy (they were double sized - not queen). We chose the partial ocean view room, but generally didn't sit out on the balcony to enjoy the view due to the humidity, so probably no need to splurge. There is limited restaurant choice, being the oceanfront, the buffet and the bar upstairs. I thought the food in all three places was fine. The pools are big enough not to be annoyed by other people and there are ample sun lounges both around the pool and on the beach. I did not swim in the ocean, it was as warm as a bath. The day spa was lovely and the staff very polite. Had a number of treatments there. The gym is also adequate. I found the staff to be very helpful and polite, had no issues with them at all. Would recommend for a relaxing short stay.

Room Tip: No need to splurge for the ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydcarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear sydcarnie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy and pleased to know that your choice of us as a getaway for your holidays. It is very kind of you to highlighted our newly rejuvenate rooms, especially our signature Heavenly Bed, which definitely provides undisturbed sleep for a great night and even a better tomorrow. Thank you also for your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa, staffs also services which delivered. It was a great pleasure to have you and we hope that we may welcome you again if your travel plan bring you here.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our family, along with friends stayed here for 7 nights both in premium rooms. We got a great package from a travel agent which included flights, transfers and accommodation.

I found that the facilities were great - everything you'd expect from a quality resort - the pools especially were fantastic and well maintained. The public spaces are beautifully decorated and the view overlooking the sea is gorgeous. The Spa as well is fantastic.

But they are the only things you would rate as 'Excellent'. Everything else is 'Average'…

Service: Nothing to write home about, very average and some rather annoying nigglies like how it was always hard to get anyone's attention so we can order food poolside. We had to get our kids to go to the swim up bar and ask someone to come to our lounge to take our orders. It took three phone calls for someone to come and change our sheets on the first night when I found stains on the sheets. And finally while we appreciate that we eventually got our late checkout, we had to argue our way to it when the resort wasn't even full.

Rooms: The room is beautiful but showing some wear. There were mould in the bathroom and chips etc on the furniture. Comfy beds but ordinary pillows.

Food: The issue here is value. They were very expensive while the taste is nothing amazing. We ended up going out to local restaurants for dinner most nights. Breakfast selection was great though.

Kids club: the kids enjoyed their time here and the ladies that were there was great.

Beach: Not the prettiest of beaches, the water isn't clear.

Overall, we did enjoy our time here and if the service quality is raised to a higher level then I believe that I would have a higher rating. In holiday resorts, service is such a key differentiator and sadly The Westin Langkawi did not provide a service I can rave about.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hannaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear JOhannaA,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your 7 nights stay here with us. Regret that we were unable to fully meet your expectation in regards to services at Splash pool bar and we have addressed this with our f&b team and will review and improve it immediately. Concerning your comments about cleanliness of the bed sheet and bathroom, this has been communicated to our respective department accordingly and will ensure that we continue to improve on our service levels and product quality. On another note, it is great to know you have enjoyed our newly rejuvenated room, great facilities and positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa. It’s true that our beach is not good as the beach in the North of Langkawi, as we were unfortunately not blessed with the best beach on the island. We hope that we may have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our 6 nights stay honeymoon in Langkawi. As a first impression, we were not complimented for our honeymoon, not with a branch of tree, not even a congratulations! (Although it was noted in our reservation). We noticed a lot children playing around, which made the atmosphere friendly to families rather than couples. Location is far away from most of Langkawi's attractions, rent a car if u wanna hang around, or just relax in the Westin. Customer service is very poor, slow and inconsistent and the staff lack training to be more decent and professional with the guests (several things happened with me, but seemed no one was interested for my feedback there). Breakfast was excellent. Overall, the stay was average, we expected more specially from the customer service perspective.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shereof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear xraybloke,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are pleased to know that you truly had an amazing and rejuvenating vacation with us here at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. Thank you also for mentioning our friendly and helpful associates, they truly are the heart and soul of the resort!. I am always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort and for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked this a while ago and as the date of our holiday approached I became quite nervous after reading some of the recent negative reviews on here.

Luckily I had nothing to worry about; the resort was excellent, staff friendly, polite and very helpful, and the public areas clean and well maintained. We had initial problems with a broken safe and telephone; they were fixed within 10 minutes of reporting them.

Breakfast was amazing every morning with a huge selection to choose from; the food in the evening was very good.

We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xraybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear xraybloke,

Thank you very much for spending your time in writing a truly inspiring review for us. We are pleased to know that you truly had an amazing and rejuvenating vacation with us here at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. Thank you also for mentioning our friendly and helpful associates, they truly are the heart and soul of the resort!. I am always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort and for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#6 of 104 in Langkawi
329 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $169 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing