We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Great resort. Fantastic staff. Beautiful room. Massages were great. Food was amazing.

The beach is nice, but you cannot swim in it. Rocky and rough. But it is big and great for long walks.

Only criticism is that sometimes staff cannot handle large crowds in restaurants. But when they attend to you, they are great.

Perfect for couples and families.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank athard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear athard,

Thank you so much for this review. I am very pleased with your overall satisfaction with your stay here at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. Appreciate your feedback recognizing our great resort, staffs, foods, as well our rejuvenate rooms. As for the beach, I do agree that the area here obviously not blessed with the best beach. I have taken note on your comments that our staffs unable to perform good jobs during crowded periods, and will share this with our team to make necessary improvements. I would take a pleasure in welcoming you back for another renewing stay.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    807
    275
    91
    57
See reviews for
849
1,233
65
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arrived after an overnight flight, very tired at 10am. We were told our room would be ready in 45 ,minutes. After waiting in lobby for 2 hours, I went up to ask if our room was ready and it finally was. No one to take our bags to the room so we went back out to the lobby and got our own bags. Arrived in room and was not very happy. We paid extra for premium ocean view, our room was right next to the lobby, very noisy and trees in the way of the ocean. Room was renovated but very dirty and used. Hotel was fully booked so we could only upgrade after 2 nights in this room, had to wear ear plugs, bed was great but that's about it. Upgrade to a suite was only $150au more and was definitely worth it. Room was huge, great view, everything you need. It was what we were expecting. Definitely go the 1 bedroom suite over the premium ocean view room. Worth the extra money. Overall hotel is huge. Buffet dinners are good. Cocktails at the pool are good. Service is very slow everywhere. Not what I was expecting for a westin hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen-Lee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kristen-Lee1,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am sorry to hear that there were some lapses during your check in. I have addressed this inconsistency with my front office team and will take necessary action to improve continuously. Appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have experienced like noisy and cleanliness of the room and please rest assured that similar issues are not likely to happen again. I also would like to thank you for highlighting our newly rejuvenate suite rooms, especially our signature Heavenly Bed and your overall satisfaction with the dining options here. I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I spent 4 days at this large, sprawling resort for a business trip. Checkin and front desk staff were helpful and pleasant, the checkin process was smooth (despite a whole heap up people turning up at the same time) and willing to help when it came to things like booking tours, massages and advice on the best way to get to the local attractions. The rooms themselves are very nicely presented, clean and large. I really loved the pools they have here- several pools around the complex, each with their own areas and more than enough sunchairs. Perfect to relax in! We had breakfast at the hotel buffet, which had a lot of variety, however being a predominantly muslim country, it lacked the bacon and pork sausages. In the evenings the lobby lounge and restaurant area had "entertainment" from three ladies who were basically singing karaoke in matching outfits and dance moves... I understand that it's nice to have some music, but the kind of music definitely was not conducive to making people relax and it was so loud that you can barely hear conversations. As there was a group of around 10 of us as well, the only place we could sit all together was a group of couches RIGHT in front of the singing girls! So we went down to the bar by the beach. We found that the service there was a bit lacking- it seemed that as we were there just past the peak season, they put on the new trainees. We asked for a menu and it came 15 min later and the young man taking our drinks order seemed to not know the menu at all! Disturbingly, a colleague had two pieces of jewellery go missing from her room. When she reported it to the front desk, they proceeded to send security up to her room to check it again, and also go through all her belongings which was a breach of privacy! I'm not sure whether it is standard protocol to do that, but generally if a guest reports something as missing (suspected stolen) I would not imagine that they would do something like that!

Room Tip: Make sure you put all valuables in the safe. There is also a nice little kelong that you can walk o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roseme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Roseme,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy and pleased to know that you appreciate our service at the front desk . Its much appreciated, as well our rejuvenated rooms, unique pools and signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. On another note, we would like to apologise for the shortcomings you had faced during your business trip which might have brought some discomfort for you and your colleague specially in regards of missing items. Please rest assured that the hotel does not go through guest belongings. We practice to double check the room or other areas mentioned by the guest as four eyes are better than two and often the hotel find items in between chair cushions, or below beds or nightstands or other hidden places. This is not done as a mistrust as it is done to double check on the cases. In no way we are searching in private belongings without a guest is asking us to do so. We would take pleasure in welcoming you back for another occasion so that you could experience the resort as it was meant to be.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 8 nights at this hotel in March 2014. We found the staff extremely courteous and provided a high standard of service. It is rare to find bright smiling faces greeting you at breakfast. We dined at two restaurants and found the cost reasonable and the meals well prepared and presented. I liked the way the Chefs visited the dining area to engage with the diners.
We experience drainage and electrical problems in our room but these were corrected without delay. Some of the fabric is showing signs of wear especially in the well used breakfast room and could be freshened up!
The beach was a disappointment being suitable for swimming at high tide but the choice of pools more than compensated for this.
The twice daily courtesy shuttle bus to the shopping mall was a great asset

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percival12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear percival12,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your experience and delighted to know that you have enjoyed 8 nights stay here with us. I appreciate your positive comments about our associates with great services and your dining expectations and needs were met. I am truly sorry that we have let you down with regards to the beach. Our beach is not as good as the beach in the North of Langkawi, as we were unfortunately not blessed with the best on the island. I would like to take the pleasure in welcoming you back anytime in the near future for another renewing stay.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My best friend had her wedding here. There were about 30 Australian and English guests, who all stayed here and attend the wedding, which was totally organised by the hotel. I, personally stayed a total of 6 nights and have no complaints. It was a heavenly location to have a wedding, relax and spend time with friends.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff were all friendly and extremely helpful. We all spent many hours relaxing in the pool and drinking cocktails, after we could tear ourselves away from the champagne buffet breakfasts...!
The Westin helped us book a snorkeling day trip from the marina which is a 5 min walk away and we also went on an Amazing sunset cruise with Captain Hugo and the Hallelujah.
There are more shops and restaurants another 5 mins away but we would go to Chenang Beach, which was about a 25 min taxi ride away. Here, we had dinner, shopped, had massages and spent a few sunsets at Yellow Beach Cafe.
Just as a reminder, Malaysia is a muslin country and therefore there were a few guests in full burqa clothing, which was no bother to us but maybe just don't wear your bikini to breakfast.
Overall, The Westin is a perfect place for couples, honeymooner or if you want to have your wedding here. I had an absolutely amazing time here!

Room Tip: The Bride and Groom had an amazing apartment suite with 3 rooms and a balcony overlooking the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyjanealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Amyjanealice,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for this special occasion of your friend wedding. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, spectacular location and offers magnificent ocean view. Appreciate your positive comments about spacious room, our daily signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and staffs services. We hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent about three days in Langkawi and we had to split our stay as 2 days in Pelangi resort and 1 day at the Westin. My experience with the Westin:
Pros first:
1. All the staff are friendly. They greet you with a smile and take proper care of your needs.
2. The hotel lobby and common areas as well as the room is kept very clean. The room decoration and aesthetics are good.
3. In Langkawi, you will be spending a lot of time outside of hotel. So I had booked their cheapest room. But still the room facilities and amenities were good enough.
4. Excellent spa. Their spa staff are very good and make sure to check with you on your requirements properly for the treatments. Their questionnaire is also well framed. Sometimes the pressure applied during spa treatments might be very high and could cause tissue damage. We did not have a good experience at the Pelangi spa, but the Westin's heavenly spa was truly heavenly. We took a heavenly feet, which is a spa treatment for the feet. This was a really relaxing one. We also took an appointment at about 10 in the night and their was no problem with the booking. They arranged for the buggy for a lobby pickup since my room was close to the lobby and far from the spa. It had rained in Langkawi that night and the spa was looking beautiful. The treatment was so relaxing that I fell asleep during the same. Great way to unwind yourself..

Cons now:
1. Location - The hotel is located far from the Cenang beach, which is the happening place in Langkawi. The only attraction closer to the Westin is the Eagle Square. The airport is about 35 minutes drive. The Cenang beach is about the same.
2. We had a problem with the room washbasin as well as the toilet drainage. There was some blockage and we had to take assistance on 2 occasions. Now, that is really not acceptable for a hotel of the class of Westin. You never expect that, nor would you want to spend time on such repairs. Probably, the rooms closer to the lobby, which are the cheaper rooms need some attention in the plumbing department.
Hence I keep one star short and give a 3/5 for the Westin, Langawi.
If you want a peaceful resort far from the crowd, this one is OK. But, maybe you can book one of the costlier rooms(Their toilet drainage might be better .. :) )

Room Tip: Dont book the cheapest rooms near the lobby. Some problems with the toilet drainage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear kerboyz,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am happy to hear that our associates were great, making you feel very well taken care of. I do trust that they have placed much effort and are willing to go the extra mile just to make your stay with us a memorable one. Thank you also for your positive endorsement for the award winning Heavenly Spa. On another note, I would also like to apologise for the inconvenience caused from the result of drainage issue in your room which brought some discomfort towards your stay. I can only hope that you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your future travels to Langkawi.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Mixed impressions from the 4 day stay.
No need to arrange pick up by the hotel since plenty of taxis/vans available at the airport with good rates. One way to Westin is 68 RMI for a group of 8.
Check in is quick and reception staff during all stay polite and helpful. Reception Managers did solve a booking dispute in a professional manner and could also get a late check out for a very reasonable fee.
Rooms quite nice, spacious with good wardrobe space, large screen TV and with descend bathroom/ shower space. Complimentary water bottles were provided daily.

Meals:
Breakfast served till late 11.30, with good selection -actually the best meal served in this hotel.
Too crowed till 10.30 , more quiet after that. One can enjoy a morning champagne during breakfast if desired.
The restaurant below the pool deck has limited selection (especially for teenagers) and a bit on the high side for the quality served - an average sized steak is at 50 Usd.
The dinner buffet is descend but a bit disappointing for a Westin restaurant (40 Usd for adults) but the best items are not replaced quickly enough. Staff is very friendly.

Overall I would expect a bit more efforts on sanitation, like in the breakfast & evening buffet the floor is quite dirty, waiters clean the tables pushing crumbs on the floor rather than collecting, putting away the breakfast buffet -most items would be used again - not done in a very 'healthy' manner.

Bars:
Pool bar indeed, you can enjoy your drink while being in the pool...time to get your drink a bit too long and staff not that friendly.
Bar/lounge by reception very relaxing, with good cocktail selection and with a nice veranda to enjoy the stars and a breeze. The Girls band singing not bad at all, with a nice repertoire of older and latest hits.

Facilities:
Gym: Just OK, tread mills need an upgrade but equipment and space is sufficient.
Tennis courts: a bit disappointing, run down, obviously without any maintenance for quite some time. To hit balls its fine but for a normal game a bit too slippery...
Squash its a plus, table tennis and bicycles for rent are also available.
Nice Spa with a lot of options.

Pools:
The most enjoyable and fresh is the rock pool, and a bit less crowded. Kids and adult pools are fine. Management should be looking to replace worn mattresses...

On Tuesday & Friday be ready to get kicked out of the pool area by 4.30 since hotel staff are putting the evening BBQ together, fixing tables and preparing the area. Far too early, Buffet could start by 7 pm and not 6 pm when its the best time to enjoy the pool since the burning sun has less intensity at that time.

Beach: disaster, warning signs everywhere: " You are entering on your own risk, strong tides, stinging medusas risk, corals that you could cut yourself" etc. So no beach at all, and by the way the water is muddy and not pleasant to swim in it any way. A big negative for the hotel!
Northern side of the Island looked like the beach is a lot nicer..(where the 4 Seasons Hotel is located).

Overall its an average experience, inferior to the Westin experience, pricey since besides breakfast -if included in your price- anything else costs more than it should.
Hotel staff though most friendly do require a course to bring services to a 5 star level.

By the way, Internet only free at the lobby area, not acceptable for any hotel nowadays when you have to pay 300+ Usd for a night. Internet is not a luxury its a must have in any hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well situated, pool noise is very limited. Would be good to avoid rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grbr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear grbr07,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I appreciate a lot your feedback recognizing our reception staffs was helpful, rejuvenate rooms, unique pools and SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Concerning your comments on the level of cleanliness and sanitation at the buffet area, I have addressed this with my F&B manager. I appreciate you bringing up the issue regarding tennis court condition and we will take the necessary action to improve it. In regards to the beach, I do agree that the area here obviously not blessed with the best beach. I have taken note too on your suggestion to have complimentary Wi-Fi in the room. All your comment has definitely motivated us to perform better. My team and I are looking forward to welcome you for another renewing stay with us.

Be well,
MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
13.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing