We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed in the Westin Langkawi for 5 nights last year. The hotel is really nice, the pool facilities are great and the rooms are very comfortable. The drawback is the beach, the Andaman Sea is very dirty and polluted. The main issue with the Hotel as well is the quality of the food, it is very hard to get Fresh Seafood. Keep your expectations on the food low and you will be ok.

Room Tip: Try the bungalow villas if your budget allows. They are very well done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghaith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ghaith81,

Thank you for choosing Westin for your stay in Langkawi and for your time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your positive comments about our pool facilities and comfortable rooms. We are truly sorry that we’ve let you down with regards to the beach. Unfortunately we were not blessed with the best beach on the island and although we endeavor to keep it clean, we consistently battle in our area with the debris brought in by the tides. We truly appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you’ve encountered to our attention as this will only assist us in improving our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Langkawi on your future visits to this beautiful island.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    806
    275
    91
    58
See reviews for
849
1,231
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

frist of all, i would like to thank the stuff for their assistance and cooperation espically , Josephine, when i checked in.
i had a small problem with reservation and credit card acceptance in Andaman hotel , so i did a very quick booking in the taxi in my way to westin.
and the stuff were really helpful, kind and AMAZING...!
so, about the hotel itself..
its one of the very few cusy 5 star hotel in the center of langkawi island...!
they have 3 swimming pools , and they are just fabulous.,
the sea and the beach it seld , is not that much...!!! however, you should know,... you do not expect a crystal clear water in langkawi island..!!!
the rooms are excellent...no more to add...however, there were very tiny things worth mentioning....
* first of all , i had a problem with ants in the rooms...!!!
but, lucky me , they solve it next morning..!
* i do not know, if that was the hotel policy but they have what i calle an ( EMPTY FRIDGE ) POLICY...so no mini bar every..just an empty fridge..!!!!
*they do not have any musical channel on TV...!!! ever, !!!!
so bring up your own music ..!
* they have one of the strangest room console or controller , which i have seen ever..!! they put it exactly behind the bed..so every time u want to check the clock or turn off the lamp ,you should jump out of the bed...!!!!some thing , i found annoying..!
ooops, forget to mention, they have a very very big fitness club and a bicycle and tennis rentals...so if u r sporty , u will love it definitely.
so, in one word....do not waste time by searching , this is the best hotel in langkawi and infidelity i will return their...
by the way, i would like to thank , their australian girl manager which was very dedicated and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommy-moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear tommy-moscow,

Thank you very much for sharing your Westin experience with others and for highlighting the warmth and wonderful service provided by our associates, they are definitely the most valuable asset of The Westin Langkawi. Your satisfaction towards our accommodation, services and facilities makes us feel very proud. On another note, we’ve looked into the less positive issues you’ve mentioned and sincerely apologize for the shortfall. We appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you’ve encountered to our attention as this will only assist in improving towards service excellence. Thank you once again for recommending Westin as a brand to everyone! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin on your future visits to Langkawi.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well the hotel sure with the new rooms and white decoration and the nice view of the ocean facing rooms is lovely although I was surprised of the quality of the beach area and sure the sea was never clear as it seems its area of greenish sea plants and muddy and that was not in my plans as I'm a sea fan and ,,,but sure it's a nice resort with some wonderful staff like the chef shandarman who was wonderfully helpful and v friendly and sure nico who is v customer service printed and knows how to deal in difficult situations...,,, food at open buffet some time it's amazing and some is average depending on the way u like and ,,as they have daily new eve buffet breakfast compared to other big resorts I visited is v average and it surprised me ,,,

Room Tip: 2014 ,2010 ,2008 r good one and nice view and sure new decorated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maninblackthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear maninblackthe1,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. We really appreciate your positive comments about our newly renovated premium ocean view room. Our new and refreshed rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand’s philosophy of Westin, For a Better You!
We are truly sorry that we’ve let you down with regards to the beach. Unfortunately we were not blessed with the best beach on the island and although we endeavor to keep it clean, we consistently battle in our area with the debris brought in by the tides. It is very kind of you for highlighting the quality service offered by our friendly and helpful associates. They are the most valuable asset of our resort. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived on 25 oct 2012 at westin langkawi expecting a 5 star holiday experience. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing.

I booked the room with my credit card which has a 20% discount of the hotel's best rate. When I called in, I was informed that they only have superior rooms left. Not sure what that means as the website did not offer that option. The rate comes up to RM640 per room (with breakfast and late checkout till 3pm). I asked for an early check in as I was in an early flight.

Upon arrival, I went to check in and I was told that since I had requested for an early check in, they are placing me in a newly refurbished room, as those are vacant. So I thought ok, probably paint smell... But I get to rest. So I waited. Then I was informed that I may not be able to check in till 12pm because the room was not ready. A little while later, I was told that I would only be able to check in at 3pm!! It was suggested that I go for a heavenly spa treatment while waiting for the room.

So, the receptionist calls for the buggy which took some time to arrive. When the buggy arrives, we were informed by the lovely lady that there is no slot at the spa and that this message was already conveyed to the receptionist...(and that receptionist will decides to send us to the spa!!) So, we told the spa lady our predicament, and she called the spa manager to try to accommodate an earlier slot.

The spa manager was professional and the masseuse was well trained.

After we had our lunch, we finally got out room at 3pm, which is their standard check in time.

When we arrive in our room, the room was facing the driveway. It had paint stains on the floor. The pillow case was stained. The fridge was not cold and did not get cold after numerous hours. The DVD player was not plugged in. And when we plugged it in, it tripped the electricity supply. The bed was not quite heavenly. The bathroom floor was not clean. Conclusion, disappointing.

We wanted to go out to town for dinner. The taxi driver mentioned that Cenang Beach was the place to go to. Westin Langkawi is near Kuah town. The hotel shuttle only goes to the nearest shipping center in Kuah town two times a day. Once at 1pm, once at 5pm.

So, we decided to have the BBQ by the pool which was... Bad. The seafood was overcooked.

The breakfast spread was quite good. However, they ran out of sambal during the breakfast. Then they ran out of butter! They eventually replenished.... But bearing the 5 star service expectations is not easy. Guests will have higher expectations....

Lastly, when we entered the room, there was a bottle of wine which looked like it was a welcome gift. However, it was not mentioned if it was complimentary. We then checked with the receptionist who told us it was chargeable. These should be clearly mentioned.

All in all, I rather disappointing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear PyCee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your feedback is much valued and appreciated. We regret to learn that our service rendered has failed you. Even though it isn't pleasant to hear about issues you have encountered, we would far rather hear about them than go on oblivious to our faults. We are deeply sorry that we were unable to fully meet your expectations on this visit. Our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have experienced and please rest assured that we will continue to improve our service levels and product quality. Even though we understand that you don’t foresee to stay with us again, we would like to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been to the hotel in Feb 2012 for 2 nights and really enjoyed the stay and lovely lovely lovely slightly isolated location of the hotel as it is very quiet and away from traffic.The terrace and coffee/tea area is just heaven with a stunning look that you want to wake up for every morning.The swimming pool facility is really attractive and they got a romantic dinner area/bamboo house which is on top of the sea. Just the right place for a honey moon or romantic vacation.

Room Tip: One of the best locations in Langkawi with a lovely scenary view. A relaxing place that keeps an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Abu Jooj G,

Thank you very much for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi Island. We are happy to know that you’ve enjoyed the atmosphere of our resort which definitely offers some of the most beautiful panoramic views of the Andaman Sea and surrounding islands. Your positive comment definitely motivates us to perform better! We are really grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future!

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Westin Resort for 7 nights on our honeymoon. We had emailed the resort in the weeks prior to our arrival as I was concerned about the renovations and how it would affect our stay. We had already decided to pay a little extra to upgrade to an ocean-view room given the reviews I had read here on TA. That said, I was concerned about the comments I'd read regarding the poor quality of the exisiting rooms that were still awaiting renovation.

We arrived in the early evening and were greeted by friendly staff at reception, check-in was quick, easy and informative. Whilst they acknowledged it was our honeymoon, it was a bit disappointing to step into our room and see only of a bottle of champagne (that had clearly been sitting in the ice bucket for who knows how many hours and was now in a bucket of water) and a "fruit basket" that was 4 small glasses filled with dried fruit and infested with small ants.

We made the immediate comparison to a 4-star resort where we stayed in Phuket, Thailand only last year. This resort had arranged flower petals sprinkled over our bed, a nice bottle of wine, a substantially nicer and more appealling fruit platter & facewashers cleverly moulded into little animals in the bathroom.

It became quickly apparent that Thailand and Malaysia have vastly differing standards with regard to hotels, particularly when we paid 3 times as much for our room at the Westin in Langkawi.

I can only agree with the comments of other reviewers regarding the poor quality of some of the decor and rooms in general. They are looking dated and tired, certainly in need of a refurbishment. That said, we were able to have a sneak peek at several of the rooms on either side of the lobby area (the rooms facing directly out to sea) and these were almost finished refurbishment with a complete make-over and even from our brief glimpse looked 100% nicer than our room.

Towards the end of our stay we could see that some of these rooms on the lower level were in fact occupied by guests and we couldn't help but wonder why we had missed out?! We didn't spend very much time in our room so didn't bother complaining to staff about the room allocation, we certainly didn't let it affect our time there.

Ok, enough of the "negatives" - there's certainly plenty to love about the Westin too! All of the staff were friendly and helpful, always happy to say hello and help out with whatever they could. Staff in the Seasonal Tastes restaurant were exceptional, even took the time to chat when they could and ensure we enjoyed the dining whether it be the amazing buffet breakfast or the tasty buffet dinners on offer every night with a different theme.

The buffet breakfast was included in our package, as was a buffet dinner for one night. I challenge anyone to leave the breakfast without feeling absolutely stuffed with a vast array of foods to suit all tastes. We decided on the Chinese/Thau buffet dinner and loved it so much we went back for the Malaysian buffet a few days later. It seems a lot of people have commented on here about the high "resort prices" for food and drinks but at RM98 it seemed like pretty good value with what we would expect to pay back home here in Australia (and the quality was some of the best food I've eaten).

The infinity pool was great, we spent plenty of time in and around the pool on most days but still managed to squeeze in time for sightseeing and a few tours around the island. A lot of the activities at the resort didn't appear to be used very much, I didn't see anyone on the tennis courts or using the beach hire equipment all week. Perhaps the resort could promote these a little better to make guests more aware.

There are plenty of cars available to rent down the road at Jetty Point in Kuah town but we felt more comfortable paying roughly double the price at RM170 to rent a small Toyota Vios sedan from the resort - more reliable and less potential hassles we figured.

Finally, a tradtional Malayan massage at the Heavenly Spa (also included in our package) was a great way to finish off 7 fabulous days/nights in paradise.

Not sure if we would stay at the Westin again, probably would consider it if we could be guaranteed a nicer room. In summary, there wasn't anything wrong with the room but it would've just been nicer to have one of the refurbished rooms particularly given it was our honeymoon.

Lastly, try to register as an SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) member before you leave home. It obviously didn't assist us in getting a better room but it will get you 15% discount on food when dining at most of the resort restaurants & some other little bonuses too.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated/refurbished rooms. We didn't get one but from what we saw they look g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky_langkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear lucky_langkawi,

Thank you very much for the detailed review about your experience at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa. All guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. We’ve looked into the less positive issues you’ve mentioned and sincerely apologize for the shortfall. We appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you’ve encountered to our attention as this will only assist in improving towards service excellence. On another note, glad that you were comfortable with our check in process and thank you for highlighting the quality service performed by our friendly and helpful associates. Besides, thanks for your positive endorsement on our food and for your compliments about the award winning Heavenly Spa. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently travelled from Singapore to Langkawi for a weekend break. The Westin had been recommended by friends and I don't know why it took us so long to get there. The resort setting is stunning with a private beach and views across the Andaman Sea. We hours lying on the big day beds looking out over the bay. There are 4 pools and a number of bars and restaurant. We had a fabulous seafood dinner at the beachside restaurant. The room was not particularly luxe but we spent very little time in there. It was large and the bed was very comfortable. The service was great - although we did have a couple of small hiccups but we expect that at Asian resorts. Breakfast was packed but then there were very few people around the pool or the resort through the day so I assume people go out on day tours. It made for a very chilled out quiet weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overit_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear overit_15,

We are really delighted to know that you have had a great experience at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa! Thank you very much for your excellent review and for sharing your experience with others. Your feedback is truly encouraging and inspires us to continue providing excellent service and exceptional experiences to every guests. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
13.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing