We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star experience at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yeh, well lets just say I don't think we'll be rushing back here. There are lots of good about this place including some friendly staff, a great location, a lovely hotel with lots of potential. BUT, there were just too many bad/average experiences for us to say that we'd be back. We are by no means fussy travelers and I can see why some people gave this hotel the thumbs up.

For us, though, there were too many negatives to receive a great review. For starters, we arranged a king bed and were give two doubles, the room was worn and dated (yes they are doing an upgrade but we had an older room) and not worth the money paid. When we were directed to our room we had to walk through an area that was being upgraded where there were workmen and the fresh smell of paint. Not the experience you'd expect from 5 star. We had an afternoon nap with our little girl and were woken at 3 pm by the sounds of maids talking loudly and thumping around outside in the corridor - gave the feeling of a cheap 3 star hotel.

The grounds were old and worn, the kids club basic and dated (although the attendant very friendly), oh and one thing that really pisses me off is the fact that the room attendant took all of our mini bar away at room turn down? This is the second time this has happened in Malaysia, For what reason I do not know? They had our credit card details? I was looking for a late night drinky and snack only to find it had all been taken away? Made us feel we were second rate for sure. Seriously you guys need to explain your policy better at check-in cause it is assumed that a 5 star hotel provides a full mini bar service! What were you thinking?

When we complained at checkout a very friendly western manager was apologetic and offered us complimentary refreshments at their waiting lounge at the airport. We were satisfied with this until we arrived at the airport lounge to find no attendant. When he did arrive he was not terribly friendly at all and demanded to see our room details.

Come on Westin - get it together - for nearly 300 bucks a night you have to do better then this. Seriously you have so much potential with this hotel but you need some serious staff training to pick up your service standards to a 5 star level.

P.S ok some positives:

Had lunch and drinks at the Breeze lounge on arrival while waiting for our room to be ready. The staff were friendly and the food and drinks very good! The friendly waiter offered our child some colouring in pencils and paper to keep her occupied. Was reasonably priced for 5 star and the view spectacular.

The buffet breakfast was very good although the staff could have been a little friendlier.

Although the room was dated and worn the cleanliness was good, the toiletries excellent and room was spacious. There was a nice view from our balcony.

You decide for yourself

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattyrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear mattyrt,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. All guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. We note from your comments regarding some lapses in service during your stay. We offer no excuses and apologize for these shortfalls. I’ve shared your feedback with our team which will help us improve our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconsistent service you’ve experienced and rest assured that we will take your comments seriously in order to improve our services. I understand from your comments that you might not return but we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,041)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon after spending the first 3 nights in Kuala Lumpur. First impressions were not great as i was quite dissapointed with our standard room after i had emailed the hotel telling them it was our honeymoon however i was told at receptio they could not upgrade us because of the renovation work going on. The staff were very apologetic and arranged for complimentary wine to be sent to our room. The room was clean but perhaps not 100% what you would expect for a 5 star resort. On our second night we were unable to sleep due to banging at drilling going on from 1am. After several very angry phone calls to reception we were eventually moved to a suite where we stayed from the rest of our trip.
Other than that incident there is little else bad i can really say other than sometimes you have to wait a while to be served drinks in the Breeze bar even when it is completely empty. Also i did not like that fact that when you asked for tea at breakfast i saw the staff pouring water from all different jugs into one jug. Not nice! when it comes to the food though i must say it is among the best food i have ever had! i was particularly impressed with the fillet steak and lobster combo in Tide and also all of the pasta dishes were delicious. i also recommend the spa! i had the full body malay massage and i felt so relaxed afterwards! the drinks are quite pricey compared to outside of the resort but you certainly get what you pay for. if you a looking for a relaxing chill out by the pool type of holiday with nice food and drink then you will not be dissapointed here.
Finally i would like to say a very special thank you to Wilhem and Jocelyn at the front desk who went out of their way to help us with a few issues we had with our travel company. They made several phone calls and even managed to check us in for our flight on line so we had enough time to make our connecting flight! Thank you once again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Yolanda C,

Thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi for your honeymoon. We appreciate your positive comments about our helpful associates, quality of foods, and award winning Heavenly Spa. On another note, I’ve also looked into the less positive issues you’ve mentioned and sincerely apologies for the shortfall in the service standards. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our resort.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We was in Malaysia to attend a wedding function and Langkawi is our first stop for a short break before heading down south for the wedding reception. And this hotel has provided me with an excellent start to my holiday. Staff is friendly throughout the stay. Breakfast spread is excellent, with varities of choices. The one thing i like the most of this hotel is the bed, the heavenly bed is one of the most comfortable bed i ever slept in. The only downside is the beach doesnt look that good, this is probably due to the tides. Other than that it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Travellers should go for the breakfast option, one of the best breakfast spread i ever experience
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shao_mingc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear shao_mingc8,

Thank you for posting these comments on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we really appreciate your positive comments about our friendly associates, SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast and Heavenly Bed. We are truly sorry that we have let you down with regards to the beach. Unfortunately we were not blessed with the best beach on the island and although we endeavor to keep it clean, we consistently battle in our area with the debris brought in by the tides. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Langkawi on your future visits to this beautiful island.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was my first trip to Malaysia and a beach resort in South East Asia. The hotel is a decent distance from the airport but most attractions on the island are spread out so the location did not bother us. The staff were always friendly and welcoming but the concierge desk/staff left a lot to be desired. Booking activities such as horse riding/cruises was a hassle as staff really didn't seem to have a great knowledge of the island activities!! The other reception staff/restaurant/bar staff were all very helpful and accommodating.
We had a twin garden view room that was on the second floor with a balcony and looked over the pool area with sea glimpses. The room was needing a bit of a 'facelift' but overall it was clean, comfortable, a decent size and quiet. The bath room was fabulous with a separate bath/shower and was large.
We dined at most of the options- the restaurant for a la carte dinner, pool bar and the other cafe down by the pools for both lunch at dinner and the main bar itself. Overall the food was great, we also had one of the special BBQ dinners down by the pool which was lovely. The food is not cheap compared to the local cuisine so expect to pay 'resort' prices. We did get some discount with our Starwood Preferred Guest card though (10-20%?) off the food price. They also offer a free cocktail nightly in the main bar which is a nice touch and a great way to relax at the end of a hard day relaxing! Breakfast buffet is fabulous!
The main pool is lovely as is lounging on the side in a lounge chair, although it was difficult to find one out of the sun on a busy day if you didn't arrive straight after breakfast. We also went to the spa and relaxed by the pool there after our treatment which was a lot more peaceful. The spa treatment was fabulous but again is charged at resort rates.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday. Make full use of the free wifi in the common area's if you want to book activities on the island as the concierge was less than helpful. The food is great but definitely try and venture elsewhere to have the same at a fraction of the cost, if you can make it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear akc1985,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi. Thank you for highlighting the quality service offered by our friendly associates, they are without a doubt the most valuable asset of our resort. We really appreciate your positive comments about the quality of foods and we trust that our food & beverage team has treated you well. Thank you so much for your compliments about the award winning Heavenly and for recommending Westin as a brand. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin on your future visits to Langkawi Island.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

First got to Langkawi and checked into another hotel which was a disaster and quickly changed to booking to this hotel. From the moment my friend and I arrived at this hotel we new we had made the right decision, we were taken care of very well! Fruit served by the pool, massages while having a cocktail. These were complimentary. Will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Cryx,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review. We are glad to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt well taken care of. Your positive comments definitely motivate us to perform better and better. We are really grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, good staffs, and many kinds of foods in breakfast.
Location is excellent near the town.
I booked room with partial view to sea, but they give me room with a full view to the sea.
The service is very good and the staff is very helpful.

One thing I did not like is all room without free internet.
Free internet is available in lobby only.
Furniture of the room need to be replaced.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Jawas,

We are really delighted to know that you have had a great experience at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa! We really appreciate your positive comments about excellent hotel, helpful associates, great location and SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Thank you very much for your excellent review and for sharing your experience with others. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family for another renewing stay with us.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

It was our first time on the island. Stunning views. Beautiful grounds. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and very good. Amazing experience. The restaurants were delicious and spectacular views. The Westin made the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NotoriousJU-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo G G, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear jumeyama,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our resort during your trip to Langkawi. It’s great to know that you have enjoyed our peaceful location, our resort is beautifully located and offers stunning scenery yet we are just few minutes away from the main town. Thank you for highlighting our SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. Our stylish buffet breakfast is well-known by its widespread variety of nourishing food with a free-flow of sparkling wine which provides every guest a luxurious yet renewing breakfast experience. It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Langkawi on your future visits to this beautiful Island.

be well,
Ricardo Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#6 of 104 in Langkawi
329 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $169 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing