We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The heavenly Westin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“The heavenly Westin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

For the last week of our (2 adults, one 4 year old) three month trip around the world, we decided to fly to Langkawi. Quite coincidentally, we choose the Westin. This turned out to be a more than excellent choice!

Immediately upon arriving we discovered this was going to be really special. The entrance/reception area is impressive, there are immediately a lot of people coming to help you; you don't have to check in at the reception but they let you sit comfortable in the lounge, rooms were beautiful (we paid extra for ocean view but this was really worth it) and the grounds super with a horizonpool.

The breakfastbuffet was excellent (what about fresh made to order belgian waffles, made to order omelettes, fresh juice, champagne etc etc) with beautiful presentation. The same was true for dinner. One night we had a dinner outside near the pool: the food was excquisite.

But the real thing that made this a six star experience was the personal attention of the staff. We were pampered to the max, no question was too difficult.

We indulged in the services of the hotel so much that we only left the premises for four hours during our five day stay (which is so not us, because we always like to get to know the area).

The Westin was a super experience and we 'll definitely visit it again when in the neighbourhood.]

  • Liked — Six star experience in every aspect
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    806
    275
    91
    58
See reviews for
849
1,231
65
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin for 3 nights in early February 2008. We had a wonderful time and it was very sad to leave. It was so nice to arrive through the stifling heat that is Malaysia to the huge, airy and gorgeous lobby of the hotel.

We had booked a garden view deluxe room but I think we were upgraded because our room actually had a sea and pool view which was spectacular. The room itself was spacious, clean and luxurious and after driving around the island site seeing during the day it was so nice to come back and lie on the bed in such gorgeous surrounds.

The main horizon pool is really great for swimming and was rarely crowded. It had a wonderful view over the Andaman sea and it was so relaxing to have a swim in the pool in the late afternoon and then lie on the deckchairs facing the sea and sip a cocktail.

The beach is in better condition that I thought it would be from the other reviews of the Westin. It is very clean and white with some very pretty shells and numerous places under the trees to rest in the shade. As it is quite long it is also good for walks. At low tide you cannot really swim as you have to walk for kilometres just to get waist deep. Low tide also doesn't afford the best view of the beach. However, at high tide you can happily swim and the view of the beach is terrific. The water quite cloudy but I think this more to do with the natural condition of the bay than from any sort of pollution. Even though it is fairly close to Kuah town, you very rarely see any boats passing. Langkawi has lots of mangroves and according to my father who is a biologist, this is most likely the reason why the water looks muddy. The best beach on the island in my opinion is the Tan Jung Rhu beach, directly north of the Westin. It's only about 20 minutes drive but a must if you want to experience true beach beauty. However, I must say that I swam at all the beaches on the island except the Datai beach and at each beach were jellyfish or sea lice. They were not visible but as soon as we entered the water we started being bitten by things. The bites would go down and disappear 5 minutes after leaving the water but it did not make ocean swimming a pleasant experience at all and it means that not many people enter the water and when they come out you see children and adults rubbing themselves because of the stings. Because of this, it is essential to have a hotel with a good pool and the Westin definitely delivered.

In terms of meals etc, we only ate one lunch, one dinner and one breakfast at the hotel. We preferred to experience other places. Kuah has good indian eateries and there was one Indian cafe in particular that had delicious and excessively cheap Roti Chanai for breakfast. In terms of meals at the Westin, they were good but not amazing. The breakfast buffet almost had too much choice and there is only so much one can eat for breakfast when its 35 degrees outside.

We had a couple spa treatment which was lovely and definitely recommended. We booked for 6pm in the evening and arrived at the spa an hour earlier which was a good idea because the spa has a gorgeous shady horizon pool right on the beach and at that time of day we were the only ones there!

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend the Westin.

  • Liked — beautiful retreat
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JessMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

We booked two nights in a sea facing room. As we had to wait for two hours for our room, we got an upgrade to a nice suite. Nice view. Nice bed. Very friendly staff. Nice buffet-dinner. Very nice spa. Nice lounge-bar. Best view on the island. Walk the gazebo at sunset! We liked it better than the Tanjung Rhu resort. This is much more ‘international’.
Staff was very professional. We travelled with our 8 months old son. One of the concierges (the one with the moustache and almost bold) asked his name. Two days later we met him when we met. He remembered the name of our son. That is like home.

  • Liked — The friendly almost bold concierge with a moustache. Those men make the difference!
  • Disliked — Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHTB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We stayed at the Westin for our honeymoon in November 07. Originally we'd booked a ocean view room. However upon arrival they had a special offer on for 4 nights and were offering discount stay in a sea view villa. Therefore we upgraded to a sea view villa............and WOW......it was absolutely fab!! It was spotless and spacious, we had our own swimming pool out in the back. The bath room was great, dual sinks and towel supplies etc. A massive bed and a massage area around the side. You could call for a private massage to your villa at any time because the spa is open till late. We had a buggy service to help us travel around the hotel as the villas are situated further away from the rest of the hotel. The staff are amazingly friendly and never forget your face and name. We were truly taken aback by the friendliness of the staff. We used the spa, tennis courts, gym and recreation areas all the time and it was great fun!However at the end of the four nights we switched to our normal ocien view room. That was also nice.... but no where near as good as a stay in the villa. The view was a side view of the ocean and not so great. The room was average. It was clean and spacious. Due to the fact that we no longer had the privilege of using the buggy service we found that we had less interaction with the staff who had become our friends.... so we missed that.The restaurant food is good. But service can be VERY slow. The only bad thing was checking out took too long and we were getting frustrated at why it was taking so much time.
Overall if you're a honeymooner I'd definately recommend a stay in the villa. Its worth it

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — the swimming pool was not heated
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aaskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

We just spent 3 nights in a sea facing villa for part of our honeymoon! We'll break it down a bit for you....

The Location- A great location to start your exploration of Langkawi. We stayed at the Datai afterwards and it was much, much easier to get around from the Westin. You could take a 10minute walk to nearby Charlies for the sunset and a basic dinner (also where East Marine Divers takes off from for diving and snorkling adventures), to the local ferry port/mall (there's a Starbucks, Kenny Rogers, and some other touristy shops) and to the areas biggest mall (ATM machines, McDonalds, local "food court", grocery store).

Our Villa- The villas are very large with a GREAT outdoor space including a pool you could actually swim it versus a small "soaking tub". We could sit outside at sunset and watch the lovely Hornbills come and hop from tree to tree....at one point we counted over 11!!

The villa also had a small kitchen, small "maid" quarters (which people probably rarely use), and a large bathroom with rain shower, nice tub (no jets), dual sinks, and separate toliet area. There are 2 flat screen tvs (with pretty bad reception) and a very comfortable living and dining area. The bed is pretty, but not the most comfortable.

Upon arrival though, we noticed that some of our dishes in the cabinet were very dirty and the counter tops were not clean...a bit gross especially for $600+ USD per night. The electric outlets and switches are also wired strangely. If you flipped the wrong switch you would turn out all your power (clocks, air con, etc) and things were labeled incorrectly. We also had A LOT of mosquitos inside despite leaving doors and windows shut!! My hand was bit up quite badly one night as it stuck out of the blankets.

The Beach- The beach really is not a swimming beach and the sand is not your "white, soft beach" sand. When the tide is low, you actaully see more sand/rocks than ocean close to the hotel and it looks a bit ugly. It is pretty to look out at the water during high tide and see the small islands dotting the sea and the contrast with the blue sky and greenish waters.

The Pools- Nice, clean, comfortable. Nothing over the top, but refreshing and comfy in the hot, humid air.

The Restaurant- The breakfast buffet at Taste was included in our "Villa Package". It was good, not great. There was a lot of variety and you would get full no matter what your taste. The music played in the restaurants sometimes sounded like techno dance music though...kind of strange. We didn't try the dinner buffet.

We ate at Tide twice for dinner. My husband enjoyed the cheeseburger, but didn't much care for the chicken and beef malaysian satays. I had a pasta dish (noodles sticky and overcooked) and a pizza (sugary sauce, greasy). The salad we had was just okay, but had a weird mix of nuts, fruit, and dressing. Service could be slow and although everyone was kind and polite, it was not quite 5* restaurant service.

The Spa- I had a 60min Malaysian massage and my husband had an after-sun treatment late one night (they stay open until midnight which is awesome) in the "couples villa". My massage was not very good though. The pressure was very hard and the girl never asked me. Eventually, I told her to go softer and it was better, but not great and boardered on uncomfortable at times. At one point, she went to massage my stomach and instead of covering my chest with the draw sheet, just whipped it off and had me lay there exposed (and cold). There were also a lot of ants on the floor and mosquitos in the villa. One buzzed around my ear almost the whole massage. My husband said his treatment was okay, but nothing special.

I did go back the next day to give the massages another try and had a 30min back/neck massage included in our package. This girl was amazing!! She checked the pressure with me, turned down the lights, and the room I was in this time was clean and comfortable. I also had a hair treatment/scalp massage that night that was good and relaxing. The spa was very quiet both times I went and I didn't see any other guests which seemed strange.



Thankfully, we had tripadvisor to guide us regarding where to go and what to see. The hotel offered little help in that regard and did not know of any of the eco-friendly adventures (Dev's mangrove tours, naturalist at the Datai, etc). No real concierge existed and again, the staff was nice but not always that helpful in answering questions.

On the other hand, the staff was thoughtful and did different things every night for us for our honeymoon. One night was chocolates and wine, one was flower petals on the bed, and twice they filled the bath and added petals. Our last night they brought us a cake.

I don't know if we'd stay here again or not. The villas are great especially since the ones at the Four Seasons cost double the price (we have not seen them though). It is a hotel worth trying, but 3 nights there was enough for us!

  • Liked — the size of the villas, the price of our package for what we got
  • Disliked — the mosquitos, the beach/sand, the food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed in the Westing Langkawi 5 nights in August 2007.
It was during our honeymoon and it was an incredible experience!
Since the very first minute the environment was unique, lovely lobby and relaxing check in in one of the white couches of the lobby while refreshing with some courtesy refreshment. That's exactly what you want when you are on holidays!
We were upgraded to a junior suite due to my Platinum SPG Card. However, I am pretty sure we will enjoy 100% de stay even if not upgraded!
The hotel has a huge choice of special actiivities for honeymooners and couples: dinner alone in a private island, dinner by the beach...so many choices!
For scooba divers there is a scooba school just next to the hotel with great service!

  • Liked — The high quality standards in everything!
  • Disliked — I didn't enjoy the fact of being there a lot of muslim women with burkas, for an european woman that's rather unconfortable. However, that doesn't change the overall impression of the hotel!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Compostelana_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We were lucky enough to spend Chritmas day and New year at the Westin and I can only repeat most of the previous reviews. The hotel is so chilled and relaxed, the staff were wonderful especially with our 5 year old son, the hotel operations manager was always happy to chat and within 2 days of arriving your name was alway remembered. The Tide restaurant was our favourite and Shima and her staff were great and even bought our son a colouring book from a local shop and let him join in some birthday celebrations they were arranging. The pools are all great although be careful not to get sunbeds too closed to the fountains at the rock pool, if you get a breeze it's like having a cold shower!! As repeated before the prices are quite expensive within the hotel the New Year dinner although a great night was 600 rngt per adult and half that for children plus drinks package on top of that but other than that I would not hesitate to stay again. The Westin Langkawi is a top class hotel that you never want to leave.

  • Liked — The staff were fantastic!
  • Disliked — Slightly overpriced.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
13.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#8 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing