We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We definitely wanted a villa with a private pool and anyone who has tried to find one on Langkawi knows what a rip-off that could be. However we found this deal on the Westin's website, works out to approx SGD 700 a nite. However the pics showed a much larger, newer, and lux villa than say the Datai. I must say we were quite impressed by the whole experience. The villa had a large living/dining, a proper kitchen, a wonderful bathroom with freestanding bathtub, and a PROPER POOL! not a jacuzzi type, but a proper 5 x 3 metre pool. Around it, there is an outdoor shower, deck chairs, and even a pavilion thing.

Service was friendly, and they had 3 other large pools. The main one is a rectangular infinity pool that offers great views of the surrounding islands and bay.

The beach is natural and mangrovy so altho you can swim at high tide, if yuo're not nature-inclined (tonnes of hermit craps and mud skippers etc) you might be a bit put off.

Very generous grounds for just 222 rooms. Definitely felt very peaceful even though they were almost full.
Other than the breakfast buffet, the foods not great though.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank bonbuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    835
    282
    92
    56
See reviews for
900
1,273
69
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

While many visitors will be more interested in a vacation than work, in my case the Westin in Langkawi did a great job as a destination for business meetings. The hotel conference center handled our group easily and there were always staff on hand to cater the meetings and keep things well supplied and clean. Meals were well prepared and presented buffet style.

Hotel transfers (pre-arrange with hotel, at extra cost) were smooth. Check-in was efficient and in room services like high speed internet were good.

The fitness center is also well equipped with cardio equipment, weight machines and free weights.

While everything is signed in English, one caution is that there were a couple misunderstandings due to language. Nothing major, but worth noting not everyone working at the hotel may understand English well.

One of the best features of the hotel isn't even at the hotel. Once you clear security at the airport for your trip home, the Westin offers a departure lounge. Free to hotel guests (food, drinks and internet extra charge) it was a great place to wait for a flight.

Overall a very good hotel for business--I'd definately stay here again (hopefully for a vacation)

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SixContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at the Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for 5 days/4 nights in October. We had a wonderful time here in Langkawi! We came with the intent of just relaxing (i.e. not running around from one touristy site to another) and did we ever relax! The scenery was beautiful and the weather was mostly good (it did rain a whole day while we were there).

What impressed me were that the hotel staff were very polite and friendly - the service was wonderful and we were glad to have met such wonderful people.

Here are a few observations:
Eventhough I had booked a non-smoking room we were given a garden-facing room that smelt of stale smoke. We then requested to be transferred to a non-smoking room. One of the staff members helped us through this process of transferring and even went the extra mile to ensure that a room was being cleaned up for us (i.e. went and physically checked to see if the cleaner was finished with the room).

The room itself was of average size. The bed was very comfortable. The shower/tub area as well as the tiled floor could use a bit of touch up but other than that, things were fine.

Restaurants:
We had buffet breakfast at Taste every morning. There was a good spread of food from fried noodles, roti canai, curries, nasi lemak, porridge to western favourites such as toast, cereal and pastries. There was also fresh fruit and a selection of beverages. The two theme buffet dinners that we went to were just as delicious. Lots of choice and quite tasty. The staff were very polite. Even the chef took the time to chat with us as we we were selecting our food.

Heavenly Spa:
I had a few spa treatments at the Heavenly Spa and enjoyed them immensely. Eventhough the spa prices were closer to Canadian/American prices, I felt that the service and ambience exceeded all expectations and that was what made it worth the price.

Fitness centre: The gym was adequate and met our needs.

Location of the Westin:
Away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to Kuah. It is also within walking distance to the Royal Langkawi Yacht club where you can find Charlie's Place - a place to sit down, have a meal and enjoy the sunset. A few minutes walk away is the Jetty and then another couple minutes to a mall. There's a big supermarket type store there that you can buy food, snacks, water, toiletries etc. The hotel also provided a shuttle to the mall at regular intervals.

All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa!

  • Liked — The Service, the beds, the Heavenly Spa
  • Disliked — Having to leave the Westin
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

As part of our honeymoon, we planned a few days at the Westin Langkawi. The size of the room is more like a suite, very nice and looks like recently remodeled. It is modern and contemporary and most
rooms have a view of the ocean or resort property. The rate was approximately $150.

When we first arrived, we were greeted by the receptionist and led to the nice comfy couch with some regreshing water (they have 3 refreshing types of fruit water thing for all guests). The staff then
took my name, passport and went to take care of all the paperwork for
my room. We were then taken to our room. =)

The restaurants at the hotel was ok. It was decent food, but since I'm a food lover and ate asian food all my life, it is slightly more western and fustion for me and not "local" enough. The location of the hotel is at 1 of the 2 good spots on the island. (This is near the eagle square) For 100 Malasian Ringet ($3 USD), you can take a cab from the hotel to town. If you are adventurous enough and ok with eating "street" food, ask the cab driver to take you to the
"food court" and there will be plenty of really local, cheap and good
food. Fishballs are great in Malaysia for some reason!!!!

The spa is also very beautiful. Prices is not cheaper then regular US prices, but looks fabulous, and services were good. Other facilities worth cheaking out: infinity pool, gym, ping pong, pool table, tennis, and squash.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Slightly pricier then other hotels, but still worth it!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoyoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Wow, what a lovely place Langkawi is. We stayed at the Westin as the 3rd stop on our honeymoon. So far it had rained non stop for over 10 days. We arrived in Langkawi to blazing sunshine and a cloud free sky.

We arrived at the hotel and were seated by one of the porters who sorted our bags out. A check in clerk then came over to us with some drinks and sorted out our check in. We were offered a sea facing room for an additional cost (I dont remember how much) and as the views were so stunning we took it in an instant. Our room was on the 1st floor on the right hand side. It had a nice big bathroom with a bath, and a separate shower cubicle and toilet cubicle all in one.The bed was huge and comfortable. There was a small sofa and table in the room also. There was a large LCD TV which had loads of satelite channels on it and an ipod link up too. There were complimentary robes and slippers in the wardrobe also.

In the grounds there were 3 restaurants, 1 in the lobby area, one by the pool (only open certain nights) and 1 down by the beach. There was also a bar in the lobby which had nightly entertainment, albeit the same every night. There were 3 pools, one infinity pool, one shallow pool (1 foot deep) and a rock pool, more for kids. All were surrounded by loungers. There isnt a lot of shade available but the loungers have parasols. The only problem is they do let a degree of sunlight through so be careful.

There are people walking round all the time taking drink orders and food orders etc. They are also very helpful with towels and the likes. We didnt spend any time on the beach as the pool area was so tranquil, there wasnt a lot down there to be honest.

There isnt really anywhere to go on Langkawi except other hotels for food. There are one or 2 restaurants but thats it. Kuah town doesnt have any worth visiting. The shopping mall has a mcdonalds for snaks in the daytime if you go shopping.

We hired a car from the rep for one day and had a drive around the island. We visited the cable car and oriental village which was great and had a nosey round a couple of the other hotels we had looked into. We werent disappointed with our choice.

The main thing about this hotel is its tranquil atmosphere and the views, is stunning.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dirtycellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for 2 nights, and i can safely say it was one of our best hotel stay so far (On average i stay 6-8 times a year in different hotels).

Our great expereince statred when we were upgraded to executive suite based on the high rate we were offered for regular room. The suite is large, and chic with flawless 1 1/2 bathroom and contemporary furniture. Then the hotel has excellent outdoor setting, with well crafted pools and beautiful scenaries perfect for taking pictures. Hotel has two resturants, we tried Tast which was very tasty and is really worth its not cheap cost (RM 98++). Location of the resortis good too, close to the jetty (ferry) if you are to connect to other isalnds but abit far from downtown Langkawi.

Beachch of the resort is the only drawback and it is not suitable for swimming . All in all a perfect hotel to stay in, and I would come back

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

A dream hotel, fantastic food, great weather, very nice room with all amenities, great Spa, very friendly staff although with some probllems communicating in English. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Liked — Food and pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.8 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
13.8 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
15.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,317 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 103 in Langkawi
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Pantai Dato Syed Omar, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#7 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on private beachfront property with shopping malls in the vicinity and the jetty just a stone’s throw away, The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa perfectly balances the joys of nature and the spoils of opulence. With views of the sparkling Andaman Sea, the pristine jewels of nature can be enjoyed from the comforts of our elegantly designed 202 luxurious guestrooms and suites. Private Pool Villas boast state-of-the-art amenities, as well as the ultimate luxury of an infinity pool. Restore body and soul in the perfect retreat for sheer indulgence at the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin™, the only Heavenly Spa in Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Westin Langkawi Resort And Spa
Westin Langkawi Resort
Westin Langkawi Hotel
Langkawi Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing