We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We highly recommend ambong ambong retreat. We tend to stay at small boutique hotels/B&B’s when we travel because we prefer the personalised service, however nothing as yet has quite compared to the level of service and thought that goes into this place and making your stay perfect. If you want a relaxed, sophisticated place to stay; then this is it. The studios themselves are private, beautifully appointed and well thought out, with gorgeous views from your balcony where you can eat the continental breakfast at your leisure. Joan was generous enough to show us through their new larger suites and we would definitely recommend spoiling yourself by staying in one of these – the views are spectacular. Location wise, you feel miles away from the hussle and bussle of the main street, yet only a very short taxi ride will get you there. And don’t be put off by the fact that the retreat isn’t on the beach; it takes less than 5 mins to walk there. But what makes this place is the staff. Nizam in particular was so thoughtful, attentive to our every need and provided those extra touches that make a stay truly remarkable. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
In a tough and over-crowded industry we have to stay ahead by being different and very personalised and judging from the many good comments from our guests, we have, in the main, achieved that, even though there is still some way to go. All comments from our guests are taken seriously and acted upon immediately.

Like you, most of our guests are extremely well-travelled and are used to staying in places of great comfort and it is a constant challenge to give them something very different that will meet their expectations.

Nizam thanks you for your comments and looks forward to looking after you again in the near future. And when you return you must try the suites that Joan showed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    48
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
315
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I had high expectations for Ambong Ambong and they were well surpassed. Although you are only a few hundred metres from the road (up a steep hill), you get a real feeling of being surrounded by the rainforest, with all the sound effects! The apartments are large, beautiful and very well appointed with a nice kitchenette. Breakfast was left for us in the fridge each night and was excellent. The service is outstanding - everyone was very friendly and incredibly helpful. I couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleinWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the short but great and heart-felt review which the staff appreciates very much. The next time you visit (you will return, surely?), please stay in our new suites which are even better with excellent facilities and even better views of the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nestled in the emerald green hills of south-western part of Langkawi island is the elegant Ambong Ambong retreat built especially for nature lovers, and weary city slickers who crave the sanctuary and peace of nature.

Alot of thought has gone into the design of the rooms taking into consideration of the needs and comforts of guests without compromising on quality and taste. While ensuring that all their guests are provided with the creature comforts of a five-star resort, the owners also made a conscious effort to ensure that the whole resort is designed in a sustainable way using environmentally materials.

Guest could enjoy spectacular view of the Andaman sea and a canopy of lush rainforest with its unique flora and fauna guaranteed to thrill. Eagles, gibbons, macaques, giant black squirrels, moths, etc are just some of the animals that could easily be sighted during one's stay at the delightful Ambong Ambong.

The pristine beach is but a 5-minutes walk away from the hotel, and there is a pretty cove where the water is clear, warm, and relaxing.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the owners are lovely and charming who know all things Langkawi and could provide the best advise on activities, history, and cultural insight of the island.

The resort has a pool of its own as well as Ayurvedic treatment and spa facility. At the foot of the resort is an award-winning Japanese restaurant whose Japanese chef makes his own ice-cream. What more could one ask for? Ambong Ambong is bliss encapsulated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zakiah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Speaking as one of the owners, I am grateful for this rave review. We and the staff try to make all our guests feel comfortable as if they are staying as house guests of kind and considerate hosts. When they leave they leave not as guests, but as good friends, feeling that their trip to Langkawi has been worth the effort and expense.
The new suites are a great success and all our guests love them. With the drier but cloudy days the sunset views from these rooms are enchanting. The family of dusky leaf monkeys is back at their favourite feeding tree, but the hornbills have temporarily moved to another feeding area.
Please try to come back soon to enjoy the wildlife and our yoga and ayurveda, (and the Japanese food).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ambong Ambong for 2 nights after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The resort is exquisitely designed and maintained and truly gives you a feeling of being close to nature. The room as well has a lot of detail and gives the impression of a well-thought out design. The staff in particular as mentioned were professional and smiling at all times and went out of their way to make you feel at home - for example, Nizam hand-delivered a local breakfast to our room both mornings as an 'extra'. Overall, a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in R3 which is one of the higher rooms and the view was indeed very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sushilsriram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. The staff, Nizam in particular, takes great pleasure and pride in providing a highly personalised service. His other delight is preparing a refreshing (but slightly lethal) cocktail for guests lounging by the pool, which you obviously did not get. But don't worry, he says, he will catch you the next time!

Being one of the higher rooms R3 offers great ocean views, but the new suites are even higher and are much better in this respect. Our guests enjoy the views so much we decide that early next year we will trim the trees a bit more so that all rooms will get good sea views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ambong Ambong is a ingeniously designed contemporary boutique resort. The suites and cottages are both well appointed and superbly equipped. The experience of being surrounded by rainforest jungle coupled with a panoramic view of the Andaman Sea is memorable - a balcony sunrise / sunset can not be beaten. The proximity of the restaurant packed Pantai Cenang is definitely an added plus - check out The Cliff and Fat Cupid. Ambong Ambong does not have any catering facilities but an excellent DIY continental breakfast is left in your fridge each night. The fridge is also stocked with soft drinks and beers which are complimentary as are the drinks / cocktails served by pool by the ever solicitous, smiling Nizam - it is touches like this one that makes one's stay at Ambong Ambong such a positive lasting memory. A big thank-you to Anna, Nizam and the rest of the team who looked after us and the other guests so well. During our stay we were fortunate enough to meet the owners, Joan and Ahmad, who are passionate about their development - they have every right to be proud. To conclude - Ambong Ambong is a relaxing resort which has a truly happy feel to it.

Room Tip: The higher up the hill you stay the more spectacular the view overlooking the Andaman Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pipples1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Pity you did not have time to view our new suites which were then close to completion, because you will love the great vistas of the Andaman Sea, the white beaches, the distant Matchincang Range and the islands. The sunset views are spectacular as you can see from our web page.

Ahmad and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We and our wonderful team ( Anna, Nizam and the others ) enjoy looking after our guests and try to provide individualized personal attention.

Thank you for the kind words and if you are ever in Langkawi again, come and stay in the new suites to savor the great views with a glass of wine ( complimentary bottle) in hand. You may also luxuriate in the wooden tub while you savor both the wine and the views , but that is strictly optional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Brought my parents here for a short vacation during the festive holiday 8/8-10/8. There were 5 of us - my elderly parents, hubby & I and our little 1 and a half yrs old boy. I was glad that we decided to stay here before my little one grows up, as this place is not recommended for children (due to the slope design).

I've brought my own slow cooker here to cook porridge for my little one. Anna, the pretty & friendly manager did me a big favour by helping to purchase some raw vegetables and chicken before I arrived (as the supermarket nearby is closed when we were there, due to festive holiday!). How thoughtful !

We stayed in the triple storey 2-bedroom cottage. Fantastic! the ambiance was comfortable, beautifully decorated in every corner, comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms, well equipped kitchenette (it has everything I need! ), great breakfast! what else we can ask for? the only problem we had are the steep staircases to our rooms. It was a bit difficult for my parents.

Anna was so kind to prepare a baby chair and baby bath for me. Check-in was done in the cottage, totally hassle free! while I was settling the bill, the others started to explore the rooms! Anna also brought us a map, to introduce us some great restaurants nearby (as the Japanese restaurant next to Ambong-Ambong is also closed unfortunately). Anna definitely has a great taste! the restaurants that she recommended are fantastic! delicious food, great value!

Not to forget En. Nizam! As we can't really walk up & down the slope (with my parents and infant), Nizam is always at our doorsteps with only a phone call! sometimes, he'll just standby near our cottage during dinner hours... we don't even need to make any call!

There were yoga classes held by the pool. I didn't have the chance to join the class as we were too busy with the little one. The swimming pool was simple but beautiful environment.

Ambong-Ambong, definitely a great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank tryau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi ( can't greet you by name ; Tripadvisor discourages it).

We remember you well and wondered how your parents will cope , but we thought they managed splendidly well.

Anna and Nizam are gems and, even speaking as an owner, I am amazed at the care and attention they devote to individual guests to make their stay memorable.

Thanks for the great review and when baby is much older , please visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

12th Aug'13 Excellent service provided by all the staff! The rooms are beautifully done and very clean.
The bed is very comfortable with enough pillows for you to rest.The bathroom amenities are more than sufficient. Unlimited free wifi.Well-equipped rooms and kitchenette.
The services of staff are excellent, esp Nizam and the manger Anna.
Location is the best that you can get because you can enjoy the best of both worlds as in lush green tropical forest as well as a minute walk to the beach.

The only two drawbacks are:
1. You have to take a cart to reach the hotel room since it is located on a steep hill.
2. There's no Restaurant in this Hotel. Though the provision of breakfast is there, the staff fills your kitchen with breakfast every night which is sufficient.
3. This Hotel is not at the beach. Hence the pain of going up and down steep hill to relax at the beach is cumbersome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We wish we are in a rainforest by the beach, but we are not. Our claim to fame is we are one of two hotels in Langkawi that has a rainforest environment ( and the only one 5 minutes from a shopping mall) whereas there are many beach hotels.

The staff is ever willing to drive our guests who want a ride to any of our beaches. The steep climb can be trying especially after a long day, but the driver is on duty daily until mid-night to take our guests up to their rooms in the buggy. By early next year our health food cafe should be ready.

Thank you for the great review and for the helpful comments. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 100 in Langkawi
1,284 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing