We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Relaxed!”
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
1 review
“Totally Relaxed!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I did lots of research online and finally decided to stay in this retreat. It took us quite some effort to find the place. Yet when we arrived, we were simply amazed!! The room is spacy. The design is modern. I like the balcony most where there is the rainforest view and the sea further ahead. Spending the whole day at the balcony is a wonderful experience, enjoying the sunshine and the sea breeze. Next time when I trave to Langkawi, this is THE place that I will come back again without a doubt. :)

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level have the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Virginia,

We are delighted that you decided to stay with us after doing a thorough online research on where to stay in langkawi. We do not compete with the league of 5 star hotels but we do try to offer something special for our guests.

The balcony has been a favourite with our guests and should we build more studios, we will definitely make it bigger and more comfortable. As for your difficulty in finding our place, rest assured that we will look into this.
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    49
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
322
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at Ambong-Ambong for four days as part of the yoga retreat with Dorothy (Langkawi Yoga). I wish I had stayed for a few more days as I really loved this place. Coming from London I just wanted to be in a totally relaxing environment that was beautiful, lush and peaceful. However, having already traveled quite a bit around South East Asia I was looking for something a bit more interesting than the usual luxe hotel / beach holiday getaway. This retreat therefore ticked all the right boxes - tucked away in the jungle with great views of the sea (amazing sunsets!) and surrounded by lush greenery you really feel connected to this beautiful island. The retreat is also just over 5 minutes walk from the beach so if you want to go for a swim then you don't have to go far - early morning dips is a must and quite lovely.

I had one of the one bed studio rooms with balcony and I just really like the set up. Clean, modern rooms with cool interiors the rooms come with all mod cons but also a small kitchen area which is a really good idea as it fits in with the whole concept of this unique hotel. Breakfast is brought to your room a day before so you can start the most important meal of the day in your own time, in your own headspace! Great idea. If you are planning to stay a few days you might want to consider bringing a few supplies and treats to eat as they don't have a cafe on site just yet. But don't let this put you off as there is an excellent Japanese restaurant on site - great food but a bit pricey. Also there's loads of restaurants in walking distance.

In addition to the location, Ishan Spa is also a real plus here. With a wide range of treatments on offer this is definitely one of the many highlights of staying at Ambong and is a must - the hair treatment and facial are both excellent.

In terms of activities I would suggest combining your stay with the yoga retreat offered by Langkawi Yoga would be worth it and add that something different to your stay. I really enjoyed the yoga retreat inspiring me to take up practice again - sunset / sunrise yoga - wonderful. I also tried the island hopping tour and for 25 ringgit it's a must. The tour includes a visit to the gorgeous Beras Besah island with water as clear and turquoise blue as any in Thailand or the Philippines which was a nice surprise.

Would I go back to AA? Most definitely. If you are after a holiday that offers something a bit more than the usual tour then this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview studios on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaratna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Sabeena,
Thank you for that lovely review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at Ambong-Ambong. You were lucky that the weather was fine and you experienced gorgeous sunsets and an inspiring time with your yoga teacher, Dorothy.

I must say you had a wonderful group of yoga participants from all corners of the world who were strangers initially, but got on famously.
You will be pleased to know that we will seriously consider having a small deli with a limited healthy menu to cater for guests like you who sometimes prefer to stay in and unwind.

You were a delightful guest and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simferopol, Krym, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

no regrets coming to this place!!!!
one of the most peaceful and lovely place to spend time with loved ones.
everything was fantastic.... i have nothing bad to comment on this place!!!
i would come back in the near future!!! ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLau86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review and it is extra meaningful coming some time after your stay with us.We hope to pamper you even more when you next visit us with your loved ones. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Ambong Ambong for five incredibly serene nights. We had a lovely one-bedroom studio about halfway up the hill, with a small balcony. The air-conditioning is cool and effective (key in Langkawi's humid heat), the DIY breakfast is a relaxing way to start the day, and the room is clean, modern, and peaceful. Anna and Nizam took great care of us, giving honest recommendations and helping us make arrangements for car rental, restaurant reservations, nature tours, and the next leg of our trip (e.g. don't take the ferry to Penang, avoid LCCT if possible).

As other reviewers have noted, the ascent to the hotel is extremely steep. Be prepared for a brief cardiovascular workout when you climb up to your room, or take advantage of their free uphill "taxi" service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Anna and Nizam have been in the hospitality industry for almost 20 years between them and they take great pleasure in looking after guests, and we are lucky to have them. I am glad you found them helpful like all our guests.
Please keep in touch and the next time you are in our neck of the woods, please visit. I hope your stay in Penang was enjoyable. Did you sample the famous Penang cuisine?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you've read previous reviews about Ambong Ambong one thing that stands out is the steepness of the location. It is very very steep and gives you a good old fashioned workout if you decided to forego the car service up to your room, and use the steps. The upside of this is that you can eat and drink whatever you like because you get to burn it off in no time at all upon returning to your room.

Everything about this place is excellent. It's not a big flash resort. It's small, quiet and intimate. The main draw card for us is that we were surrounded by jungle, so were treated to daily visits from the local wildlife. Rooms are clean and comfortable, it's an easy walk to the beach and the staff excelled in making sure we had an enjoyable stay.

It's well worth trying out the Ishan Malaysian Spa. And definitely do not miss out on dinner at the award winning Unkaizan Japanese Restaurant. Oh so good! I'm drooling right now just thinking about it!!!

We really loved our time here and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor. We had Studio 3 (can't remember the name attached) and received...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APluck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello,
I agree that the climb up to the rooms in a bit stiff. Even though we offer a free buggy ride, most guests prefer to walk. I suspect that the cool forest environment makes the walk both interesting and invigorating.
We are very lucky to have the Japanese restaurant and Ishan Spa as most of our guests enjoy their experience with them.
We will be trimming some of the trees shortly to give all the rooms equally good views of the sea and the sunset, so it will not matter which room you are in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything is perfect about ambong-ambong.Perfect place to stay in langkawi and also for honeymoon. Good location, awesome room, very beatiful view from the hotel balcony, and last not least very friendly and helpful staff. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmadzulhairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review.

We had resisted cutting the trees so far even though it meant that the great views are obscured, but after a lot of thought we are relenting and later this year during the quiet months we will be selectively trimming the trees to give better views of the sea and the fantastic sunsets from all studios, so it will not matter so much which studio you are in. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it.It was peak period but thru an early booking we managed to secure a 2 bedroom chalet with en-suites.The chalet had an enclosed balcony facing west which meant we had the privilege of watching the awesome sunsets whilst relaxing on sofas and having a Pinot.
Ambong Ambong is one of its kind.Set amongst rainforest trees,the resort is serene,peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of Langkawi yet a stones throw from entertainment,restaurants and shopping.
We love it and will certainly be going back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review and please come back again. We will very shortly be upgrading the rooms one-by-one taking in all the good comments of our guests, so the next time you are here be prepared to be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing